Redneck Cowboys.

It’s Western Week! Leave a comment on the blog for your chance to win a free book!

I grew up fascinated with cowboys, but not cowboys in the sense of George Straight or John Wayne. Oh, no, mine were of a different breed entirely. They were what I’ll call Redneck Cowboys.

They’d wear the Wranglers. They’d have the strut. Instead of Justins, they wore a good old pair of Redwings. Instead of that cowboy hat? Look out for the worn ball cap that was often flipped backward cause the redneck cowboy often was on his fourwheeler or had his head under the hood of his old pick-up truck.

These fellas know how to stack bails of hay, ride a bronc and bring home the biggest deer out of the woods. They can rope a cow and spark up a weld with the same hands.

And baby, these are your bad boys of cowboys. They’ll call ’em like they see ’em be it man or woman. There’s no holding of the tongue for these fellas just because you’re a woman. And these boys don’t dance.

But, oh boy, when they flirt, turn on that charming smile…swoon. And watch out! They can be shy and act beta, but they’re alpha males in disguise.

Have you met a redneck cowboy? Interested or do you all think I’m crazy?

10 Responses

  1. I grew up and still live in North Louisiana, so, yeah. But I never dated those kind of guys. I liked the guys with the little alligator on their shirts and ivy league aspirations. Yeah, I know, I was pretty narrowminded, but what can you say when you’re a teenager? You don’t exactly expand outside the box.

    My husband is a good compromise. He doesn’t have redwings, but he’s got a four-wheeler and an uncanny ability to fix anything. He’s my balance. He drinks wine and whiskey. 🙂

  2. Maybe if I’d met one of those guys early on it would have expanded my horizons!

  3. The redneck cowboys were ALL OVER the small town I grew up in. But I’m like Amy. I never really took interest in them. I was VERY picky about my men and still am. I’m happy with my city guy!

  4. I’ve never had a chance to meet one, but we probably don’t have many here in the city.

  5. Liz, I ended up with a good balance (not the city-boy part). I got a good ‘ol country boy with perhaps a few redneck tendencies. alas, he is not much of the cowboy and is next to terrified of a horse (vs. me who has been known to sleep on the back of my horse when I was a girl). though props to him, he did ride a couple times becasue I wanted to.

  6. Oh, Beppie, your horizons would have been expanded.

  7. Hm. Jamie your comment is making me think back to the fellas I took a fashion to. Am remembering a thug or two, somewhat of a playboy, clean-cut guy, total country boy….well, as you can see, I had no specific type.

    **please note, I did NOT date all of these I just took a bit of a liken to them at one point or another. I was that annoying/over-energetic cheerlearder in HS, so that didn’t exactly translate to an active dating life.

  8. No, Jane, I doubt many of these would have made it upwards to your area. Though thinking of the odds of you seeing this kind reminds me of that movie…THE COWBOY WAY (???) The one where the two cowboys go to the big city to rescue a girl. 🙂

  9. I did know several of those guys growing up. It was fun to hang with them but I never dated them. Going mudding in their old pick ups was all the rave back then. Even getting stuck was fun. LOL I shudder at the thought now. What on earth was I thinking?

    And I loved that movie!! Didn’t Woody Harelson and Keifer Sutherland play the cowboys? 🙂

  10. I am too old for this! Cowboys haunt my peri-menopausal dreams! I wait with baited breath for the bi-weekly “Teasing Tidbits” blog — I am old enough to be their mother.

    Oh well, I guess it’s a case of “use it (my libido) or lose it.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

