• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Award-Winning Author Sandra Edwards

Today was the first day back to school for my kids and what better way to keep my mind off worrying about them than to interview an award winning author. Let’s give a big welcome to Sandra Edwards.  http://www.sandrawrites.com

 Sandra is an award-winning author with eclectic tastes. She writes in a variety of genres such as paranormal (mostly time travel and reincarnation), contemporary, and suspense. Sandra’s books often push the envelope and step outside the boundaries of conventional romance.

** Don’t forget to leave a comment for your chance to win a $10.00 Amazon gift card and a free read from Sandra.  I’ll post the winner on Tuesday, so be sure to check back with us.  🙂 

Melissa:  It’s so great to have you with us today, Sandra.  I know you write in several different genres, but do you have a favorite?

Sandra:  Yeah…whichever one I’m currently writing in. lol. That’s like choosing a favorite amongst my children.

 Melissa:  Never thought of it like that.  Too funny!  What’s your typical writing day look like?  Do you set goals? 

Sandra:  I usually spend a couple of hours a day “getting my name out there”, then I work on my stuff and/or critiques for my partners. I don’t plan my day out because if I do, something always comes up and then if I don’t get meet goals I’ve set for myself then I start panicking. 

 Melissa:  I know what you mean, being too structured doesn’t work for me either. LOL  About how long did it take you to complete one of your novels? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Sandra:  It usually takes me a few months to write a book. I wrote The Marriage Bargain in about two months. I like to call myself a “plantser”. I do a little pantsing and a little plotting — I know the beginning and the end (at least) before I sit down to start writing.

 Melissa:  Oh!  Love the new word!  “Plantser”  Yeah, I might fall under that as well.  How much research was involved while writing “Incredible Dreams.”  World War II is so interesting.  Was there something that inspired you to write this story?

Sandra:  Yes, I spent a tremendous amount of time researching WWII and the 1940s—two things I didn’t really know a whole lot about, but have always been fascinated by. My inspiration came from “ghost stories”. 

 Melissa:  I love your heroine’s name, Izzy.  Is there a story behind it?

Sandra:  Not really. I always struggle over names and titles but Izzy, Jack and Incredible Dreams came to me quickly. 🙂

  Melissa :  What are you working on now?

Sandra:  I’m preparing Broken Wings (a reincarnation tale) for release on Kindle (probably September).

 Melissa:  Marking my calendar now!  🙂  Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?  Favorite craft books?

Sandra:  Hone your craft and find a couple of good critique partners J. I learned a lot from Noah Lukeman’s “The First Five Pages” and Dwight Swain’s “Techniques of the Selling Writer”.

 Melissa:  Do you have an interesting writing quirk? ( Like a favorite shirt or slippers you wear to boost that creative spark?)

Sandra:  my iPod 🙂.  I’m at my best when I’m listening to music.

 Melissa:  What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Sandra:  I enjoy reading (on my K2…anxiously awaiting delivery of my K3) and playing RPG video games with my daughter.

 Melissa:  What do you find the most rewarding aspect about writing? 

Sandra:  When someone I don’t know sends me an email telling me how much they enjoyed one of my books.

 Melissa:  That has to be the best feeling in the world!

 Thanks so much for joining us!  I’ve almost finished “Crazy About You” and I’m LOVING it.  Can’t wait to read “Incredible Dreams.” 

And to peak your interest further, here are the blurbs for her books!  You can find “Incredible Dreams” and “Crazy About You” at www.amazon.com.

Incredible Dreams

 A modern-day ghost whisperer travels through time to save the life of a WWII fighter pilot, and ends up jeopardizing her own existence.

 Izzy Miller prefers to call herself a spiritual therapist because she thinks it makes her sound more professional than plain old ghost-whisperer. She expects her latest project to be quick and easy because exorcising military personnel is pretty routine.

 But there’s nothing easy or routine about Captain Jack Baker—he’s a rather forgetful spirit and somewhat mischievous. And even though he’s intrigued by the US Government’s latest attempt to remove him from the only place he can ever remember being… he has no intentions of going anyway.

 Plans to exorcise Jack are quickly sidelined when Izzy discovers a portal into the past inside her dreams and sets out to change his fate. Trouble is…when she gets back there, she can’t remember anything but her name. She still sees ghosts, but is far less accepting of her gift. And, to make matters worse, a demonic force pretending to be the forgetful heroine’s sister has her own plans—to steal Izzy’s soul.

 Crazy For You

 Crazy For You is a rags to riches tale set against the backdrop of the 80s, movie stars and rock-n-roll.

Roxanne Simon is a successful author and an award-winning actress who’s also a bit neurotic. After she appears on a popular talk show the world is left guessing: is rock star Frank Garrett the father of her four year old son?

Now that Roxanne’s carefully guarded secrets are starting to unravel, Frank stumbles upon some damaging information that he decides to use against Roxanne—but is he prepared to see her pay the ultimate price in his quest for revenge?

The Marriage Bargain
at Pink Petal Books for a limited time.

Camille Chandler is a career-driven tabloid journalist who’s barely a year out of college and shouldering a mountain of student loans that are coming due soon. Her internship at Disclosure Magazine in Los Angeles is ending and she’s anticipating a permanent offer of employment with the publication. Camille’s plans for the future are right on track—until her boss sees a curious ad in the L.A. Trades. Wanted: single actress for a temporary engagement abroad.

