• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

First Romance

Yay Bridgemama! you won the $10 gift card to Amazon! drop me an email keriford @ hotmail .com with the email you want it sent to and I’ll get that out! congrats and stay tuned for more ways to win this month!

As part of my Birthday Blogging Bash (nice ring to it, no?), we’re talking First Romances. And I don’t mean in real life. We’re talking books here. Romance books. Do you remember your first romance book? I do. I was in my twenties when I found it. I had picked up a Cosmo and it was the Red Hot read for that issue. Christina Skye’s Code Name: Princess changed my future. I’ve no doubts about it. That one, single book turned me into a reader and that turned me into a writer.

I haven’t read that book in a couple years, so I picked it up in February. I remembered some things as differently. I remembered the characters being slightly different, the plot and motivations as well, but one thing hadn’t changed—everything that drew me in was still there.

The action, adventure, creativity, it was all there. It was so much fun to go back in time and relive all those first edge of my seat page turning moments, remember how I felt when they first kissed in the elevator and feel the pride and admiration growing with each of the characters as I turned the page.

What was your first book? How long ago have you read and what was it about that book that you remember the most? Come on and answer up! I’ve got a $10 giff certificate to Amazon for one lucky commenter!

Keri Ford

27 Responses

  1. The Flame and the Flower by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. It was my mother’s favorite book and I had to wait until I was 13 to read it because it was so steamy.

  2. My first was Nora Roberts’ Montana Sky. I was fourteen, and I thought I’d picked up a girl western. FELL IN LOVE.

  3. HAH! Oh boy, do I ever remember this. I was in the fourth grade and the class was assigned to do a book report on the book of our choice. I read Jane Eyre (that’s a romance, right?). I got my report back with a huge red “F” on it. I was soooo upset and screwed up my courage to ask my teacher (Mrs. Delon aka Wicked Witch of Knoxville, Tennessee) why she had given me such a poor grade. She said I could not possibly have read the book as it was far above my grade level and therefore I had cheated and copied the report from somewhere and cheaters deserved the grade of “F”. I was distraught and tearfully told my mother. The next day my mom showed up at school with a note from the librarian at our neighborhood public library saying that I had checked out the book. She proceeded to berate Mrs. Delon – at the top of her voice and in the presence of the principal – for 30 minutes….and every other student and teacher in the school knew it (it was sorta hard to miss…she could be LOUD). My grade was changed to an “A” and Mrs. Delon never once acknowledged me in class again for the remainder of the year – she didn’t call on me to answer a single question, did not speak to me unless she had any other choice, etc… In short, she hated my guts. Needless to say, I hated the fourth grade.

  4. Wow Bridgemama – sounds like Mrs. Delon was a real witch! Like you, I was a mega reader all my life. In the fourth grade, I was reading a mystery (probably Trixie Belden) and was fascinated by something in it. I believe it had something to due with the keys FACE on the piano being a clue. Anyway I was telling my teacher, Mrs. B, about it and her reply to me was…”I don’t have time to listen to you. I have thirty students. If I gave each student one minute to tell me something, I’d waste 30 minutes.” I swear, that had such a negative impact on me.

    Kellee – I don’t think The Flame and The Flower was my first romance but it was one of my early ones.

    Kait – I didn’t read Montana Sky until a couple of years ago (picked it up in a used bookstore after someone told me to read it.) What a great read. Movie sucked, but book was wonderful.

    This “first romance you ever read” question comes up a lot and I honestly don’t remember my first one. I’ve read for so many years and read so many books, I don’t have a clue which was the first one. I’ve thought about it and thought about it but I just don’t know.

    And Keri – I’ve never read any of the “codename” books. I think I have them on my shelf at home though. I’ve heard they’re pretty good. 🙂

  5. I can’t tell you which one was my 1st romance either. I have always been an avid reader. I loved the Judy Blume books, Nancy Drew and all the teen books from scholastic growing up.

    I think the 1st true romances would be harlequin romances. I do remember reading Endless Love as a teenager though. Loved that book.

  6. Kelle, you’re in good company! I hear Woodiwiss as many’s first romance!

    Oh, Kait! what a surprise that must have been!

    Bridgemama that is terrible! and way to go for your mom (even if it embaressed you at that age!)

    Cyndi, I had read a different romance in my teens. I have no idea what it was. I think the cover was white and it had some fadded blue’ish butterflies on the cover. When I was kid, I picked up a romance book from the grocery store and my grandma bought it for me. I loved the cover! (yes, it was a clinch cover!) but I never made it past a couple pages. there was so much I didn’t understand. So while Skye’s wasn’t my official first romance, it was the book that completely sucked me in the genre. After that story, I got online and ordered more and more and haven’t stopped, my poor credit cards.

    Heather, that’s great. I wished I was more of a reader then like I am now. I feel like I missed out on so much having never read a Drew or any other of the many stories often mentioned.

  7. A friend of mine introduced me to Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-hunter series. I became obsessed with reading about vampires and now I’m always looking for new authors and series in this genre!

