• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Tennis Anyone?

Boy, my sore muscles are screaming at me today.  Who knew a friendly game of tennis with my fifteen year old daughter would be so unforgettable the next day.  I should have known.  Especially after the first ball was served my way. 

Duck! Run! Hide! Roll?

Our game looked more like kamikaze tennis. Destroy or be destroyed. LOL  My thirteen year old is the tennis star and she was practicing with her dad on the next court and having a pretty good laugh at my expense.  In the beginning, I thought it would be good fun.  Good exercise.  I thought it was a good idea.  Not.  Maybe ending up on my behind after trying to hit a wild ball way over my head was a clue I should have paid more attention to.  Or maybe the funny expressions on the people’s faces on their way to the track should have registered somewhere in my brain.  

 I did survive.  And it was fun.  But next time, I’m going to set some ground rules so this mom won’t need to borrow a walker for a week afterward.  Oh my aching body. 

Have you ever tried to do something that used to be so darn easy when you were younger only to find out just how not so young you really are anymore?

This was cool so I thought I’d share.  🙂  Not sure how accurate it is.  In my first novel, it said I write like Dan Brown. LOL

http://iwl.me/

I write like
Annie Rice

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

5 Responses

  1. I love tennis. I just don’t play it. Mostly because neither of my kids can play it and it’s too darn hot to chase that ball and fuss at them when they get mad because they can’t hit it in the lines.

    I can still rollerskate. And I always stunk at bowling. I’m decent at softball and nearly killed myself doing a toe touch on the trampoline a few weeks ago. I’m not quite doddering, but I feel sometimes like I’m getting there.

  2. I love to go Bowling but I absolutely stink at it. If I bowl over 100 I am doing good. I just enjoy going with a group of friends and having a good time.

    Not into Tennis much but used to be pretty good at ping pong and Pool. We have tables for both and spent our summers either in the pool or playing pool or ping pong.

  3. I played tennis once upon a time — got one of my lifetime friends that way. Only she went on playing tennis and is now very good at it, and I prefer to believe I have other specialties — only don’t ask me to define what they might be. Too many of them involve sitting and talking. Or eating.

    I produced (probably as a direct result) two nonathletic children — the two biologically mine — one who is good at it when she takes time for it, and one who is hungry for physical action and married a man who feels the same way so they and their children have a very active life. The last two, needless to say, don’t have a gene of mine (or my husband’s) to impede them.

  4. ugh. I hate playing tennis. this is because on the few times I’ve played, it’s been with DH. He took lessons when he was a kid, so the whole we’re playing it goes like this:

    Him: Don’t hold the racket like that! You’ll tear something up in your arm after doing it too long.

    Me: we’ll be out here a 1/2 hour, I think i’ll be okay. Hit me the ball.

    Him: Don’t hit it like that! You’re making it harder on yourself.

    Me: it’s just a quick game. Hit me the ball.

    Him: Stop holding your racket like that!

    Me: *throws down the racket.* I’m ready to go.

  5. I LOVE tennis! It’s fun to play on the Wii too. My friends and I play it on there. I especially love volleyball. I haven’t played and actual game of tennis in SO long. I think I will ask a few of my friends to play a round with me next week on the court. I’m glad yall had fun, Melissa. I’m looking forward to playing a few rounds now!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

