• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

“If You Know What You Want, You Can Have it!”

Now that sounds easy enough…Not! 🙂

A long, draining, busy week has come and gone and I’m not exactly sure I accomplished everything I set out to do.  It’s getting really scary.  I’m having the worst time remembering things lately. One example – I had to cancel my credit card Friday because I have no idea if the young lady at the counter gave it back to me or if I accidentally threw it out with the trash or if it is just sitting around this house waiting to torture me when I finally come across the silly thing lying under a pile of papers or books.  Grrrrr…Too much going on and not enough time in one 24 hour day to get it all done. <Sigh>

I’ve gotten a bit more organized and thrown away a lot of clutter due to our wonderful speaker last month, Kathryn Lorenzen.  Can’t thank her enough!  And it is because of her that I’ve slowed down and found time to start reading a really encouraging book.  Henriette Anne Klauser, the author of “Writing on Both sides of the Brain” also wrote “Write it Down, Make it Happen.”  I love this concept.  Could it really be this easy?  At this point, I’m thinking it’s worth a try.  I love making simple to do lists when I get the chance.  And you know, when I do, things actually get done in a timely manner around here.   Hmmm…is there something to this?

 So, this book, which I’ve only made it to chapter 3 so far, talks about turning your dreams into reality simple by figuring out what it is you really want and then writing it down.  The figuring out exactly what “it” is I want has been the daunting task, but I’m working on it. LOL  By writing “it” down a goal becomes real.  For me that is a good thing because then the idea will be pulled out of the multitude of chaotic thoughts running ramped in my head on a daily basis.  I can actually see it and focus on it in between trying to remember who I need to pick up from school and when they need to be where ever the heck they are going. 

Quote from the book: 

“Writing it down sends a notice to the universe, “Hey! I’m ready!”   (Yeah, I like that.  It’s MY turn people!)

 But we have to be ready to recognize the opportunities as they come in response.  All those coincidences may in fact be our signal for a green light that we are on the right track.  “On your mark…get set….GO!”  But if we don’t recognize them or blow them off, we may miss that opportunity.  And without figuring out what “it” is you really want, we have no idea where to start looking for these responses.  Yep, that’s me.  I find myself bouncing back and forth as I try to decide where or what I should do next with my career.

 This book couldn’t have come at a better time.  Hmmm.  I wonder…Coincidence?  Or is this one of those signals? LOL  The beginning of the book is full of celebrity success stories.  Really gets you to thinking.

 Do you have any personal experiences where after writing down an aspiration it came true?  If you are a goal setter and write them down, how many of your goals have you accomplished over the years?  Please share!  (Can you tell I’m still kind of skeptical? LOL  I really want this to work! 🙂

5 Responses

  1. sorry Melissa. No experience on this working from me, but I do see how this could work in a sense. you see it everyday, everyday you thinking of it and try for it.

    I think it’s the consistantly trying for it part that eventually leads to *whatever* happening.

  2. Hm… I don’t have experience that this *doesn’t* work, but I don’t believe that the act of writing a goal down necessarily achieves it either. I do think that articulating a goal is a great step though, so I think that once you make clear that something is a goal, you’ve taken a good step towards achieving it, and you’re thinking about it and how you can get there. So… go for it!

  3. Well, I’ll play devil’s advocate and say I believe in visualizing your goal, seeing yourself achieve what you want, and in setting down steps to make that happen.

    I also totally believe in reading the signs around you and following those nudges. I’m very in tune to that kind of stuff. Here’s my example of reading signs:

    I got the idea for Vegas Two-Step from something my roommate at Nationals did. I came up with it on the spur of the moment at a workshop given by Joanne Rock who was a former chapter member of my home chapter. That night while my roomie went to the Harlequin party, I wrote the first chapter. The next day after the GH/Rita ceremony, I met my editor. Fast forward to the next year. That editor comes to local conference. I pitch that story to her. I also win a critique by Joanne Rock. Send partial and critique off. Get revision letter from editor. Get letter from Joanne that says that editor was her first editor and she will be glad for me to mention to editor that she recommends my manuscript. Editor buys manuscript. It was a circle kind of thing.

    Honestly, I visualized myself finaling in the GH, I visualized myself selling and I still visualize myself doing bigger and better things – like maybe a Rita. Hey, I can dream. Or, ahem, make goals.

    I do make goals every week. And the week before the GH final last year, I opened my fortune cookie to this: If you can form it in your mind, you can create it in your life.

    So call me a moron if you will, but I think setting goals and visualizing yourself achieving them is valid….as long as you know that there is no magic bullet. It will take work and luck.

    So go for it!

  4. I’m with Liz on that. I visual myself doing bigger and better things for the future. I dream and set goals. Sometimes it starts with small goals, and I have to work my way up to the largest one of all that I truly desire. But, I also have to be aware that there is no magic wand involved. It takes a lot of hard work to get what I want. But that hard work will make it happen if I stick with it.

    Go for it, girl!

  5. LOL Thanks for these wonderful comments! I agree with you all! 🙂

    I don’t believe the actually task of writing anything down is going to do the trick all by itself. As Liz and Jamie pointed out, “There is no magic bullet or wand.” (Shoot!) What there is, is alot of hard work, and yes a bit of luck too, involved in making any dream come true.

    But by having to write down a goal or a dream, I have to sit down and figure out exactly what I want. Ah ha! The secret. Focus really is power. If you’ve got it, you are more in tune with the world and the things around you. When you know what you want, those opportunities that can help you succeed will be easier to recognize.

    Gosh, if nothing else, I feel so encouraged! Thanks again, ladies! 🙂

    I’m going for it! LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

