Hooked on a Hook (not a feeling)

I hate to say it, but I’m running out of post ideas.

Okay, not really, but sometimes it’s hard to think about what I want to say. So today, I want to do something different. I thought that maybe we could talk about hooks…so what hooks you about a story?

I’ve been thinking about this lately because I have a sneaking suspicion that my wip has no hook. It’s got a lot of good stuff, but it’s just not hooky. I know that sounds conflicting, but I’m worried about it.

So I started thinking about my favorite books….what makes me say, “I’m buying this one.”?

First, I love a good make over story – that plain heroine beneath the horn-rimmed glasses and clodhopper shoes. The  nerdy scientist, the plain librarian, the efficient secretary. You know, the underdog. I also like switcheroo – girls in drag or guys pretending to be the stable boy so they can solve the crime. I’m also a huge sucker of the old hidden baby (only if done the right way) like in Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ books. And if someone goes missing…well, that’s a shoe in. Okay, and I also like the marriages of convenience.

I take a look at my bookshelf and it’s loaded with stories with awesome hooks. Makes me think that maybe I should think of my hook before I start the book, or in this  case nearly finish it. Might be a good idea, no?

So, here’s my challenge – take your wip and give me your hook. I’m going to think on mine all day today and then come back and post it. Or I may just let you guys help me with it. Maybe you can tell me how to hook you. Because I’m feeling like not so much a hooker (which could be a good thing 🙂 )

9 Responses

  1. okay, here’s my hook for my short story (chapt 1 to come your way soon! all 7 or so pgs of it!)

    He abducts a lady of the ton to prove his innocence.

  2. Here’s the hook for my current WIP:

    He haunts her and tries to send her messages to prove who murdered him so she will have them put away.

  3. Okay, here’s mine – One woman bound without knowledge to a bloodspell centuries years old she must break or her life will vanish from all who know her.

    Not so good, but I have a really hard time coming up with a one sentence hook. Ugh.

    Jamie yours sounds really cool. I’d love to know more.

    Keri yours made me laugh out loud in a want to read the next line right now kind of way

  4. Well, I’d planned on being home all day, but then the shopping bug bit me. Found a new kitchen rug!

    Keri – that one’s going to be interesting. I wish I didn’t have to finish my wip so I could do the challenge.

    Jamie – spooky

    And, Vick, your’s is suspenseful.

    Okay, here’s mine for anyone happening by:

    Battered by a failed marriage and business, a woman finds herself in the middle of small town Texas dodging a sexy contractor who tempts her to break her vow to take no more risks.

  5. Mine sounds stupid! Ack. I think I had too much wine with dinner.

    Okay, it was only a glass – that usually makes me more creative, but that hook sounds unusually boring.

    Would anyone read that?

  6. And, I don’t know why my name reads “Liz” on some and “Amy” on others.

  7. I’ll play. 🙂 When a widow learns her husband’s death wasn’t an accident, she finds herself running from his cold blooded killer as she tries to uncover the truth beneath secrets and betrayal. Gosh this is hard. LOL

    I want to read all these! Great hooks, ladies!! 🙂

  8. Oh, Mel, any time there is a killer, I’m hooked especially if someone is on the run. Gotta be a page turner.

  9. Great hooks, ladies!

    Vicki- I’m glad you like it! My heroine, who is a psychiatrist, is later diagnosed with Schizophrenia. While Darren plays his mind games, and they have their disagreements about diagnosing a patient who is really an angel sent to bring them together, she still has to prove to the law what happened. She believes Darren is alive, married, and working with her as a psychologist. His wife is the one who murdered him, and she is the governor! In the end, Serenity is faced with the most difficult decision of her life. Should she stay in this world of haunted illusions or should she join the man she loves in eternity?

Show us some love and leave a comment!

