• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Ouch! Whatcha Do That For?

Yellow one. Blue one. Red one. White one. Black one. Silver one. Green one. Grey one. Red one. Green one. White one. Stevie Wonder: Red one. Tracy Morgan: How do you do that? How did you do that?  Love this commercial!

But! The past has come back to haunt me! LOL  “Slug bug” was a game my brother and I played whenever we were in the car together. It was a brutal game, I tell you.  The rules were simple.  Spot a Volkswagen bug, you know like “Herbie the love bug”, and pop an unsuspecting victim in the arm saying, “Slug Bug” and the color of the car.  If you slugged before you were sure and ended up being wrong then the victim could slug you back twice.  Oh, I can still remember the commotion like it was yesterday and how mad my parents used to get at us.  There are places for games like this and inside a car on a long drive where nerves are pushed to the limit is just not the place.  As a mom of three, I now understand this way better than I care too.  😉

 Flash forward a few years.  Okay, ahum, a lot of years.  After the Super Bowl commercials were so kind to bring back this timeless tradition, I’m being assaulted by one of my children just about every time I get in the car.  Do you know how many varieties of Volkswagens there are today?  Or how hard it is to find those specific models in a sea of cars while you are driving?  I can usually beat them to the draw on spotting one of the new or original versions of the beetle.  But I’m out of my league with all those others.  It’s been fun to share this once forgotten game with my kids.  But enough!  That’s right, mom said enough already. LOL

Who out there remembers this game?  What are some fun games you used to play in the car as a kid since there were no TV’s, I-Pod’s or video games to help you pass the time?

8 Responses

  1. I remember this game well. My daughter loves the older volkswagens.

    I must have missed this superbowl commercial but I have heard several people recently mention this game again, my boss asked me about it the other day and he asked if we used to play with just the “bugs” or any model. I didn’t realize that was how they are playing it today.

    Another game we used to play was the license plate game where you tried to spot as many different states as possible on license plates.

  2. Oh, we played that one too, Heather! 🙂 I think I still have the notebooks we kept track of them in somewhere. LOL Now that’s just sad. I’m such a packrat!

  3. One of my college rodeo teammates and traveling partners was deadly at slug bug. And damn, that girl could punch. I am not a bit surprised that her son is now an All-Conference college linebacker.

  4. That’s too funny, Kari Lynn! Good to know something great can come out of all this. LOL

  5. We played it. But we called it “beetle.” And we kept points. No hitting. Every color but red and orange is one point. Red and Orange were five points. I really think my mom just adapted it so nobody would hit her.

    Good memories. I should do this with my kids. Rarely see a red or orange one though. They are usually light blue or a funky yellow.

  6. oh I remember this game….and remembered we weren’t allowed to play if we did little more than tap each other on the arm.

  7. I like your version of the game, Liz! Wonder if it’s too late to try and change the rules. LOL Lots of red ones here, but no orange. We even have the Geek Squad from Best Buy who drive black and white ones. Too funny!

  8. Tapping is good too, Keri. What were my parents thinking?! LOL Surely they could have toned this down a bit. But then again, I’m not so sure I wasn’t the one who started this and created these little monsters in my house. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

