• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Do You Facebook?

I recently started using my Facebook. I say recently because I’d forgotten that I set up an account two years ago. Yes, I know, that’s a long time to set up a Facebook and never use it. 

The past several months I began getting emails from friends and family to join Facebook. Honestly I deleted them. My reason for doing so? Too many things already on my plate. My blog, group blog, website, Twitter, and president of TARA (which has it’s on loop(s) and website).

I figured when I sold my book or got an agent, then I’d add Facebook to mix. It’s a great resource for marketing. Again, that was my thoughts.

When I received the most recent ‘come see what so-and-so said’, I decided what the heck, might as well join the masses now.

Needless to say I was surprised to find I already had an account and just needed to update the picture and information. Okay, add all the information. 🙂 

One of the coolest things is not only do I have author friends, reader friends, and some family, but people who I haven’t seen in years have found me and added me as their friend.

Here I was thinking future marketing and really it’s just a fun community of friends and family. Some you may see on a regular basis and some you not have seen in forever and yet it feels like yesterday all over again.

Will I use it for marketing? Yes, I already do. I announce contest I’m doing on my blog, like the one that’s happening this week. Check it out if you want to enter. 🙂 But I’m also loving the reconnecting with people. Now if I could just figure out how to add my Twitter to my Facebook, all would be great.

What about you? Do you Facebook? Do you use it as marketing or strictly as friends and family?

Hugs,

Vicki

14 Responses

  1. Facebook is a good way to promote yourself and your books, Vicki. That is what I use it for. Lots of editors and agents are on there as well as thousands of other writers and readers. I use it for networking, friends, and I have two family members on there. My family don’t use computers much. 😉 I will look you up, and add you to my friend list! I’m glad you joined! Melissa and Amy are on there too.

  2. Yep. I FB. I really, really like it because it’s personal and fun and you get to hook up and catchup with all your old friends. I even had a friend who left my hometown in 5th grade FB me. That was “wow!” for me.

    I am not addicted but I do check it everyday. I like it better than twitter so far. I’m not too currrent on my twitter stuff and can’t seem to figure out how to follow all the conversations on there. I’m still working on it.

    But, yes, please friend me.

  3. So far I’m keeping my distance from both Facebook and Twitter, mainly on the grounds of time. I spend far too much time on email as it is. Between that and moderating Lethaladies (the KOD critique loop) I find it takes me an hour to work through the messages, even though I’m deleting most of them. I figure once I have something published then I can count it as promotional time and some of it will be necessary, but either I have too much going on otherwise now (nobody ever told me that when your kids grow up you get even busier!) or I have no sense of discipline (also possible), but here I am trying to finish the damn book and get another one primed to go for NaNo in November and once I get to the computer, I’m simply reluctant to add other elements that allow me to dawdle instead of getting down to words on the page!

  4. I have 2 facebook pages…one for my writer friends (under my pen name) and one for my non-writer friends (under my legal name). I do a pitiful job keeping these pages up to date. LOL

    I have a MySpace page that I haven’t visited in MONTH and really needs to be deleted.

    I ADORE Twitter, but it can be a little addictive.

  5. Jaime – Thanks for adding me. 🙂 I’m just getting used to FB, but I do like it alot.

  6. Amy – I’m with you. I do like Twitter, but it moves so very fast that I miss things and even though they may only be, say an hour old, it’s seems like to long ago to even comment on.

    A friend of mine can send her twitters from her FB. I haven’t figured that one out yet, but would love too.

  7. Beppie – I hear ya, but the bug will hit you one day. Heehee, really the KOD is busy I’m sure and probably tons of fun too.

  8. Cindi – my daugher wanted me to do that too. I had to explain to her it wouldn’t work for me because I write under my real name. At least for now I do. And yes, sometimes it can be tough to keep them up.

  9. I’m not on Facebook. My friends keep sending me invitations to join, but I’ve resisted because I know I’ll probably spend all my time updating my page.

  10. Yeah, but updating doesn’t take long on FB and you can comment on someone’s status all day long. It’s much less time consuming than Twitter. I think I would like Twitter more if I were a busy, on the go person who used her phone. At the computer, I just do FB once or twice a day. It’s easy, peasy.

    Amy

  11. Jane – I thought the same thing and finally decided I’d give it a try. And I do love it. I don’t spend a ton of time on it either.

    You’ll like it. 🙂

  12. Amy – that’s pretty much how I do it too. I like twitter, but like I said, if you’re not on it all the time you feel like your behind within the hour. At least that what I feel.

  13. So far, facebook is my favorite out of the three. Twitter is way to fast. Myspace not personal enough. I’ve found so many people on Facebook I’ve known over the years that I never thought I’d talk to again. And from what I’ve seen with other authors it is a great marketing tool as well. But they can all be a big distraction if you’re not careful.

  14. Melissa – I agree. I’m really enjoying FB and I don’t have to spend tons of time on it to keep up. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

