• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Vegas Two Step with Me, Y’all!

Okay, so today’s the day! Can’t believe it, but it’s finally here.  Release Day!

I know, you don’t want to rehash the call, the revisions, the whole how I got my idea stuff. I don’t really want to go over all that stuff anyway. I want to celebrate the day by talking about the meat of my story and why I still love this story. So, if you’re not in the mood for romance, well, you probably shouldn’t have clicked on a blog that’s about everybody needing romance. LOL.

So my story is a makeover story. Ever since I was a kid, I LOVED makeovers. Grease was my favorite movie and any story where someone got glammed up and wowed the guys always made the grade. Maybe it’s because I loved ugly ducklings and underdogs, but something about a makeover is just fun. Can’t even tell you how many episodes of “A Makeover Story” I watched on TLC. And those gay guys that used to ambush the straight guys and make them over, yeah, I liked that one too.

So, that’s the basis. Plain girl goes to Vegas and gets f-a-b-u-l-o-u-s! And catches the eye of the guy who blew her off in the beginning. I know. It’s been done before, but it’s still a fun read. Back to the story, so the girl rolls with it. Afterall, she’s got a fake name, a fake job and a fake hometown. She’s in VEGAS. Who will ever know she goes a little wild and has a fling with a hot, cosmopolitan dude? No one in Oak Stand, Texas, that’s for sure.

But like judging a book by its cover, that hunky guy is not exactly what she thinks he is. And she’s not nearly as savvy as Carrie Bradshaw and her gal pals. Poor Nellie’s heart takes a nose dive and she falls madly in love. And Jack, the city-slicker, well, his heart takes a tumble too. But as Nellie eventually points out – it is just a fling and all based on a lie. She doesn’t really wear bustiers and swill martinis. She wears glasses and divides day lilies. She leaves Vegas….

But what happens in Vegas, doesn’t stay there. In fact, it ends up on her church pew, for heaven’s sake! 🙂

So this is the basis for my book Vegas Two Step. I know I’m baised because it’s my baby, but it is a fun book. Perfect for June and pool-side. I’m particularly proud of it mostly because Nellie’s a lot like me. Or maybe because I just can’t resist a makeover.

So tell me….have you ever had a makeover. Or if you haven’t, what is your dream makeover like? A lucky poster will win a copy of Vegas Two Step and a $15.00 Barnes and Noble gift card just for dancing with me today!

45 Responses

  1. I really wish I could be at you side squealin with you today. so exciting to have a Sista with a release day. are you going to the buck store and stand by the book?
    Makeover? Yes about ever other week -but dang none of them take.

  2. First off, Liz, congrats on the release!!! What a happy day this is! woohooo!!

    And to answer your question, never had a makeover. Always kinda wanted one — I would just love for someone like Tim Gunn to come along and advise me on my wardrobe. *sigh* A girl can dream, right?

  3. Hi Liz, this sounds like such a fun novel. Can’t wait to read it.

    When I was a GH finalist I needed a promo shot. Middle-aged, I wondered what on earth I could do. I put myself in a hairstylist’s, make-up artist’s, and photographer’s capable hands and got a photo that shaved ten years off my look! No kidding. Sigh, if only I could maintain that on a daily basis 😉

    There is something so rejuvenating about a makeover, isn’t there?

    Happy release day,
    Mary

  4. CONGRATS!!!!!

    So happy this made it here! it seems like it was such a long wait from your “OMG SHE CALLED!” email to today.

    Never had a makeover, but I think it would be a lot of fun. Unless someone wanted to cut my hair off at my chin.

  5. Hmm…you make me want to do a makeover. 🙂

    Probably the most dramatic thing I’ve ever done is chop off my hair for Locks of Love. I grew it really long for my wedding and just kept growing it so it would be long enough to donate without totally going short. I had a fun time doing it. Had it cut in Vegas and everything!

    Major hugs and congrats on your debut. I have it on my calendar today to go pick it up at 10:00am!

  6. Yeah, Liz!!! This is so exciting! Girl, I got my copy in the mail today! Can’t wait to start reading it! Makeover stories are one of my favorites. 🙂 Enjoy your Special Day!!

  7. Rita, you really make me laugh. I think I need a “Ritaism” everyday.

    Thanks, Jenn and Mary. Yeah, that GH pic is where I got my current ones. Funny thing, my hair is long and curly now. I love changing my look. As for wardrobe, sometimes when I’m shopping I feel so helpless. I need someone to pop out and say, “Now, what you’re wearing just won’t work. But I know what will….” That would be really nice.

