Summer Camp

Hope all the Dads out there had a Wonderful Father’s Day!  We treated my hubby to a day of relaxation and golf.  He acted like a little kid on Christmas morning when we handed over the remote and told him the TV was all his.  His idea of a perfect day was watching the U.S. open without interruptions or distractions. LOL

I must say, emotions were running rampant for me this weekend.  On top of our Father’s Day celebrations, I sent my son off to church camp Saturday.  Not sure why, but I missed out on the summer camp adventures when I was a kid.  Watching “The Parent Trap” is about as close as I can get to the experience.    

I’ve been telling myself for days that it was not going to be a big deal.  Five days wasn’t that long.  He would have a blast and of course the experience would be good for him.  There was no reason to worry.  All this inner dialogue with myself was to keep me from breaking down the minute I had to leave him behind.  The sad truth is his absence was going to be good for me.  Separation anxiety is not just for kids. 

Well, all those pep talks didn’t work worth a darn.  The minute the car door closed and we drove out of the parking lot the flood gates opened.  I have no idea why.  He managed just fine last year, although it was only three days then.  He will be a sixth grader this year.  I know at some point I’m going to have to let go of my kids.  But he is my only boy.  My youngest.  The last one I have to….well, need mom.  Who knew being a mother was going to be such an emotional roller coaster?  I sure didn’t. 

All these crazy emotions have been wonderful as far as the writing goes.  Just what I needed to add that little extra punch to the scene I’m working on.  And in return the writing has been therapeutic for me.  Thank goodness my stories and the desire to create them will still be here for me long after my kids are all grown up and off to start lives of their own. 

Life is funny.  Always changing and offering us new opportunities.  Live, learn and enjoy every second, that’s about all the control we have. 

Did you go to camp when you were younger?  Have you sent your little ones?  Any funny experiences or not so funny mishaps you’d like to share?

3 Responses

  1. My daughter went to church summer camp every year after 5th grade for a week. They would go to SOAR and sometimes they would perform their stick ministry at host churches on the way there so that would add an extra day or so. They always went around this time of year.

    My worst experience of separation anxiety was her 1st day of pre-K. I took her to school, went in and dropped her off and as soon as she walked in the door she found someone to play with and forgot about me. Her first day of school was harder on me than it was on her. (HA!HA!).

  2. I never went to camp as a kid. I’m pretty sure I missed out on the fun. I never got to roast marshmallows or hear ghost stories around the fire.

  3. We had 4-H camp up in the Bear Paw mountains. At that time, I was still going to country school, so camp was a major social event for me. All those kids my own age. I wanted so desperately to be one of the cool kids.

    I pretty sure I was a complete dork.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

