• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

It’s Officially Autumn

It’s All About Autumn week! Leave a comment all this week on the blog for your chance to win a prize!

Well technically autumn is official at 5:31 this evening, or so my weather person said.

Fall, the time of year when the leaves change colors, the temperatures eases off and being outside is a pleasant experience. No longer are you glistening every minute. (Doesn’t that sound so much better than sweating, which is what we do here in Florida no matter what anyone, tells you.)

I should stop here and be honest. We are still sweating…err, I mean glistening. Our temperatures are in the 90’s and it’s hot. Summer hot.

It’s only after the sun has set (around 8:00ish), that we begin to feel a slight breeze that doesn’t replicate an old time furnace, blowing across the front porch. It’s then that Science Guy and I talk about the changing of the leaves.

For me, it was always a family trip to the Smokey Mountains or anywhere up north (so Georgia is up north to me), where the leaves are changing from green to purple, orange, bright red, and brilliant yellow’s. For Science Guy it’s different. It’s more of a longing to see what he grew up seeing every year. You’d think growing up with it would make it not as beautiful, but nope, his family always made time to look at them.

The first year she-who-thought-she-was-born-with-a-tiara went to college blew her away. In fact, I received this box from her, complete with a note on the outside that I couldn’t open it until we were on the phone with each other. Inside the box was an array of fall leaves. It was such a cool gift. 🙂 

I know I’ve complained about the heat, talked about the beautiful leaves I used to go see growing up, and yeah, complained about the heat, but really I do love autumn. I love to decorate my house (inside and out). It gives me more of feeling of seasons even though ours are not very pronounced.

The fall colors are among my very favorites and truth be known, the weather will eventually cool off. The 90’s will be put to bed until next summer and we’ll beautiful days of high 70’s and nights of  high 50’s to low 60’s. Writing outside will be a joy again and creativity flows a wee bit stronger with the changes.

And once again we’ll dream of colors, each more vibrant than the other. Memories complete with childhood fun and grown up wishes.

What about where you live? Is the weather already making that change from blistering hot to comfortable? Or are you still waiting for the heat to melt away and the soft breeze of autumn to roll in?

Hugs,

Vicki

13 Responses

  1. Vicki, we’re trying to change right now. We get a nice cool day (usually cloudy) and the air hardly ever runs. But then, like yesterday, the sun comes up and the temps jump up on the high eighties and the air just runs and runs all day.

    I’m enjoying my cloudy day today. I think it was last week I actually got to have my window open all day for a cool breeze. I LOVED it. Can’t wait for more.

  2. Oh, can you feel the almost envy dripping here? You got to have your windows open…I love those days and we have few of them. Sometimes, we don’t get any of them in a season.

    Okay, so not really envy, I don’t do that, but I can’t wait to read your post and live vicariously through your autumns. 🙂

  3. It has been raining everyday for the past two or three weeks. The weather has made a dramatic change. The temperature is starting to get lower, but I think it is because of all this rain. I am looking forward to when it gets down in the 70’s. It is still in the lower 80’s as of now. At least it’s not in the hundreds anymore!

  4. The weather is very moody here! It can’t make up its mind WHAT it wants to do! And I really wish it would:)

  5. Jamie and Chelsea – it sounds like you’re both in the middle of the changing season. Not quite sure what it wants to do.

  6. Lovely post, Vicki, and it makes me so ready for autumn to get here.

    I do love fall – pumpkins, leaves, pecan pie. In fact, my WIP is right in the middle of fall, so I’ve done trick or treating, county fair, and Thanksgiving dinner. Football is going strong in there too – it’s set in Texas, so , duh, gotta have football. All that writing about it has me ready for my mom’s turkey and dressing 🙂

  7. Yummy Amy!! I love Thanksgiving dinner. It’s one of my favorites. Probably because of all that ‘comfort’ food at one time and it’s okay to eat it since it’s Thanksgiving. 🙂

  8. We are waiting for a cold front to make its way through right now. It’s been rainy and nasty here all day, but when we wake up tomorrow we are expecting temps in the 60’s. I can’t wait!!

  9. Happy Fall. We’re actually in the high 70’s today and we might hit the 80’s tomorrow and Thursday. It’s starting to get dark by 7.

  10. Melissa – A cold front, wow. We’ll still have hot weather for at least another month. Not that we’ll have tons of cool weather after that, but anything is better than 93.

  11. Jane – that sounds perfect! 🙂 and Happy Fall right back to you.

  12. The weather is cooling just a little bit, but it is still plenty warm. We also just finished having record-breaking rains and floods. Thankfully, we don’t live in the flooded areas.

  13. i love the autumn but hate the winter. Actually I don’t hate the winter, I just wish it didn’t last so long. One month for a White Christmas would do nicely, thank you!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

