• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Reflections

Yep, it’s that time of year again and since I’ve been pretty much MIA it seemed like the right topic for me. Time to reflect on 2009 and the decade we’re leaving behind as we embark on a new one.

I don’t know about you, but 09 was a crazy year all the way around. With the crash of the economy we learned what really counts in our lives, what we could live with and without. As writers (aspiring or published), we learned that we can still become published or sell that next book, it just might be a little bit harder. Writing the best book we can became even more important.

When looking back at my goals for last year (you knew I would get the ‘goal’ word in here), I realized I didn’t do too badly. I didn’t do all that great either. I didn’t write as much as I should have and thus my goals were not completed.

Sure, I can blame it on the day job. This past year has been one of the busiest we’ve had and that’s saying something since it’s a 24/7 TV retail show. And I could blame it on the house searching Science Guy and I did. That took tons of time, both with the realtor and on our own. Maybe I could say it was finally finding and buying our home back in June, but really, there were still six months of the 09 year left. Yes, it took time moving and settling into a new home, one that was ours to do with as we please (Home Depot knows us well).

Then there was Science Guy’s health issues resulting in a four-day hospital stay and many doctor appointments which I needed to take off work to go with him. Thankfully, he is doing so much better now.

Last, but certainly not least, has been being the president of my local chapter. I’ve been on the board in the capacity of secretary and vice president, but the role of presidency takes a little more time. At least for me it does because I want to make sure everything is the best it can be for our chapter.

Don’t think that all of the above is a whining stage or a leave a ‘bless your heart’ in the comments. It’s not. We’ve all had our share of life turned upside down this past year.

Here’s what I’ve learned from my reflections. Life is hard, it gets in the way and it doesn’t slow down for you just because you want it to. When the race picks up speed, you have a choice to accelerate and keep in that top five position (of course, NASCAR is always in here somewhere) or take a pit stop or two and fall back in your positioning.

The biggest thing I do know is that although I took a few pit stops I didn’t head for the garage. Sure, I may have been in the front of my race and ended somewhere towards the middle of the race, but I KEPT ON RACING. I crossed the finish line even if it wasn’t where I wanted to be when I crossed it.

So long post short, it wasn’t the most stellar of years, but it wasn’t all that bad either. I learned a lot about myself, and what I need to do in order to make 2010 all that it can be and more.

My first priority in 2010? Write.

How about you? Have you reflected on the 2009? Did it meet your expectations?
Here’s looking towards a new year with new goals and seeing our heart’s desires come true.

Xoxoxox,

Vicki

10 Responses

  1. 2009 wasn’t bad but for some reason, it doesn’t stand out as one of my better years. Nothing bad in particular happened. I was just glad to wipe the slate clean for 2010.

    Being president of your local chapter is only a busy job IF YOU DO IT RIGHT! I’ve been in chapters with questionable presidents…ones who bragged it wasn’t that much work. Having been a president who killed herself to do it right, I just nodded my head and walked away!

    I haven’t put my goals in writing yet. I need to do that.

  2. I totally get what you mean on the president job. There is always something that needs to be done. Mine isn’t a small chapter by any means. We have about 130 members with between 60 – 70 people at the meetings each month. That’s not counting making sure you’re on the loop responding to people and just the general behind the scene’s stuff. But I do love it. 🙂

    I’m in the process of writing my goals now. I’m really thinking about them this year and not just putting down what I think is right.

  3. Like Cyndi said, i don’t remember much that stood out as incredible. thinks, thinks, thinks

    It was just another year. I’m not a big shopper and I’ve always had us on a budget. I don’t think I bought the number of books this past year as I have before.

    Have fun writing those goals. I’ll skip so next year at this time, I won’t see failures, just a lot of, whoa, lookie what I did!

  4. You are so right, Vicki. Life is hard and sure does get in the way sometimes. Great job staying in the race. I know at one point last year I was thinking maybe I should just pull out. Thank goodness I realized what a terrible mistake it would have been. 🙂 Wishing you the Best of luck in 2010!

  5. Late to the dance as usual.

    2009 was a good year for me. I mean, hello, I quit my job, finaled in the Golden Heart, and sold my book. I’m thinking it was good.

    BUT (always that, isn’t there?) how can 2010 top it? That’s what’s on my mind most often these days. What goals do I set for myself because now I can’t sit on my laurels. So I’ve set down a few goals, but it boils down to moving forward. Always moving forward. I’ll finish the race and hope I place (do they place in NASCAR? – I’ve never watched it).

  6. Keri – I’ve bought less books this year as well. Not that I don’t still have a towering TBR pile, but I’ve been careful on what I’ve bought.

    I have to have goals. I think it’s my mother’s fault. LOL. No, really for me they become a road map, but one I’m willing to change as the course does.

  7. Melissa – I hear you on getting out the race. The problem is we are writers. It’s what we do and even when things are tough and we can’t seem to get the words out they’re still swirling around in our heads.

    I’m so glad you didn’t quit. We’d have brought you back, but I’m glad you stayed.

  8. Liz/Amy – You’ve had a stellar year! I’m so proud and excited for you!!! 2010 will be just as wonderful. I just know it.

  9. Goals and plans are great…as long as they’re the rights ones. Every plan and goal I had at the beginning of 2009 was business related. I had a ms idling at my agent’s office and my only new project was a follow up to that book. No one was very excited about either one.

    A year later, my work plans have done a one-eighty and I have a completely unrelated book done, polished and out on submission.

    Yes, I am pleased with what I accomplished in 2009, even if I didn’t meet a single one of those lofty goals I set this time last year.

  10. Keri – Sometimes I think it’s setting the goals that helps us to accomplish things even if it’s not the actual goal we started out with.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

