• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

This Wicked Gift by Courtney Milan

read to the end for details on how to win a free copy!

Lavinia rather fancied a man with long…vowels.

It was these same eight words I read on Courtney Milan’s website that made me say, (well, after chuckling, of course), I HAVE TO READ THAT STORY!

Now if you don’t love Lavinia enough with just that, I don’t know what to tell you…except that she’s just an absolute darling. The thing to really love about her is she could really and truly be me. Or you. Or your best friend. She works, she saves money for Christmas to please her father and all the while there’s a man that comes in her business that she is completely crushing on.

Mr. William Q. White is a hero unlike most others I’ve come across. What drew me to him was not so much his gentlemanly manners, but his somewhat lack of them! He had dreamed of two things in his life. One is a fortune he just learned he no longer has coming to him and the other is Lavinia. Opportunity is knocking on his door for Lavinia and he can’t resist not answering that call.

Lavinia’s misguided brother finds himself scammed and owing ten pounds. Only Lavinia and her family does not have ten pounds. It had taken her six months to save up two pounds for a Christmas to brighten her ailing father.

Mr. William Q. White though, now he has ten pounds. He has exactly that much and little else. After losing one dream of a fortune mere hours before, he cannot bear the thought of losing another dream. Especially when he knows how Lavinia will be planning to earn that money to pay the man who swindled her brother.  If she’ll be doing the deed, why not with him? As you can see, he is quite the character as he justifies himself well. He’s not overly arrogant in his thoughts, he is just sensible. Practical. 

And from there, the story only heats up hotter and hotter, but if you want to know more, you’ll have to read the book. ….and oh! What is this here? Why, it’s a copy of The Heart Of Christmas anthology!  Drop a comment telling me what you think of the story so far or recommend a favorite Christmas romance for a chance to win the book! I’ll announce a winner over the weekend.

Keri Ford

9 Responses

  1. I like a hero who is sensible. I’ve got to get this anthology. My favorite Christmas romance is Nutcracker Sweet” by Nancy Warren. It’s a novella in the Brava anthology Jingle Bell Rock.

  2. Jane, I loved him because he struck me as such a regular man thinker. She needs money. I have the amount she needs. If she’s going to get it that way…well, why not?

    I can see where some might be put off by his attitude, but he just tickled me.

  3. What a gorgeous cover! I’d pull that right off the shelf based on the cover alone! And the story sounds HAWT!!

    I love reading Christmas stories right now.

  4. Sounds like a great book! 🙂

  5. Yeah, I love the cover too. It’s beautiful. I’m really wanting that book and I don’t qualify to win. Boo hoo. But, hey, I can pick it up the next time I’m at the store.

    Sounds really good.

  6. I’ve been wanting to read this one..The cover is absolutely gorgeous!

  7. Sounds good, I’d like to be included!

  8. It is fantastic! I know I said I was going to post over the weekend, but my niece’s 4th birthday party came up on me! I’ll get to it this afternoon. (she hopes as putting up Grandma’s tree came up too!)

  9. So far I like this story. Now I just need to read the rest!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

