Pitches

 

And it’s one, two, three strikes you’re out.  At least as far as baseball goes. LOL How many strikes do we get in the writing ballpark?  I really need to know because I suck when it comes to trying to tell someone else what my story is about.  Now take that, add the fact I have to squeeze out the essence of my story, tie it up in about three or four sentences and you’ve got me pulling my hair out and wanting to run for a dark corner to wallow in my pathetic attempts.  Can you tell how much I hate pitching?

This week is going to be a bit stressful for me.  I pulled some strings, sweet talked my husband and managed to get everything in line so that I can attend the Nola Stars Conference in Shreveport, Louisiana.  Look out Keri, Amy, and Jamie here I come.  🙂 I’m excited that I will finally get to meet a few more of my great blogging buddies.  I feel like we’ve known each other for along time already, but a face to face chat is going to be so cool.   And they have some really great workshops scheduled too.  I can’t wait!

It’s the idea of having an elevator pitch, or any kind of pitch for that matter, ready in time that’s got me going in circles.  I know my story backward and forward, upside down and sideways.  I love my characters and their struggles.  But getting all that to come out into intelligent conversation will be my biggest hurdle.  Shoot, I still get tongue tied trying to brainstorm with my writing friends.  I know it takes practice and time to perfect this.  Maybe attending smaller conferences will be the key for me.  Fingers crossed! 🙂

So how do you say all you need to in such few words?  How do you keep your cool when your insides feel like someone ignited a batch of firecrackers in your gut?  How do you gain courage to do what terrifies you the most?

14 Responses

  1. I suck at pitching but…

    Write it down. Say it a million times to a mirror. Say it 2 million times to your friends.

    Easiest pitch is…

    _____ wants _____ but can’t because _______.

    Good luck. Have fun this weekend. Wish I could be there.

  2. I want to go to NOLA! It’s not fair!
    Have fun, Missy. Give Amy a big hug for me!
    And good luck!!!!

    Jenn!

  3. Now that sounds so easy, Cyndi!! Thank you so much! That one little sentence has helped me more than you’ll ever know! 🙂 Wish you could be there too!!! Looks like I’ll be talking in !!! points all week! LOL

  4. Thanks, Jenn!! Will do! I so wish you were going, girl!!! I need a partner in crime!!! LOL

  5. What?! I don’t get you into enough trouble here at home? LOL!

  6. I am living proof that a pitch doesn’t need to be perfect as long as it is sincere, and you’ve got a good story to tell. Agents and editors expect you to be nervous and tongue-tied and stumble over your words. They know exactly how hard it is to condense months of creative energy into a few sentences.

    I can only give you one tip: focus on the story, and what makes it special. Simple, right?

    Good Luck.

  7. I’m terrible at talking about my wip off the top of my head. All I know is the less I say, the better I sound, ha ha! (That might be true of more than pitches, too!) What I meant–oh my–is the better IT sounds!

    Have a wonderful time at the conference! I’ve heard GREAT things about it!

  8. I always think about the editor and agent as a person. I mean, they are a person, but a person who is worried if her deodorant is working or if she should have had that piece of pie or if she paid the phone bill. They are just people, like me and you. And though we’re nervous and may trip over our words, they (usually) want to hear your pitch and want to like it.

    Why wouldn’t they? They are trying to make a buck off of writers. We’ve got to be their favorite people!

  9. Oh, and I wish you were coming too, Jenn.

    Hey, I’d hold that baby while you pitched!

  10. Oh I’m so glad you’re coming, Melissa! I can’t wait to see you in person for the first time! The NOLA conference is awesome, and I know you’ll love it!

  11. Karilynn, I’ve got the nervous thing down so I’m all good there. LOL Thanks for the tips! Focus, keep it simple and sincere. Got it!!

  12. Hey, Nancy!! You always know your story so well and make me want to read more so I’d say you’re doing a great job! 🙂 I’ll be thinking about you and hoping no alarms go off! LOL

  13. Thanks, Liz! Great advice. 🙂 And Jenn’s baby is so precious. She’s so sweet and such a good baby you want to just cuddle and hold her all day. We have trouble sharing and taking turns with her when we all get together. LOL

  14. Yea, Jamie! Me too!! Blogging together has been fun, but meeting in person will make it even better. 🙂 I can’t wait!!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

