• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Welcome Monique Martin!

Please help me give a warm welcome to our guest, Monique Martin.  “Out of Time” is Monique’s debut novel and can be found on Amazon.com.   Visit http://moniquemartin.weebly.com/ for more information.  A blurb to peek your interest:

“Out of Time”

New York in the 1920’s is the world of Prohibition, speakeasies and an underground run by the underworld. Vampires and mobsters vie for power in the seedy underbelly of Manhattan.   A mysterious accident sends Professor Simon Cross and his assistant, Elizabeth West back in time to face demons real and imagined.   Simon Cross has spent his life searching for vampires and now that he’s found one, it just might take from him the only woman he’s ever loved. Simon’s life has been a ritual of research into the occult and stoic solitude. He prefers it that way. Until he meets Elizabeth West.   A gambler’s daughter, Elizabeth knows a bluff when she sees one. Behind Simon’s icy glares and nearly impenetrable armor beats the heart of a man in desperate need of love.  Trials of murder, intrigue and danger push Simon and Elizabeth to the edge of sanity.  Out of Time is an award-winning tale of love and redemption.

Now take it away, Monique! 🙂 

I was a TV baby. I grew up in the seventies and my mom’s favorite babysitter was the TV. Now, this was in the Dark Ages before cable television. We had five channels and you had to actually get up to change the channel. Barbaric. But, we were young and innocent and it felt like the world was our 5 channel oyster.

TV was still a teenager, just coming into adulthood. Like the rest of the country it matured by trials of fire during the 60s and came out of the crucible a little wiser and with some of that innocence stripped away. But, I was a kid. What did I know? I watched “Star Trek” on Saturday afternoons and pretended I was Dr. McCoy the rest of the time.

I used to sneak downstairs into our den and crawl inside our big wet bar to secretly watch TV through one of the knot holes in the wood. Sometimes the next morning, they’d find me curled up next to the Schnapps.

When I wasn’t watching TV or pretending I was someone else, I was reading and writing. I started writing short stories from a very young age. Most of them were mysteries – The Case of the Missing Underwear and other exciting potboilers. But, as much as I loved fiction – and I did. I loved TV more. I think it loved me too. So, I grew up wanting to act and write for TV and movies.

I goofed around at it, going on a few small auditions and writing atrociously self-important plays all through high school. As high school wore on, I got a little more serious. I even auditioned for the part of Mallory on the TV series “Family Ties”.

After high school, I went to USC’s Film School to learn the craft of screenwriting. I “starred” in some student films and wrote a few screenplays. I even came close to selling a few and was invited to a few producers’ hotel rooms “for interviews”. I passed on those.

After graduation, I got a job working as an assistant to a producer on the MGM TV series “In the Heat of the Night” with Carroll O’Connor. Working at the studio was amazing, and it just got better when my producer and I moved to Universal and started work on “Murder, She Wrote” with Angela Lansbury. I had the full run of the studio lot and used to drive my golf cart along behind the tram tours. Having lunch on the steps of the Psycho house was pretty dang cool.

I worked my way up to Post-Production Coordinator and had a few great years at Universal. Then, the family business beckoned and I had to join it. I spent the next 10+ years there in a soul-sucking job as a COO for a company that was slowly killing me.

I’m not sure what prompted me to turn away from screenwriting and into the arms of fiction. Maybe it was the rejections or the story itself. Or maybe it was the need to not feel confined by the format. I felt myself slipping away and knew that I not only wanted to write again; I needed to write again. I had no idea what I was doing. So, I took an extension course and found a wonderful writer’s group.

I wrote Out of Time at night after work. It was exhausting, but so satisfying. Eventually, I’d done it. I printed out my novel, put it on the kitchen table and just stared at it.

Then came the rounds with agents. Again, I came close, but never quite all the way. Always the bridesmaid. Finally, enough was enough. When the family company was taken over by a larger one, I took my shot and left to be a writer – on my own terms.

I self-published Out of Time earlier this year and haven’t looked back. I’m working on the sequel and several other projects. And, best of all, I’m earning my living doing what I love – writing. It’s been a long, strange trip. But, I love where I am, what I do, and who I’ve become. You can’t ask for much more than that.

Thanks so much for joining us today, Monique!  Congratulations and Best of Luck! 

**Everyone be sure to check out Sunday’s review!

12 Responses

  1. Welcome Monique!!

    I loved Out of Time and was very glad you asked me to review it for you. It was an awesome story and I can’t wait to read the sequel (you know where to find me).

    I wrote the review right after I finished the book last night and realized that I left out things I should’ve included like the chemistry between Simon and Lizzie is off the charts, not to mention the sexual tension.

    The book leaves so much room for expansion, especially with the secret grandpa drops. Where is that going to lead Simon & Lizzie? I can’t wait to find out.

  2. I loved Out of Time, too!

    And Monique…what a fascinating story you have of your life! Great blog post 🙂

    Sandy

  3. Hi Heather!

    Thank you! You’re spot on too. There is a sequel (or two) in the works and the Council is pretty important. There’s more going on than we see in Out of Time.

    I loved writing Simon and Elizabeth. And the tension was so much fun to build. 😉

    I’m so thrilled you enjoyed it.

  4. Looks like I’ll be getting a Kindle for Christmas with all these great books coming out on Amazon! LOL The e-reader I have just doesn’t give me enough options. I’m off to buy my copy of “Out of Time” right now! Loved reading about your journey so far, Monique. 🙂

  5. I love the watching TV through the knot hole story! Very funny

    Like you, I grew up on television also. I am jealous of your time on the Universal set. What fun that must have been! Not sure I could have eaten on Psycho steps. Just seeing the house is scary!

    I adore the time period of your book. I will be getting it for my TBR pile.

    Thanks for visiting today.

  6. Wonderful interview, Monique. Working on the Universal set–what a dream job! I wish you every success with your writing.

  7. Thanks so much for the support. 🙂

    It was ridiculously fun working on the lot. The Psycho house was scary, on the outside anyway. And, the Red Sea and the Jaws shark were cool too!

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. It’s very much appreciated. I hope y’all enjoy the book!

  8. Do you have an ETA for the 2nd book in this series Monique?

  9. Looks like early 2011. Hopefully. Lots of work to do.

    I wasn’t sure if anyone would actually want another one! 🙂

  10. Monique! I had a lot of fun reading about YOUR story and then about …well, your story!!

    Out of Time sounds so fascinating.

  11. Out of time and YOUR story sounds amazing, Monique! 🙂

  12. Thank you, Keri and Jamie. Y’all are so welcoming and gracious.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

