Have Some Turkey…Cake!

I built a Turkey shaped cake for Thanksgiving and I’ve promised pictures! Here they are:

So how did I do it? I started with the head. I first tried paper mache, but that didn’t quite give me the shape I wanted, so I went to cake instead. I baked a nine inch cake, froze it and carved out the head using nothing more than my hands, steak knife and a tiny little butter knife. I did this a couple weeks before the event and refroze it back to try and stiffen it up with hopefully a little freezer burn. I wasn’t sure how well it’d hold up.

He’s all shiny because of the crumb coating on him. the skewer rods were there to help secure him to the body. Now on to the body…

I did two rounds to set a base. I found this pan at Wal-Mart for doing basketball/baseball/soccer ball shaped cake. That’s what is cooling in the strainer and became my rounded top of the turkey.

I then assembled and then frosted (you’ll have to forgive the lack of pictures here. I was lost in frosting and forgot to pick up the camera. BTW–the eyeballs are black colored sugar cookies. So..up next…that turkey has got to have some tail feathers!

I made sugar cookies, tinted them brown and free handed the shape.

I whipped up some icing and used it to ‘glue’ sticks to the back. after that cooled (which like, whoa, forever) I iced the front. Sorry, was running close to my deadline and didn’t think of the camera. Bad Keri.

The next morning, the sun came in my windows and melted the icing, sticking half my tailfeathers to the table. Getting them up broke most of them, but I did manage to salvage a few feathers to shove in the rear of the turkey. I made corn out of sugar cookies and arranged that around the base of the cake. And tada! We have a cake.

I’m pretty pleased with it, even though I’d like to make an adjustment or two.

What crafts keep you busy?

6 Responses

  1. Very cute! and creative!

    Before I had kids and spent all my time running hither and thither, I would have tried something like that.

    Tonight I am hosting a party with frozen hos’deorves and dips bought at Sam’s. I picked up eggnog and margueritas. Basically, I made NOTHING.

    And you don’t even want to know what I paid for the cupcakes from the bakery. Needless to say, I will make sure people eat ALL of their cupcakes.

    So unlike me, but…..I just got my new ovens in last night 🙂

  2. This is a great looking cake! So jealous! I’m not creative at all.

  3. Liz Talley! you have new ovens and you BOUGHT cupcakes instead of using those new ovens????

  4. Thanks, Martha! I’m sure you have a creative bone in there somewhere. 🙂

  5. VERY creative and cute, Keri! If I were to try to make something like that, I would mess it up from the start!

  6. Oh, this is so cute, Keri!! 🙂 I’ve made birthday cakes for the kids but always use the molds for the shapes. My brain would never come up with the design on its own. LOL

    I’m pretty handy with a glue gun. I love putting things together and enjoy making flower arrangements and wreaths. Even made my daughter’s homecoming mum this year.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

