Living in the Past

 

I don’t know about you, but all these post on Facebook where you put up an old picture of yourself back in high school or on your wedding day has been both fun but a bit depressing  for me as well. LOL

It’s amusing to reminisce about the good times way back when and see those familiar faces staring back at you.  The crazy teachers, the clubs, the football games, the pep rallies, the cruising back and forth along the drag between the Sonic and whatever the heck that road was called that I seem to have trouble remembering for some reason.  But then you start really thinking and that’s what gets me down.  I should have done this differently.  I shouldn’t have made that mistake.  What the heck was I thinking dating that loser! 🙂

It’s really hard now that I have kids.  They grow so darn fast and I find it difficult to look back at their photo albums without tearing up.  I’ve decided it’s best to let the past alone and focus on today and what might be in store for tomorrow.  I like the idea of somewhat being in control and having the opportunity to change a few things.  Yep, use the past to learn from my mistakes, smile at the good and then add all those emotions to my writing to bring life to my characters.  That works for me.

Unbelievably, my oldest daughter turned 15 on Valentine’s Day.  We had the party and the sleepover.  Enough said.  Moving on now.  LOL

Do you let old memories get you down?  Any new ones you want to share from Valentine’s Day?  I’m all ears for something romantic right about now.  🙂

14 Responses

  1. Sometimes they get me down. But sometimes it’s just fun remembering how silly and naive we once were. My twenty year reunion is coming up. When I think about it, I’m like “that was a long time ago”, but other times, it just seems like only yesterday.

    I don’t have a lot of regrets about high school. It was a pretty good time for me. I had some great friends, lived in a great town, and dated my husband (so no bad mistakes with boys). So mostly, my memories are good.

  2. True, there are regretful choices and memories but I focus on the good times and disgard the others. Kuma Matata. As for Valentine’s Day memories? A few years back, I bought my spouse 2 sets of flowers, one from me and the other was an unanimous admirer. I was curious how long it would take to be informed of the “admirer”. Have a great Presidents Day.

  3. Sorry. I have no romantic Valentine story for you from this year. Husband had some awful stomach bug on Saturday and then by that night I was down with a pouding headache like I’ve never had before. we were both prettty much exhausted on Valentines.

    High School wasn’t bad for me, but I’m glad it’s over! Husband’s 10year is this summer, so that should be interesting. speaking of that–ouch! I have more weight to get off and being sick threw a HUGE gaping hole in my workout and diet plan.

  4. I try not to dwell on the past, but there are many occasions where the memories creep in and I left to wonder what might have been.

  5. Sounds like alot of great memories, Liz! Hope you have a wonderful reunion. At this point, I don’t even remember what number I’m on. LOL

  6. Very sneaky, Terri! I’m dying to know how that turned out. LOL

  7. So sorry to hear you guys were sick, Keri! Hope you are both feeling much better today. 🙂

  8. Jane, I’m right there with ya. I guess a little wondering is good. It helps me remember that I have a lot to be thankful for. 🙂

  9. My Valentines Day was WONDERFUL Melissa! I spent it with my family and my brother! My brother and I played a few phone pranks on Garg, my 99-year old uncle. We had a blast! I made my parents a chocolate cherry cheesecake, gave my grandparents a strawberry cake, and gave Garg and Papaw some freshly baked cookies!

  10. Wow – the past. I love to reminisce about it. And as you well know, I’ve got real doozies for stories.
    But, in truth, yeah, sometimes they bring me down, too. I think we all have mistakes and regrets.
    Mainly that my youth is slipping away. LOL!

  11. Had a great valentine’s day. Went to dinner on Sat with friends and just enjoyed being together. Hubby had to work Sun. My fav Valentine’s was 2 years ago. He ordered me flowers from Pro Flowers and didn’t know that they came as a do it yourself model kit. The order was also wrong so I ended up with 2 orders of flowers that year.

  12. Oh, Jamie! Spending time with family is what I enjoy the most! Love all those wonderful sweets!!! 🙂 You’ve made me very hungry! LOL

  13. You are only as old as you feel, right Jenn! Wait, I feel alot older than I am right now. Don’t like that at all. LOL This cold weather makes my bones hurt!

  14. LOL Heather! I’ve never heard of a do it yourself kit for flowers. Your poor hubby! But it’s the thought that counts, right? 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

