• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

More Energy Please!

nanowrimo2009Last week flew!  Between daily life duties and NaNoWriMo, I’m getting really tapped out.  I’m not sure exactly what all went on at this point. LOL

Friday night was the last regular high school football game of the season.  Our team finished with a 10 – 0 record.  Really exciting!  Now we are looking forward to the playoffs, which means more great band performances.  This being my daughter’s first year we have no idea what to expect, but it’s been really fun so far.  I just need to figure out how to find more get-up-and-go to keep up with all that is getting up and going.  Nano wipes me out mentally and the running around wipes me out physically.  I feel like a walking zombie at times.  The kids are getting a good laugh out of my silly episodes, but I’m hoping to pull it together and make it to the end of the month with my sanity still in tacked.

The bright side in all of this is the fact that I’m writing everyday again and I couldn’t be happier with the way the story is turning out.  I’ve had lots of great brain storming sessions with my fellow writing buddies.  We are trying to meet at Drew’s, a great little local coffee shop, at least three times a week to write and support each other.  It’s helping me focus and stay on track with my goals.  This accountability stuff really works.

us-product-lineup

But  I’m worried about running of steam and it’s way too early for that.  How can I keep up this pace, keep the family happy and the words flowing?  Anyone have a secret energy booster?  I’ve never tried any of the energy drinks on the market but I have a friend who loves the Rockstar brand.  Have you tried any? Do they work?  Or do they make you feel worse after the effects wear off?

16 Responses

  1. Aw, Melissa, this one’s easy!

    Coffee.
    Coffee.
    Coffee.
    And then, MORE coffee…:)

    Works every time!

  2. LOL, William!! If only I could drink it black! By the time I get all the sweet stuff added, I’m not sure it’s coffee anymore. 🙂

  3. Great Melissa and congrats on the 10-0 record!

    for more energy…eek! no caffinee for me so the best I got is take your vitamins and it does hurt throw in a little B-12 for an extra metabolism boost.

    Take a short nap when you can grab one and find stuff that revitalizes, such as a hot shower or a brisk walk.

    When you’re feeling sluggish, get on the floor and STRETCH. It’ll get the blood moving for you and help wake you up.

    Change locations of your writing if you can. I typically write in the living room, but when I’m feeling worn down, I can switch to my computer room and the different atmosphere gives me a boost.

  4. If you’re anything like me and don’t like coffee, I drink other caffeine products to give me energy. I’ll drink several diet cokes a day to give me a energy boost. The second thing that gives me tons of energy is jogging. When I go out for a jog, I am ready to write by the time I get back. And third, (which I try not to do too often) is snack I try not to do that too often because I will gain weight, but it DOES give me energy. What works for me the most is jogging and drinking soda. I feel ready to go after that!

  5. Royal Jelly Bee Pollen with Ginseng works really well for me. It gives a mind buzz, but no crash.

  6. Who’s your friend? I bet she’s awesome!

  7. I’ve only had Red Bull and Monster. They provide a burst of energy, but then I crash soon after. I’ve also heard a lot about 5-hour Energy.

  8. Great suggestions, Keri! I think I like the naps best. LOL

    I’ll try moving around and changing the scenery more when I’m at home. I can see how that would make a difference. Thanks!!

  9. Jamie, Dr. Pepper is my favorite drink of all. I try not to have too many, but I couldn’t go a day without at least one. 🙂 Jogging has always been one of those things I wish I could do, but I’ve never been a long distance runner. Not that I’ve worked much at trying to condition myself to actually do it. LOL Maybe it’s time for me to get out and make the effort. Thanks!

  10. Mari, this sounds really interesting. I’ve never heard of it before. Love the buzz with no crash part! Thanks for the suggestion!

  11. You know she is Awesome, Jenn!! And she has the cutiest little girls! 😉

  12. Jane, these are a few of the ones I’ve had people suggest as well, but they really didn’t like the after affects. I guess there isn’t an easy quick fix. LOL

  13. I do coffee in the morning. I stay away from the energy drinks because I don’t need the extra boost to my caboose that comes with them.

    I do think exercising mid-day helps me. I also walk in the evening and find that I can really get some extra words or revising in after I’ve had a brisk walk.

  14. Man, I really don’t like to exercise. LOL But it looks like I better work it in somehow! 🙂

    Thanks, ladies!!

  15. I’m always looking for the next energy fix. I used almost all the above except regular sodas. Although we read of different negative stories and studies, I believe anything in moderation is okay.

    Use as needed, otherwise the effect is less effective over the long run.

    Melissa, if you’re a first time user … don’t drive or use hazardous equipment. You may even warn your family and neighbors before use 🙂

  16. Terri, you crack me up! LOL I’ll be sure to notify most of my neighbors. I like to keep some of them guessing. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

