• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

It’s Official – Summer’s Over

Yep, summer is officially over. Not that you’d know it by the heat we’re still having in sunny Florida. Yesterday Science Guy and I went to Tarpon Springs and although we went early in the morning it was hot. Sweaty hot.

I know that technically it’s still summer since Summer Solstice began on June 21st and doesn’t end until December 22 when Winter Solstice begins. But once the Labor Day holiday is over kids everywhere are back in school, which for most of us signals the end of summer.

It’s the time to get our writing schedules back in place, breath a sigh of relief since little Johnny or Mary are no longer sitting around the house saying, “I’m bored.” My kids are grown, but I remember the end of the summer vacation and how the last week was always utter boredom. They liked the school shopping, but once we returned home they had nothing to do and were ready for school to start.

If you’re like me, you’ve let the schedule slide a little during the summer months. Blue skies and white fluffy clouds call out to you to be outside doing something. That and if you’re working a day job when you get home it’s still light outside and working in the flower bed or taking a walk just seems like the right thing to do. Before you know it, it’s 9:00pm and you’re fighting to make yourself hit the keyboards. Okay, maybe that’s just me. 🙂

At any rate, now is the time that my schedule comes back. I still feel the slight urge to get outside when I get home for the day job, but the urge to write is stronger. My schedule will once again find it’s way as a habit, one that fits like a comfortable pair of slippers. One that makes me feel good at the end of the day when I roll my shoulders, re-read what I’ve just written, and turn off the computer for the night.

Yep, summer’s over for the most part and you know what? I don’t mind, I’m ready for the hint of fall in the early morning breeze before the heat still takes over. I know I’m back on track and that’s a good thing.

What about you? Does the end of summer bring you back into focus? The little ones back in school free up your writing time, or have you stayed on track all through the summer?

WW’s and PD’s,

Vicki

5 Responses

  1. Absolutely! I’ve already gotten into a schedule. Well, sort of. I’m finding it hard to create on demand though. The first week, I wrote for three hours everyday. I started well and then I got frustrated because I couldn’t write. It was the old “write a paragraph, read it, delete it” syndrome. So I gave myself permission to get up at that point and find something else to do.

    And I am ready for the fall breeze. We got a teaser last week. This week it’s just plain HOT.

  2. The weather here is obliging me. The weekend was beautiful (although it greyed over last evening) and I woke up this morning to rain. Might just as well have a big sign in the sky — “Summer’s Over!” Like Vicki’s, my own kids are off and gone (although my son’s finishing his last semester at Michigan State University, and has been deep in work since last week), but September is still a new beginning for me according to my mental calendar. The most useful thing I could do, I suspect, is excavate my desk and the area around it: it’s Pigsty Village at the moment. Finished the WIP last week, and during the final stages I just let the piles on either side of the laptop grow!

  3. Talk about letting schedules slide! LOL I’ll be making up news ones because the others are too far gone. Love summer time with the kids home and the lazy routine that comes along with it here at our house. I know it’s time to get busy again, but I’m finding it a bit more challenging this time around. I’m giving myself one more week and then there are no more excuses!! 🙂

  4. I definitely got a lazy during the summer and now I have to get back in the game.

  5. I am glad it is getting close to that time for the weather to start cooling down. This humidity is bothersome. However, the weather does not really have much to do with my writing schedule. My other job demands most of my time, and I have to find the time to write when I can. I usually only have two days off a week, and I use those as my writing days.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

