• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Pen Pals

I was so excited the other day when my daughter came to me and said she wanted a pen pal. writing One that she could write to through the mail.  This surprised me since email is all this younger generation wants to do these days.  Sitting down to write an actual letter and then actually putting it into the mail is becoming a foriegn phenomen. 

My biggest problem in all this is trying to find a legitimate site to get a pen pal.  When I was in middle school, one of my English teachers set up her entire class with pen pals and we would share the letters with the class as a writing assignment.  But they don’t even require students to write in cursive these days.  Something I find absolutely ridiculous.  There are a bunch of websites and links that come up when you Google pen pal, but I’m cautious.  You never know who you might hook up with on the Internet.  And a lot of the sites want to charge you money to even receive a list of possible choices.  I’m stumped.  And I don’t want to disappoint my daughter.  I know it would be an awesome experience for her. 

lettersWhen I was younger I had two pen pals.  I was always so thrilled when a letter came addressed to me.  We shared stories about our family, school, activities we were involved in and I enjoyed learning about these special people, who were from different states, that I’d never met in person and probably never would.  We stayed in touch for years even after moving on to the next grade.   I still remember those letters and can even picture their faces from the school photos they sent.  I thought it was amazing how a friendship could grow without every speaking a single word to someone.  Back then it was correspondence through the mail that built these special relationships.  Today it’s my online writing buddies that support and cheer me on from afar. Writing pen pals.  How cool!  🙂

 Can anyone give me an idea on how to search for a pen pal?  Did you ever have one as a child?

9 Responses

  1. I remember having one set up for school. I think I had someone from Egypt. I remember the odd looking envelops and ‘blocky’ looking handwriting. I hope somone knows a good trusty site to find one for her!

  2. Egypt! Wow, that’s a really cool pen pal! 🙂 Ours were all from the U.S. One classmate’s pen pal was from Alaska and we were all so jealous. LOL

  3. No help here. I don’t remember ever having a pen pal arranged by the school. I may have, but if so, it left no impression!

    I did have a couple of pen pals from church camp.

    How old is your daughter?

  4. Hey, Cyndi! 🙂 My daughter just turned 13 in August and is in the 8th grade. Church camp would have been a great time to set something up. I’ll check with her youth leaders and see if they have any suggestions. 🙂

  5. I have no idea where to search for a pen pal. I had one in fourth grade. She was from Australia. It was all set up by our teacher. We only exchanged one letter.

  6. Yeah, I think pen pals was a bust in third grade, and like Cyndi, it left no real impression on me.

    Good luck with finding one. I’m sure it will be a good experience in a lot of ways for her.

  7. Thanks, ladies. This is what I’m worried about as well. My daughter will take this very serious and will be heartbroken if the other party isn’t as thrilled as she is. I’m hoping the girls being a bit older will be the trick. 🙂

  8. I had a pen pal after I graduated, Melissa. One of my best friends joined the army, and she couldn’t have a phone. We wrote letters to each other all of the time. We call each other every now and then. She served her time in there, got married and moved far away. Now, I am about to get married. We grow up so fast! I enjoyed writing to her and reading about what she experienced while she was on the other side of the world!

  9. I had several pen pals, met a few of them through the years and still keep in touch with them until now, after many, many years!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

