Change is Comin’ Round

It’s All About Autumn week on the blog! Leave a comment all week for your chance to win a $15.00 gift certificate to Amazon.

Ah…Fall! You’re here. Well, at least technically.

I’d be hard pressed to say it actually feels like fall, but let’s not dwell on the fact that it’s still near 90 degrees in Louisiana.

Let’s dwell on the fact that change is coming. The trees will color, the grass will stop growing so danged fast and my flipflops will be kicked aside for new fall shoes. I can almost taste the change in the air. Almost.

But the most important change has happened for me.  A big one. Friday I got the call. Yep, as in THE CALL! I sold my contemporary to Superromance and now will be a published author. That’s a really BIG change. And it’s all happening so fast. With so many questions to be answered…do I want to write under another name? Can you give some alternate titles? Do you have an agent? Can you do the edits by November 2nd? My head has been spinning.

So now I’m writing as Liz Talley. My kids don’t like it, but I figured I’d get some milage out of my middle name for a change and seperate my two worlds: PTA mom and romance writer. Came up with a title, I think. Got a release month: June. Still don’t have an agent, but I’m looking. And, yep, I’m doing the edits by November.

Am I ready for all this? I’m not sure. I need a website. I need to publicize (gulp!) I’ve got to read a contract. I thought I was ready, but now I’m not so sure.  So, yes, change has come round for me. In a big way. And I’ve got no choice but to meet it head on.

So as the first taste of fall comes to Louisiana, I’ll be embracing the new breeze and enjoying the whirling of the leaves around me. I’ll be thrilling to the crispness of the season and the possibilities around the corner. And hopefully, I’ll be wearing a new pair of fall shoes!

On a different note, but still while we are on the subject of change, the 2009 Golden Heart Finalists (of which I’m a member) has launched a new blog – The Ruby-slippered Sisterhood. The link is above and I’m blogging today. I know…I’m double dipping. Please stop by. I’ll be sharing reasons why you shouldn’t enter the Golden Heart 🙂

19 Responses

  1. SQUEEE SQUEEE SQUEEE!!!! Amy—oh, LIZ, I be so happy for you! You worked so hard on this story and I was so excited to hear you sold!!!

    I know you, you can get through this in a breeze.

  2. Amy-Liz or whatever name you use…CONGRATULATIONS!!! This is big big news.

  3. Thank you, Keri!

    You know I’m pumped! It’s such a fun story and I’m glad it gets to get out there and be read.

    Cyndi,

    you always make me laugh. I went round and round on the whole name thing. Let’s just say I couldn’t sleep night before last, got up at 3:00 am and watched Misery. Needless to say, I thought a writing name a good idea 🙂

    Even though it’s gonna be heck to change everything writing wise.

  4. OMG, OMG, OMG!!! I’m so happy for you!! This is awesome news and I’m grinning from ear to ear right now. Lot’s of cyber hugs, wine, chocolate, and really anything you want to celebrate.

    This is just such wonderful news!!!

  5. Thanks, Vicki!

    Can’t believe it myself. But I’m so excited. It’s like a whole new path I just discovered in the woods. Surrounded by fall leaves of course 🙂

  6. Amy- I’m over the moon excited for you! Yea!!!
    That lovely tease of fall we got a couple weeks ago really made me long for cooler (frier) weather so I can work outside (allergies aside) and enjoy the change of seasons. Fingers crossed that next week brings the promised cooler drier air the weather channel is showing….
    Congrats again on your CALL!!!
    Beth Cornelison

  7. Girl! Now that is exciting!! Congratulations!!! 🙂

  8. Happy congrats!!! What an exciting and personally satisfying time for you! You will never forget this moment. 🙂

  9. Congrats, congrats! I’m so excited for you!:D

  10. I’m absolutely thrilled for you, Amy/Liz. And it couldn’t happen to a nicer person nor one who’d worked harder.

    Delight from here to Christmas — and then a second helping until June!

  11. Thanks, everyone for the congrats. It’s been really fun celebrating with all my friends.

    I love that I have so many from far away places…and some close too.

    Aren’t the friendships we build by blogging, being on loops and meeting up at conferences amazing? Who woulda thunk such a thing possible 20 years ago? Not me, that’s for sure

  12. Oh, and thanks those of you who peeked in on me at the Rubyslipper blog. Aren’t those girls a fun bunch?

  13. Hurrah Any/Liz! Change is in the air and it’s a darned good change, too, isn’t it?

    Huge congratulations on your sale. I’m marking down June to get my copy!

    Lovin’ this cooler weather, too.

    Connie

  14. Wow, the call. Congrats, Liz. Are you doing anything to celebrate?

  15. Thanks, Connie.

    I was about to say you already read it, but then I gotta change it. But then again, you may have to read the changed version.

    But, I’ll take the sale. After June, it’s gonna be all about promoting and selling this book. Whoa.

  16. Thanks, Jane.

    And you’re the first person to call me Liz. I kinda did a double take.

    Guess I got to change all of that to refelct my writing name.

    And I did celebrate with my family – we had cake and champagne. My good friend Rachel called and demanded I buy myself a “pretty” so I’m probably going to go to James Avery and get myself a charm to mark the occasion.

  17. WOOHOO! Way to go, Amy! I mean- Liz!! Haha! I’m so happy for you! Hugs!

  18. CONGRATULATIONS! CONGRATULATIONS! I’m so happy for you! I will definitely be on the lookout for the book next year.

  19. OMG you are published! That is awesome, I hope to get that call someday!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