  8. Congratulations!! Enjoy and savor the moment. I”m so happy for you. I plan to buy the book so you get the royalty and the sale points 🙂

    Makeover…oh yeah, I’d do one in a heartbeat. From my entire home [I get bored with the same colors all the time] to me 🙂 Updating is great fun.

    Eat cake, drink champagne and devour chocolate [dark, of course!]

    🙂

  9. Keri- your hair is beautiful the way it is. Pretty color, good volume and right length. I wouldn’t cut it either.

    Jeannie – your cut suits you. It’s busniess-like and shows your pretty face. I can’t imagine you with really long hair. But, gosh, I bet your Locks of Love recipient loved all that gorgeous black hair.

    I’m so glad you got it, Melissa! Hope you like it, and as you can tell, I do love a makeover story 🙂

  10. I used to luv Queer Eye For the Straight Guy too. Never really had a makeover. I’ve always given those Mary Kay gals a wide berth.

  11. Thanks, Jean. And I am the same. My house is really begging for a makeover. Been the same for the past six years. I did buy a new comforter last month. But I still have some work to do in my living area. I need new chairs. Maybe some of that royalty money. HeHe. Don’t think it will be that much 🙂

  12. Congrats Liz,

    Have my copy too and can’t wait to read it either. Major congrats!!!!

    I’m with you Grease is one of my all time favorite movies and it has maintained over the years because it’s one of my 22 y/o dtr’s favorites too.

    We always watched Queer Eye for the Straight Guy and I love extreme Home makeover and we even watch RuPaul’s dragrace (very fun show to watch). I am pretty much a realty junkie.

    Congrats again!!

  13. LOL, Kelly. I love makeup, but the older I get, the more apt I am to pick it up at a drugstore than a makeup counter.

    I’m three chapters into Lily in Wonderland. That Lily has a smart-mouth. Wonder where she got that from? LOL

  14. Release days are so exciting!! I saw your book in Wal-mart and nearly squealed for you! They are now all shelved VERY visibly

    No, never had a makeover but sure could use one

  15. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I picked up your book this weekend and am about 1/4 of the way through. and I swear…I’M LOVING IT!!! If I didn’t I wouldn’t have even mentioned I bought it. 🙂

    Seriously, I love Jack and Nellie. His touches are so sensual.

    Such a fun read.

    GO GET THIS BOOK!

  16. Liz, congratulations on your release! It sounds like such a fun read.

    I haven’t had any massive makeovers, but I’ve been playing with my hair a lot lately. 🙂 I finally managed to convey to my hairdresser what I want, and I love my new style.

  17. Liz–I adore that description of the book…makes me more eager than ever to read it!

    I love the idea of people peeling back layers on each other, and themselves, and finding things they didn’t know were there.

    Off to Barnes & Noble right after work today. Woo-hoo!!!!

  18. Squuueeee!!!!!!!!! So excited for you, Liz!!!! I’ll be downloading my copy to my Kindle tonight and starting on it as soon as I get home!

    Hmmm…makeover…I need one in so many ways, but nope, never had one! Maybe someday someone can convince me to have some style!

    Congrats on this day, girl!!! Enjoy!

  19. Congratulations!
    Never had a makeover. My dream makeover would be easy to maintain!

  20. Congrats!! I just ordered a bunch of copies to pass to friends. Can’t wait to read it up late at night with the baby!

  21. Thanks, Winnie. Went by Walmart earlier today to pick up a birthday gift and, of course, I had to go gawk. Except my book was on the bottom shelf. My apologies to the Harlequin author in the middle of the rack. You just got hijacked to the bottom. Shhh! Nobody tell.

  22. Cyndi – I know you are always honest. I won’t say Vegas Two Step will knock your socks off, but I bet you like it well enough. I can tell your tastes are in line with mine, so I *think* you won’t think it a total waste of money.

    Thanks, Abagail, I recently colored and highlighted my hair for the first time ever. At first it was too blonde, so I had to have her redo it. Now it’s better, but I’m not sure it’s “me”

  23. Elisa and Kim – love my RSS support! I hope I don’t disappoint!

    And, everyone needs a makeover sometimes. And speaking of peeling layers, I could really use some microdermabrasion.

  24. Chey – you know the old saying it hurts to be beautiful. I’m thinking “ease” has nothing to do with a makeoever. Let me know if you find that easy and beautiful solution. LOL

    Rach- OMG! The baby. He was born on the 4th, right? Where are the pics? Which sibling does he looks like? Send the pics. I gotta get him a gift. Maybe an LSU jersey. Papa Newman would approve.

