• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Pop the Lid to Inspiration

My husband is a big fan of a tea he gets at the health food store called Honest Tea. Under the lid is a sweet little quote that make you go hmmmmm.

So I know I have already mentioned this, but I find these little sayings particularly profound, uplifting and…well, true. They often help me to realize that I am not alone in this journey I have chosen to take. And trying to get published is a journey not for the faint of heart. But, I, like everyone else have those days when I just need a little something to help me remember what is important…or I just need Keri to tell me to put on my big girl panties 🙂 Either one.

So for those of you looking for some relevancy, I give you the following: (most lifted from the lids of my Honest Teas)

“Lack of money is no obstacle; Lack of an idea is an obstacle.” Ken Hakuta

“Things turn out for the best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out.” John Wooden

“Perfection is achieved not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing more to take away.” Antoine de Saint-Exupery

“If you aren’t going all the way, why go at all?” Joe Namath

“Prosperity is only an instrument to be used, not a deity to be worshipped.” Calvin Coolidge

“A person is not old until regrets take the place of dreams. ” John Barrymore

“Avoiding the phrase “I don’t have time…” will soon help you realize tha you do have the time needed for just about anything you choose to accomplish in life.” Bo Bennett

“Not all those who wonder are lost.” J.R.R. Tolkien

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” Gandhi

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn, like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars…” Jack Kerouac

All good, huh? Of course the last one confused my very literal husband who said, “Why do you want to be friends with mad people?” I guess he never translated “mad” to “passion.” I would say I am mad for him; he’d just say I was mad at him. 🙂

Which ones resound with you? Do you have any to pass along?

10 Responses

  1. hehee. sayings I live by. Well, I guess I’ll have to go with….”happy” or “Smile” since those are written on a couple of my panties!!!

    I’ve always found those sayings to be cute, but about 30seconds after i’ve read them, I’ve forgotten them.

    If you want me involved, you better hope I’m self-motivated. 🙂 No amount of inspiring words will get me interested or drive me. But, if I’m self-motivated, I’ll give you all I got.

  2. I like sayings and although I can’t say I remember them forever, they give me a lift. One that I am particularly fond of is one that my son wrote — by the handwriting he must have been maybe 7 or 8: “The monster approached but was defeated after a long and tedious battle.” Now I think of that as the monster being the struggle for publication, with the danger of a decision to give up discouraged by the rejections, etc. I particularly like the idea of it being a long and TEDIOUS battle. Take writing queries and synopses, for example? But the monster WAS defeated!

    I’ve got that posted right by my desk. My son, now 6’5″ and all grown up, laughs at it and says he has no memory of what it was all about.

  3. Keri – you are such a mess. Wish I had your vast supply of enthusiasm. I try to dredge it up everyday, but sometimes I need a little help.

    And my little Honest Tea lids are like fortune cookies…I always wonder how this one will apply.

  4. Oh, Beppie, I love that. This publishing world we face is a bit of a monster. Fire-breathing at that reducing our poor little submission into a pile of ashes.

    I love metaphors…can you tell?

    Yep, that’s a keeper.

    Here’s another one I read today, “Optimists see the glass as half full; Pessimists see the glass as half empty; Realists know they’re going to have to wash the glass.” LOL

  5. One of my favorites is from a book by Iris Johansen. I don’t have the exact qoute in front of me but it is something along the lines of “there is a foolishness in being wise and a wisdom in being foolish.”

  6. These are great, Amy! Thanks for sharing!! I’m still giggling over your “mad for him” comment. Husbands, what are we going to do with them! LOL

  7. That’s a good one, Calila (like your name BTW) and so true. I feel foolish a lot. Could that mean I am, ahem, also wise?

    And, Melissa, when hubs said “Why do you want to be around mad people?” I just looked at him for a full minute and said, “seriously?” I mean the man is smart, but give him any sort of serious literature and he’s heading for the hills. 🙂

  8. Hey, Amy — on my Lethaladies weekly reports I always use a quote to begin. Would you mind if I borrow some of yours to use over the next weeks/months?

  9. Of course, Beppie. I swiped them myself. I find a good quote keeps you grounded and inspired at the same time.

    Like my lid top today said, “Don’t count the days, make the days count.” Muhammad Ali

    Now that’s a good one for all of us waiting on submissions!

  10. Thanks Amy, its not my real name but with so many Jessica’s in the world and online I had to come up with something else. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

