• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Oh, To Be Young Again

What is it that fascinates children about the rain?   My kids love it as long as the lightening andrain fun thunder stay away.  They take every umbrella we own, get together with the neighborhood kids and make forts in the driveway or on the sidewalk and just sit there.  I hear them talking and giggling and wonder what the heck they are doing under there.   If they can find buckets or something to catch the rain in it only makes for more fun.

I don’t know about you, but just about every time it even tried to drizzle when I was younger, my brother and I would sneak outside, get on our bikes and ride until we were completely drenched.  I can still remember how free and refreshed it made me feel.  I’m sure we drove my mother nuts worrying we might catch a nasty cold. 

Flash forward a few years.  Okay, a lot of years. LOL  Now getting caught in the rain makes my bones ach and only happens when there is no other alternative.  So you can imagine how uncomfortable this past Saturday night’s football game was.  It started spitting drops around 3:00 and I kept hoping it would stop.  Begging for it to stop.  This was to be the first competition for the high school band.  The first time my oldest daughter performed her solo for the color guard.  My parents came up to watch and we’ve been looking forward to it all week.  Dang the rain. 

I haven’t been that wet in a long time.  The metal benches were pooling with wplaying-in-the-rain-300x278ater that eventually ended up running down the backs of her thighs all the way to the bend of our knees as we sat there.  Not a fun feeling at all.  To make matters worse, we could barely watch the game because of all the umbrellas in the stands.  I have to say it surprised me to see so many other parents out there despite the weather, but I guess when it comes to our kids we parents will do just about anything.  We looked like a bunch of rainbow colored drowned rats with the multi colored ponchos, raincoats and whatever else could be used to keep dry.  

Of course for safety reasons and the instruments, the band didn’t get to perform.  But the football team played a great game anyway and won! Yeah!  A tiny glimmer of light at the end of the non-existent rainbow.  🙂 

How about you?  Has anything you once loved to do as a kid lost its appeal now that you have, let’s say… grown into adulthood?

14 Responses

  1. Terrific, funny blog, Melissa! You’re entirely correct, what was so much fun as a child is nowhere near the same as an adult..:)

    A few years ago, I flew back to Washington, D.C., to meet with a potential client. Came in at night, so didn’t see much. Next morning, looked out the hotel windows and saw this beautiful blanket of snow on everything. Now, I’d not seen snow in over 35 years, and was excited; it was so smooth, it was so pretty, I couldn’t wait to get outside and feel it and see it up close and maybe make a snowball.

    Until I DID go outside. As I recall, my reaction was, “$&^#*! It’s COLD.”

    Kind of ruined the moment….:)

  2. LOL, William!!! Yeah, cold does that to me too!! 🙂 A blanket of fresh untouched snow always makes my heart skip a beat. So peaceful, so glittery, so incredibly beautiful. But the minute that cold air hits my skin…..brrrrrrr. 🙂

  3. I loved to ride my bike right after the rain – puddles to splash through and we had crepe myrtles that hung over the sidewalk and every time I rode by, I’d hit the leave and make the tree rain.

    As an adult, I still love the rain, but from my warm office. And I’m a little sick of how much we’ve been getting in the South. Hello, Mother Nature? It’s football in the South. Lay off a bit.

    Heading to Baton Rouge for the Florida/LSU game this weekend….they’re calling for rain. Heck.

  4. I still love the rain, but not be caught out in it. We used to love to jump and splash in the puddles.

  5. I love hearing the rain hitting the windows, but I do not enjoy getting drench during a rains shower.

  6. Oh, Amy! I remember doing that too! What great memories are flooding back!! Too much rain here as well. Friday’s game doesn’t look very promising.

  7. Vicki, my brother’s favorite thing was to wait until you weren’t paying attention and then he’d jump in the puddle right in front of you before taking off in a dead run. It’s a good thing he was faster than me. LOL

  8. I could sit and listen to the steady beat of the rain drops for hours, Jane. If only we could pick the moment and snap our fingers for it to start and stop. 🙂

  9. I still love the rain! Nothing shakes me out of a rut better than a good storm!

  10. I haven’t played in the rain in years! Now days, I am always afraid it will smear my make up and mess up my hair. However, I wasn’t afraid to go out in it yesterday. I went running in it! It was fun! My clothes and hair DID get wet, but I was determined to go for a long run on the track to have my exercise!

  11. Vivi, we went through such a dry spell this summer and I’m still blaming it on the bad mood I seemed to be in everyday. LOL I felt so much better after we finally got our first good rainfall. Just the fresh smell of rain lifts my spirits. It’s reached the point for the rain to take a break here though. Just for a little while. 🙂

  12. I’m so jealous, Jamie! I always wanted to be a runner. I could do short spurts like the 100 yard dash in my younger days, but never managed the long distance runs. It sounds like you enjoyed every minute! You go girl!! 🙂

  13. AFZ7xR Good point. I hadn’t tohguht about it quite that way. 🙂

  14. Thanks for stopping by the blog, Barbi! 🙂 Come back soon!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

