Review and Contest featuring Turn It Up by Inez Kelley

Turn It Up by Inez Kelley
*I received this ARC free from the author & NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

Dr. Bastian Talbot and self-proclaimed sex goddess Charlie Pierce heat up the air waves with their flirty banter as radio hosts Dr. Hot and the Honeypot. Off the air, they’re best friends…but Bastian wants to be so much more. He wants Charlie—in bed, and forever.

Problem is, Charlie doesn’t do commitment. Sure, she’s had X-rated fantasies of Bastian, but he was always just a friend—until he impulsively proposes and unleashes the lust they’ve been denying for years. Charlie’s willing to explore where their wild chemistry leads, but she won’t marry him. And he won’t have sex with her until she accepts his proposal, despite her seductive schemes.

Bastian and Charlie have been best friends for years.  They have relied on each other through some hard times and they share a late night talk show at the radio station Charlie works at.  They practically live together whether it’s at her apartment or his house.  Charlie is happy with the way things are going and isn’t prepared for the loop Bastian throws her.  Can she learn to open her heart and let Bastian in?

When Bastian isn’t on the air, he can be found working shifts in the ER.  He is tired of the hours he has to work and the hassles he has to deal with.  His ER days are numbered because he will be joining a group of doctors at an Urgent Care facility in the next few weeks.

Charlie has a bad track record with men and she blames it on her past.  She never had a stable childhood and they moved around a lot.  Bastian is her first true friend and she is afraid that things will change between them if she decides she doesn’t want to marry him.  You see Charlie’s opinion of herself start to change.  She starts to believe that Bastian wants her for more than sex, unlike most men in her past. 

Charlie and Bastian are the best of friends.  They talk about everything and have no secrets from each other, at least that’s what Charlie thought.  I love the fact that their relationship is built on years of ups and downs.  It makes them very solid as a couple because they have gone through so much together.

It was so much fun to watch as the wager (Wed or Bed) between Bastian and Charlie unfold.  I couldn’t wait to see what stunt would be pulled next and who was going to win at the end.  I felt so sorry for Bastian, some of the things Charlie did to him were so wrong.  The surprise that Bastian came up with for her birthday was so sweet and if she wasn’t so scared, I think she would’ve told him yes that night.

I believe that Inez Kelley has hit another home run with this book.  It is a sexy read that also contains humor and love.  There are some really emotional scenes between Bastian and Charlie but also with Bastian and his brother Caz.

Overall I loved everything about this story.  I give Turn It Up 4½ Flaming Hearts. 

Inez Kelley has given me a pdf copy of Turn it Up to give away.  Just leave a comment on this post and answer the question below.  A winner will be chosen next Saturday, August 27th and posted on the blog.

I loved this book because it evoked so many emotions while reading it.  What are some books that you have read that stuck with you?  Were you surprised by the reaction you had to the book?

17 Responses

  1. When I read Bertrice Small’s “The Border Lord and the Lady”, the first book of hers I’ve read, I couldn’t put it down. Very emotional, to me =D, but not too emotional. Still waiting to read more!

  2. There are so many I could choose between but Kristan Higgins’s last book, My One and Only, made me cry…and that’s hard for this cynical gal!

    • Cyndi,

      I love Kristan Higgins books. I know what you mean about a book making you cry. There haven’t been many that have made me cry but they are ones that tend to stick with me.

  3. Great question.
    Outlander series – they never leave me and I am almost always thinking about them.
    The Fever series – blew me away and I did not expect the ending. I still didnt see the ending coming so I am currently re-reading.

    Contentment by Margaret Ethridge – also a very thought provoking book about marriage and how women tend to “lose” themselves. It was a great story to bring me out of the marriage blues. Highly suggest for married woman. I actually bought a paper copy just so I could lend it out to friends.

    Cheers, MichelleKCanada

    • MIchelle thanks for stopping by. I have the fever series in my massive TBR stack just haven’t been able to get to it. Everyone that has read it says it’s great.

      I love Margaret Ethridge, she’s from AR too and I get to have lunch with her once in awhile. I have a copy of Contentment that I have got to get read. I loved Paramour – have you read that one?

  4. I agree with the Outlander Series and the Fever Series. I suppose I was surprised they were as good as they were, so they stuck with me…

  5. Thank you for asking questions like these! I love finding out what other people have to say about “new-to-me” authors! Can’t wait to try out both The Outlander series and Fever series =D

    • Emily,

      Thank you for stopping by and committing. I’m with you about the new books/authors. I’ve heard it’s best to read the fever series in order, back to back That’s one of the reasons I’ve waited so long to read it, they are all out now.

  6. This sounds like a great battle of sexes book. I want!

    Linda Howard’s TO DIE FOR, is a fantastic battle of the sexes read. He wants her, she says no, game on. It’s one of two of my all time favorite books.

    Great review, great questions!

    • Thanks Crystal. It is a great battle of the sexes and I think poor Bastian gets the short end of the stick so to speak. he has to endure a full body sensual massage with peach oil and make sure he sticks to his guns – no sex until she says yes. Poor guy!!!!

  7. Sounds great. I feel like I need to stop reading these reviews because I’m picking up too many books for my TBR pile!

    There are characters from so many books that I still think about, but the most recent one I read where the characters stuck in my head for days was Two Brothers by Christina Wolfer. It’s her debut book from TMP, and has a few rough spots, but the conflict and emotion were really well done IMO. I was surprised that a new author for a small epub could have that impact on me (yes, slap my hand).

    The other book that I always go back to is Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. He’s a master at torturing his characters to develop reader empathy.

    • Thanks for stopping by this evening Gwen. You are right there are so many good books out there and my TBR pile continues to grow. I’ve read several debut authors that write for TMP or other small indy press and have been impressed with them.

      Drew in Blue by JM Kelley is published by Lazy Day Press – another small press. This book was another one that really stuck with me.

  8. Good news for fans of the fever series. someone posted on twitter that the Fever/MacKayla Lane series is going to be made into movies. it will be interesting to see if they follow through with it.

  9. Thanks for stopping by everyone!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

