• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Cold Enough?

Just when I thought it couldn’t get any colder here in my part of Texas, a cold artic front decided to let me know how wrong I was.  I will never again complain about it being too cold.  I believe Saturday got down to 19 degrees.  My heater has been running none stop for the past week and I still can’t get warm.  Even with two space heaters pumping out extra heat right at my feet.  My fingers and toes seem to suffer the most.  You have no idea how brutal typing this blog post has been.  I type a few sentences and then stop to warm my fingers and get the circulation moving again.  I tried wearing gloves, but it doesn’t work.  The keys are too close together and I end up with stuff I can’t even read. LOL

 But I’m not the one who’s had it rough these past few days.  Poor hubby has gotten the bad end of the stick several times this weekend.  Wrap your pipes!  That is what the news has been saying everyday.  Most of our neighbors did just that.  Well at least they wrapped the faucets.  They failed to consider their water sprinkler system though. 

9:00 Saturday morning I hear a weird noise outside our bathroom window.  It didn’t sound like water running, but I could hear water dripping.  I immediately dropped what I was doing and headed outside afraid of what I’d find.  It appeared that our next door neighbor had a new water feature and it was visible over the 6 foot privacy fence we share.  Yeap.  Their pipe burst and it was gushing upward into the air like one of those pretty fountains you see in the park.  But it wasn’t all that pretty with all the mud and gallons of water running down the sidewalk and into the street. 

Hubby got completely soaked trying to turn it off.  Oh that water was cold.  I don’t know this from first hand experience, but the look on his face spoke a gazillion words.  Before the day ended he had to do the same thing for three other neighbors.  The darn things were popping like fire crackers.  I guess the water in the pipes froze and cracked the tubbing and then when the sun came out and started warming things up a bit, well all heck broke loose.   

So if you have a sprinkler system beware. 

 Live and learn.  That’s what we do around here with the crazy weather.  Mother Nature makes sure we never have a dull moment and never have a chance to figure her out.  I just wish she’d send some of that fluffy white stuff along with the freezing temperatures.  That seems only fair don’t you think?

14 Responses

  1. We have a sprinkler system but it’s been turned off for months. With all the rain we had this fall, we didn’t have to run it. Good thing because there was likely no water in the pipes.

    Sorry for your hubs. He must be like neighbor of the year or something.

    Stay warm – temps to be up to 50s today. Yay!

  2. We had two water lines break in the downtown area this morning. Living in Florida – the middle of Florida near the water – this isn’t supposed to happen.

    Hopefully you hubby (who is wonderful to help everyone), won’t get sick from being out in the cold and wet.

    And totally agree with you. If it’s going to be this blasted cold we should at least get some snow.

  3. freezing water pipes is one the things my husband worries about if/when we travel during the winter. All the water is turned off at the street but you never know if a pipe broke in the wall until the water is turned on!

    I’ve found that as I’ve gotten older, I don’t handle cold like I use to. I don’t like it..AT ALL.

  4. It’s freezing here, but we live in an apartment building so the super is there to make sure the pipes are fine.

  5. It’s almost 60 here today, Amy! Sun is shining. All is good again. LOL Hope you had great weather too!

  6. Hubby is one tough cookie, Vicki! Thank goodness. LOL Now if it had been me, I’d be sick for sure! Hope it warmed up down there for you today. 🙂

  7. Cyndi, I’m with you on this cold stuff. Nope. Don’t like it. Unless I’m skiing peacefully down a slope of fresh powder that is. 🙂

  8. Hope you get some warm weather too, Jane. 🙂 Sometimes, like during hunting season for example, I wish we had a good super around here to take care of all those little things. 🙂

  9. Brrr. So stinking cold and no snow just makes it no fun. My husband has to work outside in it everyday. I don’t know how he does it. It’s all I can do to get out of bed in the mornings before the kid. I’m afraid if I turn up the heat, that will wake him up!

  10. I think in central AR it got down in the single digits 2 nights this past weekend. We brought puppy in and put him in a kennel in the garage w/a heater because it was so cold at night.

    It was quite a bit warmer today but my mom found out (after she went to work) that a pipe under her bedroom busted over night. My cousin is a plumber and going to look at it for her at least.

  11. It is very cold here too, Melissa! Everyone is getting sick. I had a can of soda in my car, and the thing busted! The liquid turned to ice! Can you believe it! I don’t think anything like that has ever happened down here in LA in my lifetime!

  12. My neighbor’s sprinkler pipes broke to. I called him at his restraurant as no one was at his home. It was 15 foot gizer, I should have taken a picture.

    As for the freezing weather, my kids are somewhat disappointed they can no longer freeze cups of water over night and break ice in our fountain. That’s the prespective of kids, they seems to find fun out of a poor situation. Hmm, we can learn from that.

  13. That’s wild about the soda, Jamie. I’d never have thought it would do that in a car. Now I have forgotten one in the freezer before and had quite a mess. LOL Thanks for the warning!

  14. What a great picture it would have been, Terri! Next time you’ll know just what to do. LOL As for the kids viewpoint, I agree we adults can learn alot from them. Life would be so much sweeter during those crazy times if we could somehow find the good in it. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

