• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Inheritance by MG Braden

Inheritance

MG Braden

Ebook By MG Braden

Rating: Not yet rated.

Published: May. 26, 2010
Category:Fiction » Literature » Romance
Words: 15546 (approximate)
Language: English

A couple of days ago, I broke my unplugging pledge about being Twitter (hey! what can I say? I was procrastinating. You do it too!). While I was catching up on the latest gossip, MG Braden asked if anyone would like to read a short novella and review it.  She explained that Inheritance was first published  by Moonlit Publishers (which folded in 2008) and now she was reissuing it through Smashwords.

I’ve never met MG, except online. I enjoy chatting with her. I know she’s the current president of ESPAN (the e-published authors’ RWA chapter). I know she’s been an active member of the Romance Divas Forum, but that’s about it. I told her I would read it. If I hated it, I wouldn’t blog about it. That’s sort of my rule when it comes to books of people I know. If I can’t say something nice, I just don’t say anything at all. After all, I’m not a “real” reviewer like our Heather. I’m a fellow writer BUT I’ve been a reader much longer than a writer. I do have opinions.  So MG sent me the book at no cost to me to read and review here.

Her novella, Inheritance, is cute and if you’ve read romance for very long, a storyline we’ve seen before…a couple who do not know each other are forced to live together. Her grandmother (who controls the family purse strings) dies and leaves the family beach house to her granddaughter and a man no one in the family knows, with the stipulation that they must live there together for 6 months. After that, either of them can sell to the other for $10k (quite a deal when you figure the house is worth a million or so.) If both want to sell, the money will go to charity. Of course the heroine has a mother who was waiting for MIL to die so she can get the money. Instead, mother is basically cut out of the will. So the big question…will heroine (Chase) and hero (Reece) fall in love during the six months they are forced to be roommates? Hello? Romance here. We all know the ending. The joy in reading romance is the trip from meeting to HEA ending.

In this novella (only 15k), the story is big. To get all the story conveyed to the reader, MG has to do a lot of telling and minimize some of the showing. Months have to pass with a sentence or two. Emotional attachments are told to us. Events that demonstrate their friendship first, followed by their growing attraction are there, but not in deep detail.

There isn’t the time in 15k to allow much character development or scene detail. This sounds like a criticism of the novella but it’s not. Writing short can be more difficult than writing a 250k tome! An author has to work hard to find the right words to depict the exact emotion or feeing she is trying to convey to the reader and at the same time. limit the number of those words. MG does this well.

However, I did feel she could have done a better job explaining WHY the grandmother changed her will to these strange stipulations. As a long time reader of romance, I’d project that grandmother wanted her granddaughter Chase to meet and fall in love with Reece but nowhere is that explained (like a letter from the dead grandmother to be delivered after 6 months or something.)

My biggest complaint is that this story had all the elements to make a much longer (and in my humble opinion, stronger) read. I would have liked to have read (and experienced) more of the developing relationship between Chase and Reece. I wanted more detailed scenes, more emotional description. In short, I really loved Chase and Reece. I didn’t get to spend enough time with them.

The price on this novella is $1.29 (a real bargain) and worth the money. To purchase Inheritance, go here. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.  It’s a quick read that I enjoyed. Thanks MG for sending it my way.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

On a sad note…Some of you may follow @booksandcorsets on Twitter (i.e. editor Alyssa Smith). If you are a bird lover or follow Alyssa, you know she adores her Loki. Tragically, her home was a total loss today in a fire. She lost everything, including all her birds. She is currently being housed by the Red Cross at a hotel. Friends have started a Paypal account to help her get by for now (she doesn’t need “things” as she has nowhere to live). For more information on how you can help, go to Rose Fox’s blog. Keep Alyssa in your prayers.

3 Responses

  1. Nice review. Are you sure you aren’t a reviewer in disguise? 🙂

    I think writing a novella is super-hard. But I like the challenge. Tight, straight to the romance and not a lot of crazy subplots can be refreshing at times.

    And I’m so sorry to hear about the fire. So tragic and when you love your animals, it’s like losing family. I’ll be praying for her and drop by the blog later to see if I can give something.

  2. oh, I love, love, love, love stories like these. Nice review Cyndi!

    so sad to hear about Alyssa. I’ll see what I can do.

  3. Yes, great review, Cyndi! Novellas are hard, one of the reasons (besides being notoriously long-winded) that I haven’t tried them. But this one sounds entertaining.

    And of course hearing about the fire makes me sick inside. I can’t imagine losing animals I dearly love like that. My heart aches for her.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

