• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Why, Oh Why?

Last week was long and grueling.  I thought it would be easier and speed by because it was only a 4 day week due to Labor Day.  But my kids have been back to school for three weeks now and their homework and extra curricular activities are already about to do me in.   

For example, my daughters are both in high school this year and their English classes have me smacking my forehead and wondering what the heck is going on.  There are some really strange books on the reading list being mixed in with the classics and I am responsible for obtaining copies of these books for my child.  What on earth are my tax dollars being spent on?  The new teachers lounge perhaps?  Inquiring minds need to know. 

Then there are the projects that in no way form or fashion have anything to with learning literature.  Will someone please tell me when drawing pictures became such an important part of English?  And that’s not the worst of it.  I have to download some kind of movie maker program so my freshman daughter can produce a movie that will include examples of alliteration, hyperbole, similes, metaphors, three kinds of irony and the list goes on and on.  Making the movie means hours of useless and time consuming extra work.  How do they expect her to do the homework for the other 6 classes?  Whatever happened to just writing this information down?  I know I learn quicker and better by taking a plain old piece of paper and a pen or pencil and getting to work.  By the time she figures out how to use the program, uploads pages or pictures she designs in another program and then adds the music and extras that will ensure her a passing grade, the important stuff is going to be lost and forgotten.  Not to mention what it’s going to do to my sanity! 

I know we live in the ever changing age of computers, but some things are just better left as they were.  They don’t even require them to write in cursive after third grade anymore!  Gesh. I’m so glad I’m not in school anymore, even though it feels like I still am.  This is really cutting into my writing time dog gone it!

Thanks for letting me vent. LOL I feel a tiny bit better. 🙂

Now it’s your turn.  Anything got you steamed lately?

8 Responses

  1. oh, yuck! so glad I’m out of school now!!

    are you talking about Windows Movie Maker, Melissa? drop me an email if you need help! I figured the most of that program out a couple weeks ago. In a way it’s kind of like microsoft powerpoint.

  2. My 6th grader is going to have to make a PSA for her computer class. I have no idea how she’s going to go about doing it either.

    And she totally showed her dad up with a Powerpoint presentation she had to do as the previous assignment. He had no clue how she did some of the things she did.

  3. Thanks, Keri! I’ve worked with movie maker so I’m hoping her teacher will “ok” this one for her to use. I’ve never heard of the one she suggested.

    And yes, I agree! School. Yuck! 🙂

  4. Yikes! Wishing her the best of luck, Brae! I still have to ask my kids for help with powerpoint. It’s just not right, I tell ya! LOL

    Thanks for stopping in! 🙂

  5. the kids do SO much better learning new computer software than “we adults” do.

    As far as cursive writing…I heard something the other day that most teens and twenty y/o DON’T write in cursive but print most things. WOW.

  6. Goodness! I’m so glad to be out of school now! My thing was math. I barely passed that subject.

  7. Math! Now that’s a bad word over here. I run for cover when they mention math homework. LOL Thank goodness my husband takes care of that one. I wish somoeone would have warned me when I was in school that all this stuff was going to come back to haunt me when I had kids. I might have paid better attention.

  8. The thought of printing everything drives me crazy, Cyndi. I guess soon we will all be back to signing documents with nothing more than a big X.

    I know I’m the worst at learning new software too. Just when I get used to one, they up and come out with a different version. Gesh. My poor brain can’t take much more. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

