The Perfect Day?

 

2010.  A new and exciting year where I thought I’d have time to catch my breath, get things in order and really focus on my writing. I’ve got my list of goals. Organized the office and desk. Put the family on notice that I’m serious and will finish my edits by March or else.   But boy was I wrong on the catching my breath and focus part.

Here it is already Jan. 25 and I have no idea where all my time has disappeared to. The unusually cold weather here in Texas stopped me in my tracks, that’s for sure. No going outside unless it was absolutely necessary, like to pick up the kids from school or a quick trip to the grocery store when everyone started complaining about how there was nothing to eat. Boy, I’ll be glad when my oldest daughter can drive. Well sorta glad.

This past week did warm up a little, so I’ve started feeling like my old self again. (Did I just say old?) I don’t know who traded bodies with me, but I sure would like the young energetic one back I had in my twenties. Aches and pains, sore joints and being cold all the time is for the stinking birds for sure.  🙂

Here I go again, off the blasted track. Focus, dang it, focus.

So, I was wondering during all my time locked up in the house, when I could have or should have been writing, what I would do with one entire day that I “had” absolutely nothing planned. No kids to pick up from school. No breakfast, lunch or dinner to fix. No dog, cat, or hamster to clean up after. And definitely no laundry to take care of.

I decided I would curl up under a nice warm blanket with a hot beverage close by and read until I could read no more.  My “to read” pile is almost to the ceiling.  Then if it was warm enough, I’d find a nice quite empty park to walk through, maybe sit and just enjoy the sights and sounds of nature. I know finding an empty quiet park is a task all by itself, but I know it’s out there!  It has to be out there! LOL  With all that’s going on in my life, I might be a wee bit on the verge of stressed.

Me? Stressed? Are you kidding? I’m the queen of denial on this issue and usually hide the side effects pretty well. You’d be surprised how easy it is to just blame it on my husband’s snoring and keeping me up at night. Sleep depravation is a form of torture, right? But I’m being honest with myself today. I survived Thanksgiving and managed to complete NaNoWriMo, made it through the Christmas and New Year holiday chaos as well as my son breaking his arm the second week back to school. Not to mention my two daughter’s and their colorguard and drama tournaments worked in there somewhere and somehow. Yep, it’s all trying to creep up on me at once. Time to find a way to relax and recharge. What I’m craving is some quality quiet time here. Now all I have to do is find a way too make it happen and stay sane until then.  🙂

If you had an entire day to spend any way you wanted, with absolutely no obligations or responsibility, how would you spend the perfect day?

13 Responses

  1. Perfect day?

    It would start with my waking up to a butler standing right next to my bed with a tray – I’ll take sausage, cheese omelet and two Krispy Kreme donuts (None of which will have any calories.)

    Then I’d get up and have a delicious bath with my coffee mug right on the corner of the tub.

    I won’t have to fix my hair because it will already look fabulous. And no makeup needed because my complexion looks great. I pull on my jeans and they are too big, so I have to grab that pair that I haven’t been able to fit into for five years.

    Then I go shopping, and everything I want is in my size and is on sale. I meet friends for lunch. We laugh and my conversation is witty and sparkling. Then I go to the bookstore, have a cafe au lait and a brownie ( no calories again). Then I pick up the kids and take them to a park – the weather is perfect and they don’t squabble even once.

    I go home to a clean house, dinner on the table with a good bottle of wine. A husband who is refreshed and relaxed. We eat, watch American Idol and make fun of the singers. Then we put the kids to bed. I’ll close the door here because I look totally amazing in that new nightie I got on sale, and he’s ready to the treat me like the goddess I am. 🙂

    Sound good?

  2. Wow! This sounds wonderful!! I see you’ve been thinking long and hard on this one. LOL The perfect day indeed! 🙂

  3. If I had a day with no obligations, I would curl up on the couch with a big glass of tea beside me and a stack of books. Or a relaxing bubble bath with candles sitting everywhere and a book in my hand.

    I don’t get much time to myself either so anytime I can steal to read is a good thing. Between cooking dinner for the family and helping take care of my 11 mo old granddaughter, cleaning the house, my MBA classes, sleep oh and that other thing work my days are filled.

  4. What Amy said. 😉

  5. a perfect day for me would be rather simple. I’d spend it alone by a pool somewhere. That is all. I could even go for a hotel pool, so long as I didn’t know the other patrons and they didn’t try and talk to me. Don’t stick me in the shade either. I want the head-on sun.

    A book would be great. or some paper to jot notes on.

  6. Somewhere by the water with the sun warm (not to hot, but just right), a perfect cup of coffee for the morning ours and a glass of iced tea w/lemon that would never run out for the afternoon hours.

    Books from my TBR pile and of course my netbook in case all the gentle breeze and soft sounds of the water gently crashing on the shore made me inspired to write instead of read. Yep. That would be my day. 🙂

  7. What Amy said … (especially the calorie thing). Plus to have people around me to agree and do everything I said. Yep, that would be great. Oh yeah that would include my pets.

  8. Now that does sound relaxing, Heather! I can’t even remember what a bubble bath feels like it’s been so long. LOL

  9. I’m with you, Jenn! Amy really has the everything covered. I’ve read over her perfect day several times so I can keep the mental picture going in my head! 🙂

  10. Keri and Vicki, you both nailed it with the WARM part. I’m so ready for spring and sunshine. We are in for a few more days of cold weather I’m told and I’m really not happy about it! Why, oh why? I live in the South for a reason! LOL

  11. Everyone agreeing with everything I said. Hmmm. Now that would be something different for a change. I like it, Terri! 🙂

  12. Maybe with the man of my dreams on a deserted island would be awesome! LOL!

  13. Love it Jamie! I’d just take the deserted island. 🙂 The man of my dreams can really get on my nerves at times like this. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

