• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

EEK!! I’ve lost a Day

I’ve lost a day! I thought I had a another day to work on an insightful, intelligent post for today. THEN it dawned on me (when I dropped by to read today’s post) that I was on the calendar FOR TODAY! GULP. Where did my lost day go? Oh yeah, I know…cleaning house!

I’ve been cleaning for two days. I know what you’re thinking…man, your house must have been a pit! But not really. I’ve been doing things you only do twice a year. Washing the light globes on the fans, cleaning fan blades, changing light bulbs, mopping like Queen Elizabeth would be dropping by, dusting things that never get dusted, vacuuming my rock wall (yes, you read that correctly!) So why the deep cleaning? I’m having company all weekend, but different sets.

On Friday night, I’m having my “old gang” over…and I mean “OLD!” We are celebrating 42 years of being friends (1968-2010) We all met in seventh grade. We called ourselves “The Group.” Everyone called us The Group (Including parents and teachers.) Sometimes we were meaner than the Mafia and we could be as sweet as nuns! At the largest, there were 15 girls. We’re down to about 11 now. Friday night, I am having 9 of them over. Dinner, boat ride and 7 are staying the night at my house. I foresee very little sleep. We tell the same stories over and over. Laugh. Talk about guys…in short, we regress to seventh grade! It will be wonderful.

Saturday night, I’m having Delilah Devlin, her sister, and Shayla Kersten over. We’re working! As exhausted as this old woman will be from Friday night, I can only imagine what stimulating company I’ll be. But at least the gals from Friday night will leave my house cleaner than they found it, meaning I won’t have to do anything to get ready for Saturday.

So, how far back do your deepest friendships go?

and where the heck is my lost day?

I’ll take pictures (maybe) for a future post. Or maybe they’ll just end up be blackmail material for our next reunion of The Group. πŸ™‚

10 Responses

  1. Cyndi,

    I have one friend from 2nd grade. I’ve known her since 1967 and we still are the best of friends. spw

  2. Cleaning? We are channeling each other. Of course, I’m trying to get mine spiffed up because we are putting the house on the market. Yep. Moving. Right before Christmas and in the middle of two contracted books. Yep. I’m an idiot.

    But we need to move closer to the kids’ schools and activities. All the driving I’ve been doing is killing me. Oh, and we’re in the process of looking for houses too. So when I’m not cleaning, I’m looking for the next Talley house. I’m really tired of dust and clutter. I’m making progress, but it’s hard when the kids come home and make more work for me.

    I have lots of good friends but I don’t always stay in good touch with them. My high school reunion is in two weeks, so I’ll get to catch up then. Have fun πŸ™‚

  3. My best friend and I have been friends since grade school. She lives in North Carolina and i don’t get to see her very often but we do keep in touch by email and phone when we can.

    When we do get together it’s like we have never been apart. We always just pick right back up and move on. She is talking about moving back home to AR (Pine Bluff area) in the next few years. I hope she does. That would be awesome.

  4. For some reason in the midst of my lunch hour today I decided it was Thursday, then proceeded to freak out because of all the stuff I need to have done before Friday. Honestly. I worry myself.

  5. I hate to tell you, Kari, but this loss of time will get worse with age! πŸ™‚

    I love the fact some of you still have friends from childhood. My husband doesn’t. I think he’s jealous that I still have so many!

    You know Heather…it’s like that for us. It’s like no time has passed. We pick up just where we were!

    Liz! I didn’t know you were looking for a new house. How far are you driving now? Are you moving from the country to town, or just to the other side of town? Good luck with the house listing and the house hunting! Love to house hunt. I just don’t like to pay for them.

    YAY Sandee for dropping by. SO good to hear from you.

  6. how fun, Cyndi! looks like you’re going to have. when I was reading I thought you were cleaning for your “new addition” like a nesting syndrome.

  7. Do you mean “nesting” like expectant mothers do, Keri? HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Nope. Just a bunch of old bitchy hens coming over. πŸ™‚

  8. Sounds like fun, Cyndi! I have a few friends from second grade I still keep in touch with. The strangest part is seeing them as adults when my memories still picture us playing jacks in the front yard. LOL

  9. Actually Melissa, two of the people coming to my house I’ve known since FIRST GRADE! Hard to believe I have been friends with Carol and Sandy since we were six!

    The rest we (i.e. me, Carol and Sandy) picked up in seventh grade when we were 13.

  10. Sounds like fun, Cyndi. My best friends from school are still my best friends, and they always will be. We can laugh and tease each other without taking it the wrong way because we grew up together. We are like sisters and brothers.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