  8. Dark of the Moon by Karen Robards. I was a rabid Celtophile in those days and read anything set in Ireland. I remember the hero and heroine had a long separation, and the heroine dressed like a boy at one point. It was, hm, 20 years ago? It started off an addiction like no other. I read every one of her books, then moved to Catherine Coulter when I ran out of books to read (hard to believe there was life before my TBR pile!)

  9. My first was Son of the Morning by Linda Howard. My mother left it behind after a visit. Until then, I was strictly a mystery or sci-fi reader. I’d say it was maybe 10 years ago at most. I came to romance late in life, but when my daughters told me the mystery I was writing was really a romance, I figured I might as well read more.

  10. Ok – the first romance I ever remember reading is The Honey is Bitter by Violet Winspear. I filched it from my mom, which… in and of itself was odd because my mom doesn’t read romances. She’s a non fiction lady – so… that’s ok. I didn’t read romances again for nearly a decade, but now I read romances exclusively 🙂

    Happy birthday bash, Keri! Thanks for celebrating your birthday with all of us!

  11. I’m fairly certain that my first adult romance novel was a Zebra print called Wild Wyoming Nights by Sylvie Sommerfield. I had borrowed it from the library and I remember being worried that the librarian would think badly of me because of the raunchy cover. LOL. I’ve outgrown the shame now 🙂

  12. My first romance was Julie Garwood’s “The Bride.” It remains one of my favorite romances of all time. In the beginning I read a lot of books by Julie, Judith McNaught and Jude Deveraux.

  13. I can’t remember which book, but it was a harlequin.

  14. Awesome Teresa!

    MJ, I know what you mean about that TBR pile. I’ve been hearing more and more about Irsh romances and I’m anxious for my next book splurge to try and hunt some down.

    HA! Proabably good thinking Terry (great meeting you at NOLA!)

    limecello, it sounds like it was just meant to be!

    Good for you Scorpio. isn’t it funny the things we worry about when younger?

    Jane–that’s awesome that it’s still your favorite!

    Chey there can get to be so many!

  15. My first romance was Johanna Lindsey’s Man of My Dreams. I was a teenager and was not into reading at all, until I started reading romance. I do remember loving the name of the hero, Devlin, for some reason. I re-read the book every once in a while and it still makes me smile.

  16. It’s been so long ago, I can’t remember if it was Kathleen Woodiwiss or Rosemary Rogers! Whichever one it was, it hooked me on romance!! I’ve been reading them for close to 40 yrs.. The Code Name books are wonderful, I’ve read them all. I love Christina Sky, I’ve read most of her historicals too.

  17. I remember reading Nancy Drew & Trixie Beldon books when I was very young. When I was a pre-teen I read Emilie Loring books. Don’t remember any of the titles of those books. The book I do remember and I feel started me on my life long love of romance books is The Flame and the Flower by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. I read it back in 1972 so I’ve been reading romance books for 38 years. Can never get enough romance! 🙂

  18. I know it was a Susan Elizabeth Phillips books….I *think* it was Kiss an Angel. I’m pretty sure it was. Been hooked on romances ever sense 🙂

  19. Chelsea B – I LOVED Kiss an Angel. Not many people who can make a circus romance book work! 🙂

  20. Oh I loved my first romance book! Savage Innocence by Cassie Edwards! I read it when I was 13 or 14? One of the two ages. What hooked me the most was how well the action and the conflict kept me hooked and on the edge, and the history on the Native Americans captured me into another world of fascination. I was hooked ever since then! I found it laying around the house, and Mom told me I could read it.

  21. Jennifer, I love Johannah Lindsey. It didn’t take me long to find her after I started reading. i believe Marriage Most Scandelous was my first Lindsey.

    Martha the code-name books are fantastic and I’ve read a few of her historicals.

    Annalise, I think you’re one of those people who have read so much, you make me jealous! I had such a vivid imagination as a kid, I know I could have gotten lost in some books had I read.

    Chelsea, Cyndi a circus romance? How fun!

    Jamie that’s great that you noticed the story and the history.

  22. Jamie,

    I forgot all about Cassie Edwards books. I read most all of her Savage books I was into the historicals/Indians for awhile as a teenager. I would check them out from the library.

    We used to go to the library every Sat, my brother and I would both come out with as many books as they would let us check out. We are both avid readers. My other brother not so much.

  23. My first romance book was Rosemary Roger’s Sweet Savage Love. I was a high school senior bored out of my skull one summer. My mom gave it to me to read and I’ve been hooked since then.

  24. sweet valley high in middle school
    love stories about twins and was wanmted to be popular like them
    then i watch the tv show lol

  25. I don’t remember what my first adult romance book ws, but as a teen I LOVED the Point Romance series. That and Point Horrors were the only things I read for a few years.
    The book that really stood out was called ‘Summer Dreams, Winter Love’ by Mary Francis Shura. I read it so many times in my teens. In fact, I really want to get hold of a copy now and re read it. Yep, I loved it that much.

  26. Cassie Edwards was awesome, wasn’t she, Heather? I loved ALL of her books! I have collected almost all 100 of them!

  27. Keri – If you haven’t read Kiss An Angel, RUN, don’t walk and get this book. Of course, I’m fairly prejudice as I love everything SEP wrote…except for 2 books. Those didn’t do it for me at the time, but who knows, they might be fabulous books if I read them now.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

