• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Vacation Fun

We took a short vacation to the beach this past week and before we left I was a little concerned the kids might not like it as much as they did when they were younger.  Hanging out with dear old mom and dad just isn’t cool.  But I still remember their expressions the first time they stood on the edge of the shore and watched the water rush in toward them.  Eyes wide, a bit of fear and excitement mixed with panic as they realized it wasn’t going to stop before hitting their tiny feet.  Poor things.  Now it seems really mean the way we torture our kids sometimes to get that perfect photo opportunity so we can look back and reminisce when we’re old and they’ve moved on. LOL

 But you know, I worried for nothing.   They enjoyed every minute of the trip.  The ferry ride over to the island was even an adventure.  I’ve ridden it many times before, but pulling our travel trailer behind us upped the anxiety a bit.  My husband said, “Don’t worry.  The trailer will float longer than the truck.”  Say what?!  Man, you know you’re getting old when things like this start to bother you.  But we made it safe and sound. 🙂

The beach was wonderful.  No signs of oil or tar balls from the oil spill, seaweed or even jellyfish.  Our RV park had a boardwalk right to the beach, so every evening we headed out to watch the sunset over the dunes.  Then, once it was dark, we pulled out our flashlights and strolled along the shoreline searching for little critters and shells.  This was new for me.  In the past, we’ve always stayed for the day and then had to head home before dark.  I had no idea what I was missing.

Our trip to the State Aquarium left us with wonderful memories of dolphins, otters, sharks, graceful seahorses, etc.  While the USS Lexington, a World War II Aircraft carrier called “The Blue Ghost, gave us all a new found respect for those who live on these huge ships for months at a time as they protect our country. So much history here.  Absolutely amazing.  And to think, they actually land real planes on these things!

What I find funny and rewarding at the same time is the fact that watching my kids experience these things still fills my heart with so much joy.  They may be older, but I think they are even more hysterical now and I enjoyed their theatrics just as much as when they were little.  They are becoming adults in more ways than I care to imagine and I’m learning to switch gears as well as let go.  This too will be a new adventure for me.  One I’m beginning to look forward to sharing with them.  And if they give me too much trouble during these teenage years, I will not hesitate to remind them of all the great pictures I have to use for blackmail. LOL

If you’ve got a vacation coming up, I highly recommend Christi Craig’s book “Shut Up and Kiss Me.”  I started reading it the night we arrived and before I knew what happened both my daughters were arguing about who was next in line.  They read the first chapter, got hooked and couldn’t wait for me to finish.  Needless to say, I didn’t get the book back till we got home!

4 Responses

  1. Sounds like you had fun with your kids, Melissa. Vacations can be a blast! That book “Shut Up and Kiss Me” has a catchy title. I might have to check it out. 😉

  2. Sounds like y’all had a great time. Where did you go? Texas beaches or further east towards Alabama?

  3. Lots of great memories, Jamie! I’m not sure how many more years I can keep them going with us. But I plan to keep on trying. 🙂

  4. Liz, we headed down toward Corpus Christi, along South Padre Island. We used to go when I was little way back when and it still pretty much looks the same. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

