Texting Mania

textThis is something I’m new to.  All three of my kids are fluent texters.  Is that even a word? LOL  I have to admit I’m getting hooked on the idea for those times when a phone call would be disruptive and a one-word answer is all you really need.  But talking to a real person will always be my first choice.  I like to see or hear the other person I’m conversing with and not have to assume what they mean by something they have written in a text message.  Let’s face it.   Email is hard enough.  And adding all those cute little symbols and abbreviations in a text message only drives me bonkers trying to figure out what they stand for. 

Call me old fashioned.  Call me out of touch.  Shoot call me old.  It won’t hurt my feelings.  I find it sad and a bit scary that our language is slowly but surely disappearing from one generation to the next.  I often wonder if there will even be books around for our grandchildren to actually pick up and read.  Maybe all they will have is their computer or kindle or whatever the heck they come up with next? 

 Any thoughts?  Do you text?

   texting

                                                      Is this sign for real?  I was shocked!

9 Responses

  1. I would say that sign is probably completely real.

    I can text, I just don’t do it often. I have a friend who’s deaf, so this is how I can talk with her. She has a hearing device implanted in her head, so she can talk in person, but not over the phone. Or if I need to get the husband a note while he’s at work, I can send a text message and he’ll see it when he gets a chance to look at it.

    Like all things, it’s all in if you find it useful.

  2. Ummm…sometimes. I find it conveinant, but I have to admit that seeing teenagers walking around thumbs and fingers flying, decided slump in shoulders, worries me. Not to mention they usually have ipod buds in their ears. Talk about cut off from the actually reality they are living within.

    I mean, to borrow Rick Springfield’s words, we all need the human touch. And teens need to be able to communicate without a phone in hand. It’s part of learning how to have an actual relationship – whether personal or business.

    I use texting when someone texts me and it’s great for if you want to send something private that you don’t want to be overheard saying, etc. It’s here to stay, but I’m not sure it’s good for us.

  3. Nice to see I’m not the only one who feels this way, Melissa!..:) I’ve reached a point where there’s an auto-reply on my business email saying it is checked once every 24 hours, and if this is important, use the phone! Most people get it, some don’t, but it’s there clear as day.

    The worst excuse in the world to me is, “But I emailed it to you!” No, if it’s that critical, you pick up the phone and at least confirm receipt.

    I have a text-capable phone now, but the keys are too little for it to do me much good….

  4. Little keys…LOL. Yeah, do you want to know how long it takes me to peck out a message?

    Well…you really don’t want to 🙂

    Teenagers would be aghast (if they knew what the word meant)

  5. I do text, but I still prefer to talk to the person. I’m not a master at texting like most people, so it’s just easier for me to push the talk button.

  6. I text more than I talk on the phone, but I NEVER text while driving. It is much too dangerous.

  7. I text and find it’s a great way to get a message to someone quick, especially if they’re in a meeting.

    When my daughter was in college we texted all the time. Literally. I became really good at all the short cuts for words.

    Now a days, I don’t text near as much and most of those short cuts are forgotten.

    I’d rather talk on the phone or email though.

  8. The only time I’ve ever texted voluminously was at National. Then it was the best way to get in touch with people, as you never knew where they might be — in a workshop or pitch appt. or just not up for messages right then. Texting worked fine then.

    I don’t think I’ve texted once since I’ve been home. If I do text my youngest daughter, I gather she immediately texts her brother with something along the lines of “Got a text from Mom. Isn’t she cute?”

    Hmmm.

  9. hmmm. Looks like I’m not alone. That’s a good sign in my opinion. The more aware we are, the more we can do to make sure the art of communication sticks around. I agree texting is here to stay and at times it’s the perfect tool. But I intend to teach my kids and anyone else who will listen how important true conversation is in building any kind of relationship. 🙂

    And Will, those little keys drive me up the wall too. I’m not the best speller to begin with. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

