• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Save, save, SAVE!

It finally feels like fall around here.  The temperature is perfect, the trees are losing their leaves and Christmas is right around the corner.

Did I just say Christmas?  Yikes!  That means I need to get busy.  I’m usually pretty good about buying gifts early.  I hate the crowds and all around business of the season.  No Black Friday for this girl.  I tried that once a few years back and I still get hives just thinking about it.  What a complete mess.  And is it really worth all the hassles, the long lines and near death experiences just to save a few bucks?

So many people I’ve talked to that venture out during this madness didn’t get what they went for anyway.  Now they may have saved money on other gifts, but I’m just wondering if those sale prices really went back up after Black Friday was over.

This year my husband and I treated ourselves to a new HD Television for our Christmas gift to each other.  We bought it last week.  The tag said, “Why wait till Black Friday to save when you can get it now for the same price?”  Hmm.  Their marketing ploy worked on us.  LOL  I’m happy.  We saved some money.  Got a new TV and didn’t have to stand in one single line.

How about you?  Do you like the crowds, think they are just part of the season?  Or are you like me and avoid them at all costs to your sanity?

Oh, and don’t forget that today is Cyber Monday!  This is the day where retailers provide exclusive sales and deals only redeemable at their online stores and websites.  Now this I can handle! LOL

18 Responses

  1. I haven’t tried Black Friday yet–don’t like crowds….

    Maybe someday! Congrats on the new TV!

  2. Hate, Hate, HATE the crowds! It’s too ugly and really brings out the beast in some people.
    Every year on Black Friday, we go to the “country” to visit with my hubby’s family. But if there is a super, duper freaky deal, I’ll get up at that ungodly hour and brave the hordes for it before heading out. Crazy, I know.

  3. Online shopping RULES. Gift wrapped, shipped, delivered. For the more personal touch, Gift Cards are the best invention since… well since Hi-Def TV….:)

  4. I am just like you, Melissa. I hate crowds. I stay far away from stores anytime after the first few days of Thanksgiving. Crowds and lines at the check outs are VERY irritating.

  5. I avoid them. Online shopping is the way to go. If I can’t find the present I’m looking for, I’ll just get a gift card.

  6. Yes, I know what you mean Jamie. And I always end up picking the line that takes the longest no matter how many people are in it. LOL Very frustrating!!!

  7. Thanks, Caroline! We are enjoying it. 🙂 Wishing you better luck with the Black Friday sales than I had if and when you do give it a try.

  8. Jenn, I can see you now! Braving the crowds for that one special gift!!! LOL Now going to the country sounds awesome. Hope you had a wonderful time! 🙂

  9. LOL, William. I have to agree. Gift cards and online shopping make my life a whole lot easier. 🙂

  10. It’s the thought that counts, right Jane. And who doesn’t love receiving those gift cards? If that person exists, I sure haven’t met them yet. LOL

  11. Me too. No black Friday for me. My hubs questioned me about it just last week because I LOVE to get a good deal. But, you know, it just doesn’t interest me. And I know why. I like to get the good deal that no one else does…like find the last one on a bottom shelf that’s marked clearance. It’s all about the hunt to me.

  12. Black Friday is too much for me. My daughters go — it’s established custom now. I’m just glad that I can roll over and sink back into sleep. I do like Christmas shopping when I’m in the mood for it, but I have to admit that the combination of bad weather and crabby crowds does dent the spirit. Now NICE crowds are an entirely different thing — and sometimes that does happen. You know — when you look up in desperation or delight and suddenly meet the eyes of a stranger in the middle of the same emotion and you grin at each other. Even if you never speak, that’s what I like about Christmas shopping.

  13. Oh, I agree Liz. The hunt is so much fun. Give me something to search for and I’m all over it. There is nothing like finding that price slashed item no one else noticed. LOL Gives me chills just thinking about it. 🙂

  14. Beppie, I don’t think I’ve ever come across a nice crowd. LOL But I have experienced this and your are so right. It truly is a great feeling. 🙂

  15. With the economy, I believe Black Friday has turned into Nightmare Friday. Seems like everyone is looking for that “great deal”. Last year, I went to Walmart at 4am for a TV. There weren’t more than 20 people, this year, there were over 200+ at 4am. Don’t people sleep? Anyway, Black Friday’s are no longer an option for me, no matter how good the deal is.

    To offset the cost, I’m asking my spouse to work a few hours of Overtime. 🙂

  16. I don’t do Black Friday. I think sometimes it brings out the competitive spirit in people. Plus with all the wall to wall bodies, the odds of getting sick skyrocket.

    I love Christmas but not the crowded shopping. I try to be finished every year by Thanksgiving. That way, I can sit back with hot chocolate and the lights of the Christmas tree and relax.

    But, boy, is it flying by this year!

  17. Terri, it does seem to be getting worse each year. And funny thing is I don’t believe the sales are getting better. So what’s the draw here? Beats the heck out of me. LOL

    I’m wondering how your spouse took your request. Did you have to duck more than once. 🙂

  18. Hey, Sonya! You know I never even thought about the germ factor. These days it’s really scary.

    I love the idea of sitting back and enjoying the season with hot chocolate in front of the tree. Now that’s my kinda holiday!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

