The Query Process

After attending the Nola Stars Conference, I’ve been busy these passed few weeks working to polish up my synopsis and chapters so I can send out the requested material.  No easy task for me.  It was easier to do book reports back in high school.  Why do so many of us find it hard to write a summary of our own story?  For me, I think it’s because I know way too much and struggle with pinpointing the most important details in the story.  To me they’re all important. 🙂

 Now on to my next dilemma.  Since I will have this ready, I’m wondering if I should go ahead and query several other prospects.  It takes so long for a response in most cases, it just doesn’t seem feasible to wait until I’m contacted by one of these two before sending it on to the others on my list.

What is your plan of attack for querying?  Do you have a set number you query each time?  Do you query everyone on your list?  Or do you wait to send out anything else until you hear back from someone who has made a request to read more material?

8 Responses

  1. I do it a little different every time depending on the story and what I’m targeting, but I always send out more than one query at a time.

    Almost ready to send out a partial from that conference too!

  2. I usually send it to Keri. She’s really good at that stuff. Of course, I shouldn’t tell you that because then you’ll start trying to steal my spot in her line up 🙂

    Seriously, I would ask your cp to try her hand at summing up your story. It really does work because oftentimes you can’t step back far enough from your story to pare it down correctly, but someone more objective can. That’s my tip of the day. Or really night because it took me a while to get to my blogs today 🙂

  3. I hear you, Melissa. I am about to be doing the same exact thing, but I am going to do what Liz said and ask my cp to help sum up my story. That’s a great idea, Liz!

    Last time, I had no idea how to write a synopsis. So, I asked my cp to show me hers. It helped a lot to have that example to go by along the way.

  4. I say query till your fingers bleed! It does take a long time for anyone to respond, and there is nothing wrong with multiple queries. Send 5, 10, even 15 out at a time. Anything to get your book on the street ASAP!!!!

  5. For some reason, I always send three at a time. Mind you, I’ve been querying newspapers and periodicals for my column, not book editors. But I always send three.

    Three’s the charm? Or three strikes and you’re out? So far, a little of both.

  6. Thanks, Ladies! I guess this is one time it’s okay to be a little trigger happy. 🙂 I’m going to send, send, send till my fingers bleed as Christi said! LOL Although three at a time would probably be more in my comfort zone. I like three’s the charm, KariLynn!

    And I love the idea of having someone else do the summary. Now finding that very special someone will be the tricky part. 🙂 Hang on to Keri tight, Liz! She’s a true gem!!

    Jamie, I also find having someone’s to go by a big help. At least I know where to start. Good luck with your synopsis, girl!

    And Best of luck with all your queries as well! Fingers crossed tight for you!!

  7. Melissa, I’d go with the Batch of Three; it just sounds good! Also, keep close track of when you mail them out; use a special date book for only that. Personal experience has taught me if it takes more than a month (30 days) for a reply, they’re not worth pursuing. I’ll admit, that’s personal opinion, but it’s based on more than once occasion of waiting…. and waiting…. and waiting….. and waiting….

  8. Thanks, Will! Great advice! I’ve tried several different ways to keep track of submissions on the computer. Spreadsheets, lists, etc. But, I bet a simple notebook would do the trick best. As long as I don’t misplace it! LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

