• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Back to Reality

I’ve been having fun this summer with the kids home.  There is just something therapeutic about a non or less stressful schedule.  No waking up the kids to get ready for school before the sun comes up.  No after school activities to throw our family dinners out of wack and no icky homework.  I must say, I have taken full advantage of these precious rare moments in time.  Not much writing or writing related stuff happening on this end.

Yesterday was the first day of August and a reality check for me.  The mayhem starts back up today.  A Drama work week for one daughter and band camp for the other on top of her summer life guard schedule.  All at different times and different locations.  I must magically switch back into high gear again.  That includes working my writing into our busy schedules no matter what.

 I picked up Henriette Klauser’s book “Write It Down, Make It Happen” and started reading where I left off at the end of the school year.  It must be fate I tell ya. LOL

Chapter 12  Stacking Goals:  Raising the Bar – We all have our own stumbling blocks and must learn how to overcome them in our own way.  What is easy for one person may be tremendously harder for the next to overcome.  The important thing is to keep going, to keep pushing yourself no matter how big or how small.

The next chapter had me researching a book by Barbara Sher called “Wishcraft” and heading to one of her blogs.  http://www.theresistancewhisperer.blogspot.com 

Very interesting read about the phases we creative people go through.  It was something I really needed to hear right now.  With all the self doubting going on in my head, I was beginning to worry that maybe I just wasn’t cut out for this. 

Two great premises:

1)      If you are headed in the right direction, all you need to do is keep on walking!
2)      It’s nice to have others who believe in you walking alongside, making suggestions and    encouraging you on.

So two important questions I’m dealing with now.

1. What will I do next?
2.  By when will I get it done?
3. And who am I going to get to hold me accountable?

If you had time to click the link and read her blog entry about Genuis and Lizard Brain (yes, weird title, but great food for thought) can you relate?  I sure can.  I’m somewhere in the middle of phase 2 and strange as this may sound to those who didn’t get a chance to read her post, my goal is to get bored real soon and move on to phase 3 where all the marvelous fun starts over again.  🙂

One Response

  1. I’m glad you’ve had a good summer, Melissa. Mine has been awesome too. And it is something very therapeutic about getting rid of the stress in your life and enjoying it!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

