• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

A Big Welcome to Autumn Jordon!

It’s great to have you with us Autumn!  I just received “Evil’s Witness” in the mail and can’t wait to get started.  Great title by the way! 🙂  Thanks so much for joining us today!!

First, let me say thanks to Melissa, my dear friend, and the wonderful ladies here at Everybody Needs A Little Romance for having me as a guest. I’ve visited your blog on many occasions and always found something of interest.

 In one short month, two-thousand excited-to-see-cyber-friends RWA members will congregate in Orlando, Florida, celebrating the thirty year anniversary of the National RWA’s founding.

For approximately sixty-five members, their time in Orlando will be one they’ll always cherish. They’re the 2010 Golden Heart finalists.

Last July, I nervously walked in their footsteps and this June I’m proud to announce that my Golden Heart entry is on sale now. Evil’s Witness (Golden Heart Title His Witness) released from The Wild Rose Press(insert link http://tinyurl.com/38ka9o2 ) on June 18. I was totally floored (Melissa and Liz will attest they needed to shake the sound of my rapturous scream from their ears) when I checked Barnes & Noble.com and saw my book on the same page as James Patterson’s. Then someone mentioned, that could help your sales and I’m like, do you think? GRIN

 So why was EVIL’S WITNESS a Golden Heart finalist? And why did the story sale?

Well, I think it did because there was a connection made with the reader. In Evil’s Witness, I believe I created a hero and heroine romance readers could identify with, and thus could easily fall in love with them.  They identified with Stephanie and John because they were flawed. No one is perfect. We all have flaws.  And I’m not just talking physical flaws. I’m talking flaws that are deep-rooted personal, mental. Sometimes are flaws are shown is such a minute way that they’re missed by many, but we always know they’re there. Flaws make characters believable.

John is flawed. He is a great guy but a tortured soul. He carries his guilt cloaking his heart when he knows in the back of his mind he shouldn’t feel responsible for the actions of others. He shows the flaw by wearing a small rubber band on his finger and flicking it when his demons are aroused. He does almost unconsciously and then pushes his demons away in order to keep his mind focus on his job. We’ve all experience lost like John and we’ll root for him to find the happiness he deserves. To understand John, let’s take a peek at his past:

John Dolton fell to his knees knowing the inferno in front of him consumed his life. His heart pumped but his brain felt starved for oxygen. The heat gnawed at his skin. He gulped the roasting air and it fumed into his lungs, expanding them until his chest as if were about to explode.

He didn’t care.

“Damn. John, snap out of it.”

Fingers clinked inches away from his nose.

“Come on, man. You’ve got to get back.” He heard his partner’s cry but Luke’s voice was diffused, coming at him from several directions.

 Something looped under John’s arms and yanked him upward, lifting his dead weight off his knees—the ones that had given way when he’d seen his life gone.

The heels of his boots marked the tarmac with duel tracks as he was drugged away from the wreckage. He didn’t fight. His gaze remained on the windows of what once was his SUV.

Staring beyond the flaming bizarre tongues licking at the vehicle’s roof, he saw his wife and little girl as he had left them only ten minutes ago. Happy. Laughing. Anticipating a long overdue family vacation.

“Why?” A screamed like that of a savage, wounded animal rivaled sirens.

He searched the faces staring at him.  Wide-eyed, brow ceased, sad faces stared back.

Had the horrendous cry come from him?

Julie.

Katie.

He had to save them.

John pulled. Luke’s grip tightened.

“Let me go.” He twisted and swung a fist at his partner’s jaw, but Luke ducted in time. Luke grabbed John’s arm and twisted it behind his back.

“They’re gone, John. You can’t save them.”

The agency’s emergency response team raced around the inferno.

They were too late.

With the dousing of the flames, John caught a glimpse of a charred human arm lying on the sidewalk. A silver band encircled the tiny wrist. Julie.

John grabbed his ribs and hurdled his breakfast.

“We’ll get them. I promise you.” Luke’s voice shook as he held him. “I swear I will die before they get away with this.”

They?

