• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Commitment

Hoping everyone had a Wonderful Mother’s Days!  Mine started on Friday at 5:00 p.m and didn’t end until 10:00 p.m. Sunday night. It only comes around once a year after all and I considered it a much needed and deserved mini-vacation.  Why can’t my kids be this well behaved on a daily basis?  It wouldn’t kill them, right?  Well, okay I have to admit it might do some permanent brain damage if they had to stifle all that energy and nit picking for a lengthy period of time.  Darn it.  One can dream though.  🙂 

What they gave me this year was priceless and it didn’t cost a dime.  Lots of mommy time to read, write and think without interruption.  It was pure heaven.  And all that quiet paid off big.  I’ve been thinking a lot about Beppie’s post last week.  Her commitment to do 100 words a day struck a cord with me.  I had a revelation.  Something I’ve been missing and just didn’t want to admit to myself or deal with. 

The one simple factor in individual success is Commitment. 

Think about it.  Commitment ignites action.  It helps to focus on eliminating contentment, confront what is not working, and provides incentives for improvement.  After thinking on this I have to admit, once I make up my mind to do something, it gets done.  (No, this is not me in the picture.  But I thought, talk about commitment! LOL)

Let me try and explain my take on this.  There is a huge difference between being interested or enjoying something and being committed to succeed.  If you are merely interested, time plays an important role.  You only proceed when time permits.  Every little thing sneaks in and pushes your dream farther and farther out of reach.  But if you are committed, you look at things a bit differently.  Time becomes your ally.  It’s been there all along, strategically hidden between the many tasks and responsibilities of life.  Commitment helps us find it, makes us concentrate, brings out all our resources and demands we fight for the finish line.  There are fewer excuses because you’ve made up your mind that nothing will stop you.  Not the day job or household chores. (I can carve out minutes during lunch or a 15 min. break.)  Not the kids.  (I can stay up a little later or get up a little earlier while they are sleeping)  Not the extra curricular activities.  (I can take my writing with me.) Awesome results should be the only thing to follow. 

“Persistence with a Purpose”  Now that makes a lot of sense to me.  I know what I want.  I know what I have to do to get it.  Now all I have to do is commit and make it happen. 

No more excuses for not writing or editing.  I can do a little every day.  I can reach my goals.  Might need to tweak them a bit, but it’s all good. 

Sorry email, Facebook, Twitter, procrastination, doubt.  I just don’t have time for you anymore.  I have some writing to do! 

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
 Watch your words, for they become actions.
 Watch your actions, for they become habits.
 Watch your habits, for they become character.
 Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny”

  -unknown

 Share your special Mother’s Day with us.  What’s the best gift you’ve ever received or given?

4 Responses

  1. Mother’s Day should be renamed to Mother’s Weekend because that’s what it really is. Funny, on Facebook, you don’t see the hundred entries on Father’s Day as you do Mother’s Day. That should tell us something.

    Missy, I’m glad you’re Mother’s Day went well, have a great week.

  2. Glad you had a nice Mother’s Day. Mine was nice too. I got a nice pair of sunglasses which I thought was particularly thoughtful. Nothing like protecting a loved one’s vision to show you care 🙂

  3. LOL Terri! So what are you saying? Exactly? I think Mother’s Weekend is an awesome idea! 🙂

    Hope Mother’s Day was special on your end too!

  4. Sunglasses, now that is a special gift. I bet you look like a movie star in them too. 🙂 Just in time for that book release!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

