• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Welcome Tessa Dare!!

Please welcome Tessa Dare, author of Surrender Of A Siren, our October Must Have book.

tessa in redI am a horrible liar. 

Really.  I never can get away with it.  My face turns red, and I can’t look the person in the eye.  I’m hopeless. 

Now, this is both a blessing and a curse.  I’m glad I’m not tempted to try getting away with serious dishonesty.  But I always feel I’m missing out on the more benign applications of the talent.  Practical jokes.  Surprise parties.  Bigger parts in the school play.  Heck, I can’t even keep a poker face.

So when I wrote Surrender of a Siren, my heroine, Sophia, was pure wish fulfillment.  Sophia’s very accomplished at deceit.  And again, it’s both a blessing and a curse.

In a way, she’s been wearing a mask all her life—as a beautiful heiress from a social-climbing family, she’s been groomed to project an inoffensive, demure ideal.  Underneath that cool exterior, however, she secretly seethes with wild passions.  To escape a loveless marriage, she adopts another assumed identity—that of a governess en route to the West Indies.  Traveling in disguise should be easy, she thinks.  Or at least, no more difficult than her old “disguise” had been.  Of course, she doesn’t count on meeting Gray, a charming devil of a man who sees the passionate woman beneath the façade.  After so many years of playing a part, Sophia must learn to accept her true self before she can accept his love.

How about you?  Are you able to keep a straight face while surrenderofasiren_smbending the truth, or are you hopeless like me? 

And since we’re coming up on Halloween…what’s the best trick you’ve ever played on someone?  I’ll give away a signed copy of Surrender of a Siren to a commenter selected at random.

Thanks for inviting me to blog, Keri!

11 Responses

  1. Welcome to the blog, Tessa!

    I can lie for a joke or surprise party. That kind of thing.
    But I can’t lie for other reasons. Leaves me too guilty.

    Thanks for being here today!

  2. Welcome Tessa! The book sounds fabulous although don’t count me in the contest since I’m part of the blog. 🙂

    I’m not a good liar at all. It’s not that I can’t keep a poker face, I think I can, but my mom would find out and I’d be in trouble. Yep, I’m a grown woman and still know that my mother has ears that can hear for miles and eyes in the back of her head. 🙂

  3. Hi, Keri and Vicki!

    Like both of you, I have to admit that guilt is a huge factor for me too. In most cases, the guilt I’d feel about telling the lie is will be worse than whatever it is I’m trying to get out of. But even when it comes to the harmless stuff…I still can’t get over it!

    I will say, though – I’ve managed to pull off a few good surprises in my life. My high school senior choir director had a leather biker jacket wish–he kept a keychain with a mini one, until he could buy the real thing. We all just loved him–he was a great guy. So we secretly all pooled our money and bought him the jacket as a gift, and we gave it to him right in the middle of our last concert. I was the choir president, so I got to do the presenting, and it was so fun to watch his eyes just go wide when my VP and I got out of formation right in the middle of the concert to hijack the microphone. When we gave him the jacket he got all teary-eyed. It was AWESOME.

  4. Awww Tessa I love that. I sang in high school as well, and my choral director was a very important part of my life during that time.

  5. Interesting idea!

    Hmmm… Well, I don’t have trouble keeping a poker face or hiding surprises, so I guess I’m good at it…at least when guilt doesn’t jump in there. I’ll admit there have been times when a not-for-a-good-reason-lie slipped out and I felt so awful that it haunts me for days if I don’t make it right. (Although I’m ashamed to admit that there have been a few times when I’ve just wanted out the guilt, all because I was too chicken to face up to a little white lie. ::sigh::)

  6. I used to do April Fool’s Day jokes on my DH, but on the phone. If I did it in person he’d never believe me. It’s been several years since I thought up a good trick, so I can no longer remember any of them!! But, I’m sure they were GOOD and he did fall for them!!! Thanks, Sue

  7. Kathleen, I’m so glad to hear you say that! I thought I was the only one who feels inordinately guilty for the most meaningless things sometimes. I think it’s part of why I felt like writing about someone who was so different from me in that respect. It’s great to be able to try on different attitudes and personalities that way.

    Sue, thanks for your comment Come back if you do remember those pranks! I worked in an office once where the boss played a great one. She left a frantic message that she’d been called away on emergency business and flown out. She wanted everyone in her office for a conference call at 9. So they all gathered round all nervously hunched over the phone, and in she breezed with donuts and a big grin. Everyone fell for it.

  8. Hi Tessa, that was so sweet. I am sure your choir director felt very loved.

    As far as lying. I hate to lie because of the guilt factor. I don’t have much of a poker face either.

  9. Great to have you with us, Tessa! 🙂

    I’m with you. I couldn’t tell a lie and get away with it even if my life depended on it. LOL That said, I have pulled off a few surprise parties for family memebers though. I just planned them a few weeks ahead of the big day and no one was the wiser.

  10. When it comes to keeping a straight face when its something funny, I can’t do it. I laugh at everything. I’m beginning to think its an illness 😉

    And as for tricks….There was this one involving cards, a Hallowen episode of ‘That’s so Raven’, a few friends, and a very gullible sister….Its weird to explain LOL 🙂

  11. Hey, Armenia, Melissa, Chelsea…thanks for stopping by! Wow, this is one very honest group. Either that or you are all just very good at lying about not lying. hm…. 🙂

    Thanks so much for having me over!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