John fell to the sidewalk. Cold laughter mingles with the taste of vomit in his mouth. Luke nor he knew who they were.

They had taken his reason to live. When he found them, they would wish this day never happened too.

 

Stephanie is flawed too. To read her back story please visit my blog www.autumnjordonsnotes.com

To make the connection between the reader and your story give every character a flaw. My very secondary character is a controlling father. In my next story, my heroine is naïve and trusting—trusting everyone but her hero. She’s not stupid. At the beginning of the story, she doesn’t see the evil that lurks in her small town. She does learn quickly though that evil does indeed have many faces.  Make your cast human. Look at yourself. I’m a chatter box, at times, and have a quick tongue that gets me into trouble. Look at the people in your life and make a list flaws. Draw from that file when showing the world your characters.

Now for the commercial. GRIN

Stephanie Boyd needs refuge. John Dolton needs a witness.  Together, will this Mafia target and FBI agent survive a killer’s wrath? And while on the run, find the kind of love they’ve both closed their hearts to?

 If you’d like to view a trailer of EVIL’S WITNESS, please visit my website www.autumnjordon.com .

 Today I will be giving away a e-copy of my novella OBSESSED BY WILDFIRE to one lucky commenter. You must be 18 years of age. I’ll post the winner Tuesday morning 9 am EST.

 I’m also holding a contest for a $50.00 Barnes & Noble certificate at my blog(insert link  http://www.autumnjordonsnotes.blogspot.com). It ends June 30, so hop right over there for the details on June 18th post.

Autumn lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her husband, who supplies her with support and tons of laughs. Her favorite destinations farther from home are Vermont and Arizona where she enjoys hiking, golfing, horseback riding and learning the history of the areas. And no matter what Autumn is doing, she’s busy dreaming up ideas to put the characters of her romantic thrillers in grave danger.

All material contained within this post may not be used without expressed permission from author. Copyright© By Autumn Jordon

8 Responses

  1. Welcome, Autumn! And Congrats a second time around.

    I have Evil’s Witness on the Kindle ready to go, though I have to say, the excerpt makes my heart hurt. I think this is not a pool read. 🙂 Charred arms don’t go with Bahama mamas.

    I do think you are correct about characters – gotta be real. And another thing, when writng characters and dialogue, I recommend transporting yourself there and seeing what’s going on. You don’t need every nuance and glance, but the reader HAS to feel as if he/she is sitting there in the room. Every time I get stuck, I take myself there (while drawing on my own experiences) and find that the writing starts to flow.

    Okay, now back to revisions! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Morning, Liz. Thanks for the congrats, again. I’m glad I evoke emotion in you through John’s backstory. I’ve done my job as a writer then.

    I usually write all the dialogue, as if I’m listening in on the conversation. Afterwards I go back layer and layer and layer. And yes, drawing on your own experiences is a great way to pull the readers in.

    I hope you enjoy Evil’s WItness as much as I enjoyed Vegas Two Step. No charred arms in the book. I promise. .

  3. Hi Autumn!
    What a gut-wrenching excerpt. Makes me hurt for John. And that’s good. LOL! My interest is definitely piqued.

    Congrats on your release. It’s been a long time coming.

    Jenn!

  4. Hi, Jenn. Good to see you here too. I’m glad you like the free read. I’ll see you at Musetracks next week, right? I can’t wait to visit.

  5. Hi, Autumn. Welcome to the blog! I love that book cover! just the whole, overall look of it is smoky and mysterious and yet, pretty too!

  6. Hi Autumn, your story sounds good. Love the cover!

  7. Thanks, Keri and Jamie. The WIld Rose Press does a great job on their covers. My cover was none by RAE Monet, who also happened to do my website. Stop over and you’ll see some similar effects.
    http://www.autumnjordon.com

    I’m so excited today. Evil’s WItness received a great review from Night Owl reviews. .

  8. Hey, Jenn. You’re my winner for an e-copy of Obsessed By WIldfire. Please shoot me an email
    autumnjordon@yahoo.com

Show us some love and leave a comment!

