• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Review: My Favorite Phantom by Karen Kelley

myfavoritephantomI am very picky about choosing favorite authors, but this one really grabbed my attention.  I love Karen Kelley’s writing style.  She adds much humor to her stories as well as mysterious encounters with ghosts.  The characters in both of her books,  My Favorite Phantom and Double Dating with the Dead are both enemies in the beginning.   There are many secrets to be revealed in each book about the ghosts, the hero, and the heroine.  She pulls you into the story, teasing you with the hidden secrets and the question of whether or not the hero and the heroine will resolve their differences.  That’s what I love about her books, and the ghost just makes it that much more interesting.

My Favorite Phantom begins with Kaci Melton going to exterminate a history professor’s ghost he has in his old Victorian home.  Her father is the ghost exterminator, but while he is running away from a madman he owes money, Kaci is the only one to do the job.    She doesn’t expect the young professor, Peyton Cache, to be as stunningly handsome and charming as he is.  He also suspects she isn’t the right one for the job since she is so afraid of noises and the dark. 

The ghost seems cruel as he carries panties from one end of the house to the other, and sprays ectoplasm on people when they make him mad.  Kaci does a little research on the house.  She tries not to get sexually involved with Peyton and tries not to let him discover why she takes the job instead of her father.  It is difficult when the madman, who is after her father, runs into her and Peyton while they go out to spend quality time together. 

If Peyton discovers the reason she took the job, it could only mean danger to all three of them.  The ghost makes more frequent hauntings, and it gets more difficult for Kaci to zap him.  Peyton gets frustrated with Kaci while it takes her so long to get rid of the ghost.  He needs to have the ghost out of there by a certain time or his reputation will be ruined.  The ghost wants her to join him in death, and that is out of the question.  The ghost puts her life in more danger, and she and Peyton are discovering that their love is very strong for each other. 

Has  you ever been in danger?  What experience have you had that makes your life flash before your eyes?  I have been in a terrible car wreck where I have thought that was it.  What about you?

8 Responses

  1. I can’t say that I’ve ever had “my life flash in front of my eyes.” I had a rollover accident. To this day, I can still “see” the view through the windshield as I rolled. My thoughts at the time were…”My insurance is going to go through the roof.” and “my husband is going to kill me!” HAHA

  2. There have been a couple of times where we were almost hit by a cab. They’re always speeding and driving erratically.

  3. This is such a fun story. I read it in one sitting. Laughed so many times.

  4. No life flashing before my eyes here. Thank goodness! I guess I’ve never really been in danger. I’ve been rear-ended several times but nothing serious. Maybe that’s why I like to read about danger. LOL

  5. I bet that was scary, Cyndi! I have been in an accident kind of like that but not as bad! High insurance would have been just as scary though, LOL!

  6. Hmm, Jane, I will have to watch out for cab drivers then! I wonder if the ones here are as bad as the ones where you live. Lol!

  7. Keri, I very much agree! It is one of the funnest ones I have ever read! Karen is great!

  8. Melissa, getting into dangerous situations is kind of thrilling to be honest! I don’t mind a challenge every now and then. =)

Show us some love and leave a comment!

