• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Tessa Dare’s Surrender Of A Siren

surrenderofasiren_smWarning: I don’t talk plot. Really, at all. If you want the plot, read the book. The authors do a much better job of telling the story than I ever could, so I don’t even go there. I tell you about the characters, their quirks and faults and everything that makes them loveable and completely unforgettable.

Roses are red
Violets are blue
Surrender Of A Siren is addictive
Read it and you’ll see that, too.

Don’t knock my poetry. I try. But really, Tessa Dare’s Surrender Of A Siren is a fabulous book that hooks you from page one to the end. Like all great romances that you’ll never forget, it’s a combination of things that set this story apart from a great read to a memorable romance. There’s the wonderful painter, Sophia. The roguish hero, Gray. The loving cast you’re not expecting. A character your never forget named Dolly. Then of course, there are the goats. Oh, yes, there are goats. Did I mention all but the last bit of the story takes place on a ship? And yes, those goats are on the ship as they cross the Atlantic. Fun, fun, fun!

But my absolute favorite part of this book? Sophia herself.

There’s a point in everyone’s life where you make a decision that changes your life forever. Staying in the same vein as Sophia, I’ll use my now husband asking me out on our first date. Our second. Asking me to be his girlfriend and then later asking me to be his wife. I said yes to all these without hesitation and here I am with a wonderful husband and fantastic son.

Even knowing how full of love my life is, knowing I wouldn’t change it all, I wonder, what would have happened had I said no to just one of those questions my husband had asked me? Just one no and I wouldn’t be sitting where I am with the family I have. I don’t think I’m alone in this curiosity.

That’s where Sophia comes in. Sophia said no and through her, I was able to live that elusive what if. Yes, she is reckless, skipping town, disappearing with her wedding date near and telling no one where she was going or why. She handled it badly, she knows she did and she does feel guilty for it. At the time when she flees, she felt it was her only option and I can’t say I wouldn’t have handled it differently had I been in her place and decided to say no myself.

Gray, our hero, is a character you instantly fall in love with. He’s all bad boy, but he’s a big softy too. Gray is trying to be respectable and it’s no easy task what this bad boy is trying to do for his family. He knows what’s right in his heart, he just takes liberties without thinking sometimes. And yeah, they hurt his family, but he does it, again, because he knows it’s for the good of his family. I mean, really, who doesn’t like a family man? As he was having to deal with his choices, I felt so sorry for him. He’s tried so hard to make something for his family (brother, sister, nephew), to give them a good life. And his family doesn’t always see that and it tears at him.

This is a book that you settle a bit deeper in the cushions to read. There’s comedy in the banter between the characters that’ll have you laughing out loud. Their drive of wanting so much they’ll do whatever it takes has you routing for them. When Sophia realizes what she must give up, you’ll be heartbroken right along with her.

So, I’ll leave you to read the story to find out about the goats and about mystery behind “Dolly”.

Have you ever wondered, ‘what if’? Or are you living that what if? Have you ever wanted to be something you’re not? How’d that work out for you?

***By the way, Tessa will be HERE on the 23rd and I just might have some books to give away……

Excerpt and links to purchase the book! (I promise, you’ll want a copy)

Surrender Of A Siren is book two of a 3 part series. I’ve read them all and they are all FAB!

Desperate to escape a loveless marriage and society’s constraints, pampered heiress Sophia Hathaway jilts her groom, packs up her paints and sketchbook, and assumes a new identity, posing as a governess to secure passage on the Aphrodite. She wants a life of her own: unsheltered, unconventional, uninhibited. But it’s one thing to sketch all her wildest, most wanton fantasies, and quite another to face the dangerously handsome libertine who would steal both her virtue and her gold.

To any well-bred lady, Benedict “Gray” Grayson is trouble in snug-fitting boots. A conscienceless scoundrel who sails the seas for pleasure and profit, Gray lives for conquest—until Sophia’s perception and artistry stir his heart. Suddenly, he’ll brave sharks, fire, storm, and sea just to keep her at his side. She’s beautiful, refined, and ripe for seduction. Could this counterfeit governess be a rogue’s redemption? Or will the runaway heiress’s secrets destroy their only chance at love?

6 Responses

  1. Sounds like an awesome book, Keri. And I ask myself that question ALL of the time, “What if?” I ask myself that especially when I am figuring out the plot to my story.

  2. The sounds great. The only real what if question that I still ask myself is, “What if I had went to NY and tried to become a broadway actor?” I love the stage and that was my plan. Or at least to try. Then I got married, had kids, and well…it just never happened.

    Now as far as my characters go, I ask the ‘what if’ question all the time. 🙂

  3. It is an interesting question, isn’t it, Jamie? So many different answers.

  4. Vicki–Broadway! what fun!

    Mom had suggested modeling to me, but by the time this idea came, I was already way in love with my then boyfriend (or were we engaged?) and I wasn’t going to NY or wherever that you go for that to chance that awesome fun. though i would have made for one slamming jean model before the kid came along 🙂

  5. Great review, Keri! How will I ever read all these books?!

    The “what if’s” drive me crazy still today. LOL So I try not to look back too much and just focus on the future. 🙂

  6. I know, Melissa, there is so much waiting on me to read, and well, I’d have a heck of a lot more time if I didn’t get bogged down by the what it’s. *g*

Show us some love and leave a comment!

