Save a Husband, Read a Book

Okay, I’m not one to gripe. Okay, I am, but..

Men drive me crazy sometimes. And not in a good way.

Take my husband. Now, there is lots to love about the man. He’s good-looking, smart, and can totally handle himself. BUT, he aggravates the fire out of me when we get ready to go on vacation. If you don’t know by now, we are going to Disney World on Friday. I’ve worked for six months on this vacation, booking the dining, reserving the hotel, researching air fare and comparing rates. Well, needless to say, we are not flying because I actually like having two kidneys and not sure how organs on the black market are selling. But three days ago, my husband decided he can get a better price and we’ll just fly.

Really?

No. Guess he had to see it for himself. πŸ™‚

Now I’m washing clothes, packing, getting the pets sitted, etc. and this morning he gives me a list. Yes, you didn’t read wrong. A list. Here’s what it looks like:

pick up his medicine at Walgreens

get the license plate put on car

get the oil changed on car (we bought the car two weeks ago)

get an extra set of headphones

secure the camp

Oh, and he just called to tell me the garbage didn’t get down to the road. Could I do that, too? Sure. I don’t have anything better to do. Ugh. Men.

Sometimes I wonder if he married me for an extra set of hands or something. He hands this stuff off to me like I’m an employee. Yessir, Mr. Husband. It’s no wonder we gals love to escape inΒ  a romance book when we can wrap our wrinkly hands (from washing dishes) around at book. I want to read about men who sweep me off my feet, not demand I put my hiking boots on because I’m going to be a little busy for the next century. I want a man to whisper sweet nothings in my ear, not the instructions for how to charge the video camera. I want moonlight and roses, not bank deposit books and estimated tax payments.

All I can say is “Thank God for Romance Writers!” Maybe I’ll just escape into my new Victoria Dahl book before I go match up those socks and hunt for the old headphones for the car DVD player. Yeah. That sounds nice, huh?

What about you? Have anything that’s been driving you to escape into a book?

11 Responses

  1. That’s a man for you. If I want something done I have to do it myself – rather if he needs something done I have to do it or it won’t get done.

    Just went and picked up his new license plate last week since tags expired 2/28/10 (had to get mine too though).

    I am the one that schedules appointments, meetings, etc. Calls when something goes wrong. Hubs “I can’t call, you sit at a desk all day, you can take care of it”. He thinks because I work for the state, I don’t do anything all day.

    On the positive, he is a computer geek and when he is home in the evening, he is on his computer and I get to read my books. He doesn’t bother me about them. He calls them my “Smut” or “Vampire Smut” but doesn’t say anything when I bring new books home.

    gotta love him for that.

  2. LOL!!! I don’t know how many times I have felt this way over the 19 years we’ve been married. I often wonder how my hubby manages to get through a single day of work without my help. πŸ™‚

  3. all rightie, so I’ll just come out with it. I’m the one in the family adding things to his lists….ducks and runs for cover….

  4. Save me some room Keri because I pretty much like that too. Except when it comes to vacation, then I’m the one to make sure everything is done and really it’s because I don’t want him to do it and forget something. πŸ™‚

  5. The usual hassles at work and tax season are driving me to escape into a book.

  6. Well, Heather and Melissa –

    I’m glad someone feels my pain. I guess Vicki and Keri are the root of the pain. LOL. Not really. I’m pretty sure that neither of them are divas.

    And, Jane, ouch! Tax season this year was not pretty at the Talley household. Hubbie called the accountant three times to see if he was sure we owed that much. I skipped a book and went straight for the liquor. Yeah. We may have to sell that kidney yet. My liver may not be worth much πŸ™‚

  7. I think it’s a man thing gene!! I had to take off work Monday and go with him to pick up some stuff he needed for his truck! I’ve told him in the past, that if I died, he’d have to get married to have someone take care of all the business!! Liz, I have to pretty much do all the stuff you listed, of course, I only work 27 hours so everyone (he) think it’s no big deal!! That makes me escape in a book!!

  8. What drives me to throw myself off a…I mean into a good book? They are called co-workers. Though I believe in some parts of the world the term may be zombie demons from hell.

  9. On the man front, I can’t complain much. When it comes to leaving for anywhere, be it two week vacation or an afternoon trip to town, we have a running competition to out procrastinate each other on the whole getting ready thing.

  10. Girlfriend, I know what you mean. I have found that a man anything close to a husband as being nothing but a “stressor” in a woman’s life. LOL This may not be true of all men, but some of them have a lot of issues. Now, I’m dating a pretty “normal” one right now…so far. LOL

    Maybe reading a good book or a night out with the girls before you leave would be great.

  11. Karilynn – you crack me up. Demon zombies! LOL

    Martha – I raise a glass to you. My day feels like that too. Got up at 5:50 this morning and he asks, “Why you up so early?” Why not. I’ve got so much to do, there aren’t hours enough. Think that cat litter is going to change itself?

    Jamie – don’t worry. One day you’ll find the one that’s worth sticking with despite all the stress, aggravation and grief they bring you. Mine bugs the hell out of me sometimes, but then again, I’ve kept him since we were 13 years old. He’s still got some magic left in him.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

