• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Come on New Year!

 

Going, going, gone!!  Well it’s almost gone.  I can’t believe how quick 2009 flew.  It seems like only yesterday I was going over my New Year’s resolution list of goals and promises.  Funny, I don’t even know where the heck that silly list is at this point and time. LOL

 So why do we make those crazy lists?  I don’t know about you, but I’m not sure I’ve ever really stuck to a single list I’ve ever made.  Now I’ve gotten things done and moved forward in my writing career because I actually set some goals, but not in the time frame I’d given myself.  Maybe putting down the goals where I could see them helped me keep track of the direction I wanted to go.  Let’s face it, the older I get the harder this little task is becoming.  I have good intentions of sticking to the plan, but something always weasels its way in and changes everything.  It’s that not so little thing called life, a husband, three kids and all that goes with it.  I think.  And if I have to be honest, a little bit of procrastination on my part as well.

 I’m not complaining about where my life has taken me so far.  I love my family and would be lost without them.  It would be way too easy having all the time in the world to write without distraction.  And oh so boring I might add.  I look at it as an added challenge.   I love a good challenge and boy do they step up to the plate on this one with homework, after school activities, dinner and a monster we like to call laundry.

 Will my failure to complete or even find last year’s list stop me from making a list this New Year.  Not a chance. 🙂  I’ve learned over the years being flexible is an awesome part of goal making.  Being too hard on myself only causes me to come to a complete stop.  So as long as I’m moving forward and keeping the stress to a minimum, I feel like I’m on the right track.  I’m looking forward to sitting down to write my new goals.  There are so many things I hope to accomplish next year.  I can’t wait to get started! 

My top three: 

  • 1. Get organized. 
  • 2.  Stop wasting time. 
  • 3.  Finish what I start.

What about you?  Do you make lists?  And if you do, how do they work for you?

14 Responses

  1. I love lists. I love the feeling of marking something off the list. But a New Year’s Resolution List is different. Doesn’t have the same affect. I wonder why.

    I will agree with …where in the heck did 2009 go? It’s hard for me to believe how quickly time flies. I remember when my mother said that time would move faster the older I get and man, does it!

    May 2010 bring you success.

  2. Thanks, Cyndi! You too! Funny how moms are always right. LOL

  3. I always feel like the New Year is a fresh start – that clean slate waiting for me to fill.

    I do make resolutions and since I’m on GIAM4, I make goals for the year. I started with this last year and it really kept me focused. I’ll do it again this year and hope I can maintain them for the year.

    Lists? meh. I make them but usually can’t find them when I need them 🙂

  4. So glad I’m not alone with making lists and then losing them, Liz! My husband just shakes his head. Maybe I’ll make me a special box to put them all in. Yeah, I’ll add that one to my list! LOL

    Wishing you all the Best with your goals for 2010! 🙂

  5. In theory I make goals, too — also being a somewhat more timeworn GIAMer. I’m going to have to go look them up.

    Puzzle. What’s the difference between goals and resolutions? Maybe that’s what I’ll blog about!

  6. Oh, Beppie! I like this puzzle. 🙂 My take on it: Goals = things you plan to accomplish. Resolutions = things you plan to quit doing. Like eating! LOL Can’t wait to read your post!

  7. I love making the list/goals at the beginning of the year. I try to make them things I can actual do, but once in a while I get a little crazy and add a few that really I have no control over. You know, like receive the call. 🙂

    The best part is at the end of the year when I think back over the past 12 months wondering if I really did anything. That’s when I look at the list and realize that while I might not have made them all, I didn’t do to bad.

    Happy New Years everyone. I’ve missed you guys more than you know. 😀

  8. I think I will try to make this year’s goals be for the things I can actually “do” rather than the things I think “might” happen. Rather than believing I might get another book published, I think I might set my goals for losing weight, finishing my book, getting it turned in to my editor and agent, and knowing that I will be okay regardless of what happens. Yes, I believe those will be my resolutions for the new year. It’s no use in having expectations. 🙂

  9. Great to hear from you, Vicki! Missed you too! 🙂

    It really is a great feeling to look back and see what you’ve accomplished. Every little move forward counts!

    Wishing you a Great New Year!

  10. Jamie, sounds like you’ve got some great resolutions lined up. Wishing you the best in all you do! 🙂 This is no easy path we’ve chosen is it. LOL Hang in there and don’t be too hard on yourself. That’s one of my biggest resolutions for next year.

  11. I don’t do resolutions, but I do make To DO Lists.

    I do like the sound of your resolutions though! Nice and flexible!

  12. I’m too lazy to make New Year’s Resolutions. Which means it should be simple, ‘cuz I could vow not to be so dang lazy in 2010. But that would be work.

  13. Keri, isn’t it great that we get to do what works best for us. 🙂 Individuality makes the world go around in my opinion. Wishing you all the best for a great productive year!!

  14. LOL, KariLynn! I know exactly what you mean! 😉

Show us some love and leave a comment!

