• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Bayou Magic

There’s just something about Tiger Stadium on a Saturday night in October that can’t be described. Many have tried; many will continue to do so.  Here’s my take.

I know what you’re thinking….this is everybodyneedsalittleromance. Yeah, but to me, well, the LSU Tigers are my passion.

Seriously.

You see,  I was not born here, but I was bred here. Bred to make gumbo, watch LSU and say, “Who dat?” If you live in Louisiana, you’re supposed to bleed purple and gold. I’m pretty sure I do.

My first trip to Tiger Stadium was in 1994. The Tigers were playing Bama and it rained like there was no tomorrow. We didn’t stay long and I don’t remember much about it. Coulda been the bourbon. But the Tigers lost anyway. The next game did it for me. It was the following year and LSU had a new coach. It was the Auburn game and I’ll never forget it. Never. I have never seen anything like it. I sat in the student section. Or should I say stood. When I left, I left soaked in bourbon and coke and hooked on the smack of LSU football.

See, it’s not just a game. It’s an experience. It’s boudin, shrimp creole and couchon de lait. It’s booze, beer pong and tiger bait. It’s the Golden Girls, Mike the Tiger and the Tiger Rag. Sliding on the Indian Mounds, eating at the Chimes, and facing the lines at the Port-o-Potty. And it’ the biggest, rocking good time you’ll ever have with 93,000 of your best friends.

Like voodoo on the bayou, it’s explicably Louisiana.

If you ever have the chance to pass the time at an LSU football game, do it. I promise you, you’ll not regret it.

Geaux Tigas!!!

What is your favorite team? Or you favorite way to spend a fall weekend?

6 Responses

  1. Amy I loved this post!! Not that I’m such a huge football fan, but it sounds like you have a blast! 🙂

    I loved going to college basketball. No matter what happened, win or lose, we’ve always had a great time.

    Now, if we can talk about any place we love to go or be, then for me it would be plays. I love acting and miss it tons, so going to shows is cool. Except for the fact when people go off stage the first thing that enters my mind, is are they doing a quick change right be the curtain on stage Left? 😉

  2. I don’t follow much college ball, but we go for the AR Hogs when we do. We’re more active in NFL. husband is a big fan of the Chicago Bears and I follow the Patriots.

    A normal fall weekend is typically me at home with the kid while the husband is off in the deer woods somewhere.

  3. Now this does sound exciting! And I’m not a huge college football fan. My husband drives me crazy watching the Longhorns. We shut him in his room and pray for a good game so the walls don’t come tumbling down. LOL I’ve never understood his passion for it, but we all humor him anyway.

    Lately, it’s my daughter’s high school football team that is making me hoop and haller. They have a great team this year and are the only ones in their district undefeated at this time. Lots of great memories of my high school days are flooding back and it’s really fun.

  4. Vicki –

    I would have loved to have drama as part of my life. Wait. What am I saying? My life is drama.

    No, seriously, no drama dept. at my high school. Would have loved to be part of it if they had had it.

  5. Keri,

    Ah, calling the hogs. Surely only Arkansas people can do it right. 🙂

    I like pro football too. But not like I like college. College is sheer passion…not sheer paycheck. They play for pride, for their teammates and their coaches.

    Okay, and sometimes draft status.

  6. I love highschool football, Mel.

    And you have to. You live in Texas…isn’t it required? Don’t y’all like have to know all the penalty signs for football on the driving test? LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

