• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

TLC for ME

As the rain comes down, I find myself depressed. Not majorily depressed, but a little blue.

Sure, it’s good writing weather. But the darned stuff just won’t go away. Light rains, drizzle and toad stranglers – we’ve seen them all in North Louisiana in the past two weeks. And I’m sick of it.

But, I still have to write, right? So  yesterday I sat down at the computer and got ready to start on Chapter 17 and ….nothing. The words wouldn’t come. I typed one or two adjectives and then backspaced them right into oblivion. Then sat and stared at the screen begging the words to flow from my fingertips. Jeez. Nothing. So I started talking to myself (which would normally be bad, but at the moment made total sense). I told myself that this is my new job. I have to work. Didn’t matter if I felt creative or not. Destiny is my boss. And destiny is demanding. If I want to check goals off my list, I have to put my fingers on the keyboard and pound the story out.

So I tried.

But it didn’t work.

So I pushed back from the desk, grabbed a comfy throw and planted myself on the couch. I slept for about an hour which is amazing considering I had been awake for almost two hours and had had two cups of coffee. The phone woke me up. It was the hubbie. Of course, he wanted to know what I was doing. Ummmm…writing?

But since I was awake and lying, I decided to go back and actually do what I told him I was doing. Writing. And here’s the thing – I cranked out twelve pages! Okay, they probably weren’t anything near masterpiece status, but they were pages. Hey, it’s my first draft anyway.

So what had changed? Well, that took a long soak in the tub and a good deal of thought to discover. I’m tired. Plain and simple. I’ve spent the week before last slicing and dicing my manuscript to get it to my editor’s standards. It was hard to do. Then I spent last week finishing it, taking my hubbe to doctor appointment after doctor appointment for his back, working twice at a local arts festival, not getting much sleep (because of hubbie’s back), helping with two school projects, and loading up and attending a major college football game. All on top of the regular stuff – groceries, laundry, and bills.

I’m tired. And at times, a writer had got to listen to her body. After all, if the words won’t come, they won’t come. There’s nothing my stubborn self can do about it. Except take a nap. And allow myself to be a little lazy. And isn’t that hard for us women? To be lazy? To lie on the couch at 9:30 in the morning when everyone else is at work and breakfast dishes are in the sink and do nothing? It is for me. Mostly because I feel guilty. You know, cause the husband goes off in the morning grumbling about the day and I’m home in my jammies dreaming up love stories.

But, dang it, it is hard. Sometimes. And I jumped guiltily when the phone rang, sitting up and looking for something to fold or wipe down. Then scrambling for my keyboard. Like I was wrong for needing a break. Some time for myself.

It’s not wrong.

So take a break if you need it. Take a nap. Watch a movie. Take a long, hot soak in the tub. Get away from the computer and the ironing and the grocery list. Give your muse  a little TLC – she’ll thank you in the long run. And everyone else will actually be glad to be around you again. And you’ll be able to look out your window and not feel blue about the rain falling.

Or at least that’s what I did.

So, when’s the last time you took some time for yourself or did something totally out of routine just because you wanted to?

5 Responses

  1. Hm…probably when I came and visited you! with the hubby working all these hours, I haven’t had a chance to get away, cause of the kid, ya know?

    At the writing retreat this weekend, Amy and I will be found snuggled in our beds sleeping. Well hang a sign out that says, Do Not Disturb. We Are Plotting—which will be code for–We Are Dreaming

  2. I’m all for it, Keri. I could use some extra sleep…obviously.

    I am looking forward to the retreat. Trying to get an agenda worked up.

  3. I’m so jealous of the retreat this weekend!

    And I agree Amy. Sometimes you need to listen to your body. Sleep when you need to. and yes, call it plotting. that’s what I do!

  4. Sleeping = plotting I like It!

    Wish you could join us too. If this rain will get out of here, we’ll have a nice fall weekend to enjoy.

    I’m looking forward to it. Of course, my kiddos are not. They have to spend the weekend with their daddy. You’d think they’d look forward to it, but no. The youngest told me they’d probably have to go to Lowe’s or Bass Pro shop. There was absolute disgust in his voice 🙂

  5. I am looking forward to this retreat, Amy! It’s out of my routine, and I need it badly. This is a chance for me to get away from everything that is going on now, jumpstart my muse again (because I have lost it recently), and have some fun. 😉

Show us some love and leave a comment!

