• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Lack of Support

Mother Nature has been leading us down the garden path these last few weeks, pretending winter is over, tempting us with day after day of sunny, above freezing weather. I know better. I do. At some point she’s gonna wallop us upside the head with another blast of snow.

And still, I caved. I entered a rodeo.

Since the budget is fairly tight around here, this required consultation with and approval by my husband. Especially because he doesn’t get to come and play with me. You see, this particular rodeo is approved by the Indian Rodeo Cowboys Association. Which I am. And he’s not.

Still, he thought it was a good idea, since the rodeo in question is only fifty miles from home as the crow flies, and seventy-five as the American cowgirl drives because I have to detour around to the nearest border crossing into Canada. He put shoes on my horse. Came up to the indoor arena with me on Saturday and Sunday and tripped the chute gate so I could practice. He has been nothing but supportive.

Monday was, well, a Monday. I work ten hours days and commute an hour each way, which means stumbling out my front door at six a.m. and back again at six p.m. When I climbed out of my car on Monday evening, he met me in the driveway.

“Your horse is in the barn and the calves are in the arena. Ready to rope?”

Of course. Had to practice. Haven’t been to a rodeo in over half a year, and I am definitely rusty.

Tuesday I had a meeting after work and got home late. But by golly, he went ahead and wrangled the horses and the calves so I could still sneak in a few runs when I did finally roll in.

Wednesday was a really long day. Had a three hour meeting. Then another hour of divvying up the duties of the person who just resigned on Monday. Plus a quick meeting with our accountant. The couch was batting its eyes and making come hither noises when I dragged my sagging butt through the front door.

“Got your horse in,” my husband said. “I’ll be up at the arena when you get your clothes changed.”

I stood in the middle of the living room, fighting the magnetic pull of the couch, thinking lustful thoughts about the box of Tim Horton’s donuts on the kitchen counter and the half read book on my nightstand.

Just once, I wouldn’t mind if he was a little less supportive, you know?

5 Responses

  1. A reliable husband must be hard to have. LOL. But what if you didn’t have it? I have to admit, early in my writing, my husband saw it only as a hobby, and quite frankly, since the money is not that big, he still says things like, “We got to make sure we put my business first. That’s our bread and butter.” And, he’s right. No way I make the money he makes unless I write some sensational book, but it would still be nice to be seen as a writer more than a bookkeeper.

    But, he’s getting there. Case in point, I’m off to Boston for a writing conference and he’s going to play soccer mom this weekend. 🙂

    Good luck in the rodeo!

  2. Liz:

    Stupid money. Life would be so much simpler if we didn’t need it. The trouble with my husband is his annoying habit of making me follow through on this stuff I plan.

  3. Good luck with the Rodeo. Hubs doesn’t say anything about what I spend on books cause he’s a gamer and computer geek. We both work, even though he makes more than I do but he pretty much lets me be.

  4. Karilynn, that is adorable. good luck in the rodeo!

  5. That is so sweet. You must have special husband.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

