Oops! I did it again!

Oops! I had a wonderful little blog post about revisions that I created yesterday. It was so pithy and wise…and a little whiny.

But when I checked this morning. Uh. Nothing.

So I do a little searching around….not in the drafts. Nowhere. Ruh Roh!

So now there is no pithy, wise, whiny, supportive, or victorious post on getting through the rather tough revisions I had this past week. They were harder than the ones before. But I finished. That’s the good news. Does the story suck? To be determined.

So I would love to stay and discuss the horrors of revision, but I have to go watch the 5th grader in his debut production of “Annie.” He’s playing Burt Heely (the radio announcer).

So, while I’m being the proud mother of the aspiring actor, why don’t you leave me (and every one else) some tips on revision. How do you approach a revision? How do you handle comments from your cp, editor or contest judge?

5 Responses

  1. holler if you need a beta reader 🙂

    I need to rethink my revision plan. Right now, I’m just writing. But I think I need to take the Lee Child road…review/revise the work from yesterday, then write today. Tomorrow, review/revise today’s work and move on without going back. I would rewrite/\revise forever!

  2. I’d love to have you be my beta reader…something tells me we have the same tastes in voice.

    I do love Harlan Coben. Actually each day as I write I do what he does (good to know I’m following in the steps of such a great writer). But revisions this go around just ate my lunch. Editor just found lots of loose ends I didn’t know I had. And fixing them was kinda like fixing a bad hair cut. Only so much you can do. 🙂

  3. Oh, I am doing plenty of revisions now! One of my critique partners suggested a lot of changes, and they do make sense. The way I handle them is that I have this determination/hope. I know if these mistakes aren’t corrected, it will never get published, and so I keep working hard at it. Through time, my writing has improved greatly, and it has been because I’ve taken suggestions from my critique partners, critiquing their work, and from the meetings and workshops. I just keep in mind that I’m getting better and better at it, and it gives me determination to keep trying. 🙂

  4. No tips to offer. I’m still trying to find that magical mix. LOL I tend to write straight through the first time and then go back, one chapter at a time and revise till I get it where I sorta like it. (Never completely satisfied) 🙂 Then I move on to the next, and the next. So far it’s working. At least I’m moving forward on a daily basis.

    Hope your little actor had a blast! I know you did just watching him. 🙂

  5. Progress is always good, Melissa. One foot in front of the other.

    And it’s good that you feel that the workshops and critiques are making your writing stronger, Jamie. I feel the same way. Always ready to learn and make my writing better.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

