Deliver Us From Evil

Today I am thrilled to welcome a good friend to the blog. I met Robin Caroll in 2006 when I was just starting out on this insane writing trip. Since I moved to Lake Hamilton I don’t see to get Robin as much as I used to, but we’ve stayed in touch. Her success has been thrilling for me to watch. Yesterday I talked about a shuttle launch. That’s kind of what Robin’s career looks like. Straight through the roof.

Help me welcome Robin to our home on the web.

ROBIN: Hey, Cyndi! Thanks for allowing me to drop in and visit with you. Love the title of the blog…Everyone DOES need a little romance! LOL

I know lots of secrets about Robin, but she threatened me, so I guess I’d better let her tell you about herself.

ROBIN: Well, I’m a native Louisianan (Geaux Saints! WOOHOO) but have lived in Arkansas for almost 12 years. Wow, how’d THAT happen? LOL My husband of over 20 years (yep, he’s a saint) and I have three beautiful daughters–19, 10, 7.

Gosh Robin, time flies. I did not realize your oldest was now 19. Man…that is unbelievable.

How long have you been writing?

ROBIN: I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember…in journals, short stories…poems.

Are you agented? Did you get your agent before or after you sold? Do you think having an agent helped you sell?

ROBIN: I am agented. Actually, I’m on my 2nd agent. I think having a good agent DEFINITELY can help you sell.

You write in the genre Inspirational Romantic Suspense. What does that mean? How is it different from the traditional Romance Suspense most of us are probably familiar with?

ROBIN: In the inspy genre, the faith thread is vital to the story. It’s not just prayers thrown in. The spiritual arc is another ball to keep up in the air while writing, just like the suspense thread, the romance thread.

How many books do you have out? Give us a list please.

ROBIN: Ok, here goes: Bayou Justice, Bayou Corruption, Bayou Judgment, Bayou Paradox, Bayou Betrayal, Blackmail, Framed, Dead Air, Deliver Us From Evil, Fear No Evil (releasing in August), and In The Shadow of Evil (tenative title, releasing Feb 2011)

Your new book is DELIVER US FROM EVIL. Tell us a little about the plot.

ROBIN:  Brannon Callahan, a search-and-rescue helicopter pilot working for the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, is as beautiful and tough as the terrain surrounding her. When a blizzard crashes the small helicopter carrying U.S. Marshall Roark Holland, she must save him and the donor heart he is transporting to a comatose government witness whose mind holds a crucial piece of information. Without it, the largest child trafficking ring in history—closer than Brannon or Roark can imagine—will slip further into darkness somewhere along the Appalachian Trail.

Fascinating. How did you come up with the subject?

ROBIN: I watched a television special on child trafficking with my husband. As a mother of three daughters, I couldn’t stop the ache in my heart long after the show was over. I couldn’t get the image of these poor girls’ faces out of my mind. The horrors these children endure in their own poverty-stricken country is horrible enough, but to be brought to America and be further exploited and abused is appalling. When my outrage settled deep inside me, I knew I had to write a story about this most serious issue.

Let’s end the interview with a few fun facts about Robin Caroll. Tell me something I don’t know about you (preferably something I can blackmail you with later LOL)

ROBIN: Now, now…would I willingly do that? Tell you what, I’ll tell you a secret if you’ll take me to Starbucks. LOL For the rest of you…I’m claustrophobic, I suffer from motion sickness horribly, and I’m a Dr. Pepper addict. How’s that?

Thanks for visiting us today. Good luck with DELIVER US FROM EVIL.

Thanks, I’ve had a lot of fun!

Robin will pick one lucky commenter for a book from her backlist.

Thanks for dropping by.

8 Responses

  1. Your read sounds very suspenseful, my kind of read. I’m also a big fan of Dr. Pepper! Enjoyed the interview.

  2. Hi, Robin! Long time no see. Welcome to the blog and your book sounds great.

  3. sigh. That’s me up there, silly me who keeps forgetting to see if she’s signed in!

  4. Your book sounds awesome and suspenseful, Robin!

  5. Hi Robin,

    What a great interview. Do you still live in AR? I also live in AR. I’m in the LR area. I’m not a writer like the rest of them here, I am a reader and now a reviewer for the blog.

    I will have to check out your series.

  6. Another new to me author!! Boy does the book sound great. I’m going to have to check it out (if I’m not lucky enough to win it). Not a fan of Dr. Pepper ,but I’m a little bit claustrophobic! It’s snowing some here in my part of Miss!!

  7. Took me a while to get here. Snow in Louisiana? Yikes!

    You sound like a hoot, Robin, and from one Louisiana girl to another – Who Dat?

    I’ve not read much in the inspirational market. I’ve read some of chaptermates, Lenora Worth, Renee Ryan, and Winnie Griggs. Outside of them, I adore Francine Rivers. But I’ve definitely never read any suspense mixing with Inspirational. I’ll keep my eye out for your books.

    Thanks for joining us!

  8. Welcome, Robin! Definately adding this book to my list!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

