• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

The Social Media Revolution “Are You Ready?”

I came across a video last week that made my mind reel.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFZ0z5Fm-Ng 

There is a technology explosion happening all around us and it’s opening doors and awesome possibilities for the multitudes.  For an author’s career, this opportunity can make it or break it. Plugging into the social media is not an option it’s a must.

Sitting with my writing buds last week at our favorite little pastry shop, we were trying to figure out when exactly this craziness all started.  I know I’m no spring chicken, but I did have color T.V. growing up and how about those cool CB radios. Now those made for hours of fun. LOL   No TV remote control  or VCR, but by the time I graduated high school we were able to film the ceremony with this awesome, huge new video camera that just came out.  My dad looked like one of the news crew from the local TV station carrying that thing around. I still have the video, although it’s been transferred from the bulky VHS tape to a shiny more practical CD. 

It seems like the tech world picked up speed after that.  We couldn’t keep up with the newest cameras, computers or cell phones.  And now it’s IPODs, e-readers and IPADS.  Geesh.  I’m getting dizzy.  What is in store for the next generation?  Really kind of scary when you sit back and think about it all. 

Email is a thing of the past.  Really? But when the heck did that happen?  Schools are getting high tech too.  It’s laptops for everyone!  Are you kidding me?  I just can’t get over the fact that most of my kid’s text books are online now.  Imagine my surprise when I reprimanded my oldest for listening to her IPOD touch and she informed me she was doing her Biology homework.  She’d set up the dang book on her IPOD for heaven’s sake.  It’s mind boggling.

The future is clear.  If we want to make it in the writing business, or really any business for that matter, we are going to need to do our homework, build our brand, and get it out there on as many social networking sites as we can find.  Word of mouth will be our biggest selling point and our names will be our brands.  Being an introvert, the idea of sitting in the comfort of my own home and promoting my books sounds like heaven. 🙂  The new way to reach out and touch someone…

Thinking back, I actually miss talking on the phone myself. And the party-line my family shared with three other families when we lived out in the country was great entertainment for those rainy days. But don’t tell my mom! LOL My brother and I weren’t suppose to listen in on our neighbor’s conversations.  

How much further do you think technology can go?  What new gadget would you like to see pop up that would make our lives easier?

13 Responses

  1. Comedian Louis CK sums it up far better than I ever could. The first time I saw this, I was laughing so hard I had tears shooting out of my eyes…:)

    Technological advances have made life easier in some ways, but I honestly believe we’re losing the Human Connection. I’m one of those who insist on talking on the phone (if in person isn’t possible), and I’m running into more and more people who now consider a phone call to be an intrusion, an interruption, an inconvenience. The one that really irritates me is calling, leaving a voice mail, then getting an email as a reply; the implication is “I’m too busy to actually TALK to someone!”

    Here’s a hint: We’re ALL busy. But, if you’re that busy, something’s not right in the world…:)

  2. It’s a bit scary with how far technology has come! I remember watching The Jetsons and thinking, we’ll never have flying cars… or robots that clean. The Flintstones were hitting closer to home!

    I can’t fathom having the imagination to create up these new things and new ideas.

  3. I get dizzy thinking about all the changes, especially in my adult years. Kids growing up with these things aren’t as phased or impressed. They take it for granted.

    However, my concern is that we are losing the ability to interact face to face. I know I’m as guilty as the teens who text. It’s easier and faster to text than make a call, but on the other hand, we are losing the human connection. I am bothered by this.

    I think the computer as we know it today is out of date. We’ll be moving to an all-in-one produce that will be a computer/eReader/phone…wait! We already have that! Sorry. Too old to be electronically creative! 🙂

  4. I agree Cyndi,

    I think we are losing the ability to interact face to face. When you lose that ability you are losing so much because not only are you really losing the verbal skills but also the ability to interact with another human, the ability to read body language and judge a person’s emotional state without the use of words.

    I have a my own laptop at home and the only time I actually get it out is to post a review on here. other than that it stays in the backpack. I use my phone to check my email all the time and I have every reading app imaginable downloaded to it. I also have my ereader. Would love an ipad but just can’t justify it.

    My daughter on the other hand lives on her computer literally. If she’s not on the computer, she’s texting on her phone. very rarely does she actually make a phone call unless it’s to call me.

  5. Goodness! I’m getting on up in my twenties, and it blew my mind when I read about your daughter using an IPOD for her homework! Those type of things didn’t even exist when I was in high school. Heck, I don’t even remember laptops even existing back then. Gee, times are really changing…and fast.

  6. Totally agree on this one, Will. We need to slow down a bit. Building those face to face relationships should never be replaced. I believe we’ve been wired for that one on one contact with others and the idea of all this stuff trying to replace it scares the heck out of me.

  7. Keri, I loved those two cartoons! Barny Rubble was my favorite on the Flinstones and Astro the dog on the Jetsons. 🙂 Girl, you must have been watching reruns cause you’re too young to remember the originals. LOL

  8. Cyndi, big texter here too with teenage girls going all over the place. It’s just so much easier and doesn’t disturb or interrupt like a phone call would.

    Heather, my kids are the same way. I’m not sure they even know anyone’s phone number to actually make a normal call. It’s all programed in their cells. Gosh, I remember talking for hours on the phone as a teenager. They don’t know what they’re missing. LOL

  9. Jamie, hold on tight! I can’t even imagine what’s on the horizon for your generation much less my kids. Way to fast indeed!

  10. Technology is so fun and scary. It makes me shudder to think how vulnerable we’ve become because we are so plugged into computers and cyberspace. I also shudder because I have a lot of catching up to do. Good grief, my cell phone is 5 years old and I can’t text. I’m sooooooo behind! LOL!

    Jenn!

  11. It’s debatable if we’re gaining or losing more from the internet and futurist devices. We hear about the loses but we also hear about the benefits.

    I’d like to think we’re still on the winning side of this. We can always make the effort to revert back to face-to-face communication. In fact, I try to make it a point to met up with the neighbors (f2f) even if it’s just for 10 minutes.

    BTW – Great Youtube find Meilssa, or is that really Melissa? This internet thing misspelled your name.

  12. No texting, Jenn? How on earth do you make it through the day! LOL Just wait till your girls start going off in different directions. I can’t live without my cell phone and texting!

  13. Terri, thanks for the heads up on the mispelling. I do believe it was an input error on my part. Wish I could blame the internet thingy. LOL And you keep making that face to face contact with your neighbors! If more people made the effort to get out and talk to each other, there would be block parties on every street. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