 France’s mega-rich playboy Julian de Laurent is up to something and Camille’s boss expects her to find out what it is. Who knew the eccentric gazillionaire was looking to hire a temporary wife. When Camille refuses to take the gig—and secretly write a tell-all on the de Laurent family for the magazine—she’s fired and left financially destitute, forcing her to entertain Julian’s proposal for real. But what’ll happen at the end of the contract period after Camille has spent six months as the wife of a man she learns is capable of stealing her heart?

 Broken Wings (my next release…probably September)

 Rio Laraquette thought the legend was nothing more than an enchanted tale about star-crossed lovers who left behind a fortune. That is, until she figures out that she–in a past life– was the culprit who stole a shipment of gold and silver and buried it somewhere in the hills of northern Nevada.

 While searching for the treasure, Rio’s heart begins to ache for a man who’s been dead more than one hundred years.

 They say time heals all wounds, but what if it doesn’t….

 Wish you all the best, Sandra! And lots of sales too!

17 Responses

  1. Welcome, Sandra!

    DREAMS has an incredible premise! Talk about spanning genres..:) Sounds like I need to grab this one!

  2. I’ve read both Incredible Dreams and The Marriage Bargain…and I can’t express how wonderful the books are! Sandra has a way of capturing a reader! Her vivid detailing and incredible characters will make you laugh, cry, shout, and fall in love!!!

  3. Hi, Sandy

    I’ve heard good things about Broken Wing and can’t wait to read it. Congrats on the re-release of it and on your new book.

    I didn’t realize you wrote in so many genres. Cool.

    Great interview, ladies.

    AJ
    http://www.autumnjordon.com

  4. Awww…gee thanks, Tess! I appreciate the compliments 🙂

    William, good to know I’ve grabbed your interest. My books are always a little outside the box and not your “typical romance” (usually). I always wonder what guys would think of them. If you do end up reading Incredible Dreams, please let me know your thoughts 🙂 Thanks….

    Sandy

  5. I just grabbed a sample of Incredible Dreams, I’m not much on historicals, but I do love a good ghost story and the premise sounds really good!

  6. FYI: there is a 75 page excerpt from Incredible dreams on my website 🙂

    Sandy

  7. Hi Sandra.
    I guess I could call myself a planster, too, with a little more pantser than plotter. 🙂
    I love the idea of Incredible Dreams. I write historicals and there has been a time or two where I toyed with the idea of writing a story set in WWII based on some of the adventures my grandfather had.
    Your premise mingled with the paranormal sounds very cool. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Jenn!

  8. I love this word, “Planster.” I definitely need to use a little more planning and plotting. But I so love the surprises you get when the story turns off in a new direction, one you weren’t planning on. 🙂

  9. I love the word “planster”! This so describes how I work and it’s good to know there are successful authors out there that employ this as well. Sometimes, I get frustrated because most classes are geared to one or the other.
    I also loved reading about you, Sandra. I’m going to get Incredible Dreams as soon as I can and curl up in my bedroom with your book. What a wonderful way to tell the world to go away!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.
    Stacey

  10. Welcome Sandra,
    I will definitely check out the excerpt from “Incredible Dreams.”

  11. Wow! What a great turn-out. I’m honored!

    Stacy – I hope you enjoy the sample! Thanks for dropping by.

    Jenn — I’d love to see more from the WWII era :-). Thanks for dropping by.

    Melissa…I agree. It’s fun to take unexpected turns. The initial ending that I write isn’t always the one I end up using. Sometimes I have to tweak it to accommodate some really cool idea I came up with mid-book :-).

    Stacey…I’ve found that what works for some doesn’t work for others. I try not to let too many rules in the door…they tend to stifle creativity. Thanks for dropping by…if you do pick up Incredible Dreams, please let me know how you like it 🙂

    Jane…thanks for dropping by…I hope you enjoy the excerpt!

    Thanks everyone!
    Sandy

  12. Love the 1940 time period. Love time travel. Love ghost whispers. Ummm sounds like a need to grab me this book! 🙂

    Welcome to ENALR! Really enjoyed the interview

  13. CONGRATULATIONS on the releases, Sandy!!! I loved Incredible Dreams, the Marriage Bargain, and Crazy For You…I can’t WAIT to read Broken Dreams.

    Best wishes and may you see millions of sales for all your books!

  14. Great interview. I’ve read Crazy for You and Incredible Dreams and I can attest they’re wonderful. You’re in for a treat if you haven’t read them. I’ve had a sneek preview at Sandy’s next book, Secondary Targets, and it’s terrific. Good luck, Sandy, I love your work.

  15. I really enjoyed the interview! I love learning about new-to-me authors 🙂

  16. Great interview! I really enjoyed finding out about your books!

  17. Congratulations to our two winners from last week! This will be the finally reminder. Please contact us to claim your prize if you haven’t already. Thanks! 🙂

    Stacy (without the “e”) You are the winner of the $10.00 Amazon Gift card. Send your email address to me at mdohnoutka@yahoo.com and I’ll get that to you!

    And Chey! You get to pick which of Sandra’s books you’d like to receive. Just send her an email at sandywrites@sandyslibrary.com and she will send it to you!

    Enjoy those prizes, ladies!!

    And a Huge Thank You to Everyone who stopped by to visit!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

