• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Winner of the Surprise Box O’ Books, Spook Houses, and, Oh Yeah, and a Really Cool Contest

It’s prize week on the blog! Leave a comment all week to be entered to win our super Halloween prize! hint…hint…look for candy! It’s is trick-o-treating season after all!

The winner for last week’s contest, who will win a surprise books of books (at least 4, maybe more), is….KH.  Email me your snail mail addy at vickilanewrites @yahoo.com. Please put in the subject line Blog Winner.

If I don’t hear from you by Monday, I’ll have to choose another winner. I’ll put the books in the mail once I hear from you. 😀

 There’s a really cool contest happening this Wednesday over on Lori Brighton’s blog.  

To enter you’ll leave your first chapter of your finished (or very close to finished) manuscript in the comments. After that 20 people will be chosen to continue on and they be sending their first pages. There’s more but you can find the rules (in case I’ve said anything incorrect) over on Lori’s  blog. And the ultimate winner will have their first 3 chapters read by Megan Records of Kensington Publishing! How freakin’ cook is that!!!

You must be unpublished in print form to enter, so epubs, get your stuff in this contest.

Okay, so a Halloween moment.

When I was a little girl one of the radio stations in my area always picked a house to be the spook house. No one knew where the house was other than the clues they’d give on the radio. The first person to actually identify the house as the spook house won a big prize.

Well, we were chosen when I was six. Instead of going out trick or treating that year I stayed at the house to help hand out fists full of candy to the people coming. The station provided us with the candy and of course the DJ’s were there as well. It was so cool. They had someone come and decorate the house to make it really spooky looking and even though I didn’t go out I had a blast.

Back then the adults went T&Ting as well, just to find the house and win. But it was different than today’s times. You didn’t worry if a bunch of adult came to your house dressed in costumes complete with mask.

And I got to be a fairy princess with my very own tiara. The flowing pink dress and ballet shoes were beautiful. Of course for those who know me, I had to be at the door and I wanted to be called Princess V. Heehee, yeah, my mom didn’t think so. I was and always will be Vicki, but I guess when you’re hyped up on loads of chocolate it’s okay.

What about you? What’s one of your favorite Halloween memories? Oh, and don’t forget to check out Lori’s contest.

Happy Halloween!

Vicki

7 Responses

  1. I can’t think of a particular Halloween that I enjoyed. A costume and candy – that was all I really needed for a seroiusly Happy Halloween.

    But I do remember going through my first haunted house. The Loin’s Club hosted it and I so did NOT want to go, but my friends talked me into it. I don’t remember a thing. My eyes were shut the whole time and my head was tucked into the neck of a stranger who kindly picked me up. He’s lucky I didn’t pee on him. I was terrified. Really terrified. And I have never been in one since then.

  2. back when my parents were still married, I was probably 3, so I’m remembering more by the pictures, than the actual day, but I had this yellow teddy bear costume and I LOVED it. Had a tie on hat with the ears that stuck up. the material was that soft/thin/warm cotton. I really don’t remember costumes that came and went between then and now, but I’ve never forgotten that bear outfit. After Halloween, I wore it often as pj’s. I remember having it in my drawer when I was about 8’ish (was a small kid that just did not grow). I’ll have to ask my mom if she still has it or if she gave it away.

  3. Amy – I’m like you. I can’t really do the true haunted house thing now. But then I can’t ride roller coasters either. They just scare me to bad.

    Keri – How cute is that!!! My son, who’s grown now, had a superman costume that really was PJ’s, but he loved them so much that’s what he wanted to wear. Okay, so he wanted to wear it everyday, but that’s another story.

  4. I remember two Halloween days I REALLY enjoyed. I went to this haunted house when I was a kid, and I got scared to death! It was my first one. Then, I went to a haunted forest with my dad when I was a teenager. The snakes on the ground is what freaked me out the most. I literally jumped on my dad’s back and made him carry me through it! Snakes scare me more than anything! Lol!

  5. thanks so much vicki
    cant wait email u
    thanks

  6. The funniest one I remember was when my younger brother dressed up like a hobo. He wore my dad’s pants and shirt and my mom stuffed him till he could barely walk. At one stop there was a small ditch in front of the house. You could cross it no problem with one tiny leap. Well, he didn’t make it across, but ended up rolling around like one of those toy weebles, but he woobled on his overly stuffed belly and couldn’t get up. It still makes me laugh!

  7. I love how we used to have costumed parties in elementary school. I was always excited because that meant the lessons would end early and the party would start right after lunch. Nothing beats candy and a shortened school day.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