  25. I’ve never had an actual makeover – I change my hair color and style pretty frequently so I don’t get bored with it- but the sumner between 10th and 11th grade, I exchanged my glassses for contacts and got my braces off. In my senior year, my classmates voted me “Nicest Eyes” and “Nicest Smile,” and the boy I had a massive crush on asked me for a date. 😉

    Congrats on Vegas Two-Step!

  26. Yay! My birthday present to myself is going to be stopping at the store tonight to pick this up. And they’d better have it….or else.

  27. Woohoo, Amy!!! I’m so stoked about this book. Your rise to fame and fortune will be fun to watch.

    I’ve never had a makeover. Unfortunately, that fact is very noticeable. lol

    Super congrats, you!

  28. I can totally see that – you have both a nice smile and gorgeous eyes. And I’m glad to see someone like me who likes to change her hair around. I get bored with the same look.

    Karilynn – I think they should fear you if it’s not on the shelves.

    Darynda – I think that big advance necessitates a makeover. You should totally treat yourself since that author photo will be all over come the begninng of 2011. And don’t forget, GMA or the Today Show. 🙂

  29. Happy Release Day, Liz. I love makeover movies and books, but I’ve never had a real makeover. I have had a few consultations with the people at the makeup counters, but nothing major.

  30. I love the sound of your story! Can’t wait to read it! Congrats on your first book release!

    Lindsey
    Your Ruby Slipper Sister 🙂

  31. Thanks, Jane! I often leave those counters with an empty pocketbook. Those cute little gals can talk me into everything at those makeup counters 🙂

    Thanks, Lindsey, I hope you enjoy it 🙂

  32. Woohoo!! Congrats, Liz. I was able to find a copy today, in Walmart. You’re big time, lady. Can’t wait to curl up with it. Enjoy the ride.

    ((HUGS))
    AJ

  33. Loving it, Liz — and nearly finished! You are a funny, warm and enchanting author. I like your people . . .

  34. Thanks, Autumn, and back at you since you got your copies today 🙂

    Oh, Beppie, that means a lot coming from you. I’m glad you like it. I do think I have some terrific characters (even if I’m slightly biased.) My friends who’ve read it all love Bubba, so since I’m working on book four in the series (though they’re technically not a series) I’m giving ol’ Bubba a sideline romance. Thanks a bunch!

  35. Congrats on the release!! Never had a make-over, would like to have a really good stylist do my hair and makeup.

  36. Took the rest of the day off to read all the book. Honestly, Liz…I did love it. I thought the writing was strong. Sex scenes hot. Loved Bubba.

    I’m hoping to read Dawn’s story! She deserves to find love.

  37. Liz,

    Congrats on your release!!! I can only imagine how exciting the day must be 🙂

    I, too, did hair and make-up stuff for the GH photo, but what I think would be really awesome is to hire one of those personal style closet makeover people. I am on a weight loss journey and when I finally reach the end, I want someone to show me what clothes/styles best accentuate my body, throw out all of my old stuff, and release my inner clothes horse 😉

  38. Heather and Martha – I can say resoundingly “Me, too!”
    Sometimes I go shopping and buy things that really don’t suit me. Usually, I take my mom with me. And Jane always tells the truth. Brutally at time. “That makes your arms look fat.” or “Nope. Go try something else.” I might could loan her out, but you’re going to have to sign something first. LOL

    Cyndi – I’m so glad you liked it. And it is a bit steamy for Super, but it started as a Blaze. Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed it. It means a lot 🙂

  39. The closest I’ve ever been to a make over, was dressing up for Halloween! I guess its just not really for me 😉

  40. Closest I’ve come to a makeover was my Glamour shot for my Golden Heart photo!

    Congratulations on your big day. I’ll send some electronic Prosecco to you!

  41. Congrats Liz! Sounds like an awesome read. I’m so happy for you!

  42. only for senior pics i had
    congrats on the book
    love vegas baby

    would love a great massage and dress in a hot tight dress

  43. Sorry I’m late to the party, doll, but you know I wish you wonderful success with your first release. Just too cool!

    As for makeovers, I’ve never had one, but I’ve provided more than I care to count—of the war paint and sartorial varieties. Glad I’m not doing that anymore.

    I’m going to B&N tomorrow. Will be looking for a quick Two Step!

  44. Thanks so much for the well wishes, ladies. Sounds like we need to all take some time for ourselves. If not a full makeover, maybe just a pedicure. Sometimes when your toes are done, you just feel prettier. And, yeah, the massage sounds good too. 🙂

  45. Congratulations, Liz! How exciting is it to see your book in the shops!

    My best friend, a model, gave me a makeover in my early 20s, when I was getting over an addiction to Sun-In. She’d once saved me from drowning, and then she saved me from being a fashion tragic.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

