• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Conference High

I just had to share my good news. 🙂  My brain is still reeling after our wonderful chapter conference this past Saturday.  I’ve been letting my current WIP sit and rest for awhile after several rounds of extensive edits.  In my case, too much editing is not a good thing.  It actually works against me.  But after checking back over the story, I’ve been pleasantly surprised.  The words don’t sound so off anymore, my characters are likable and the storyline is strong.  Quite the opposite of what I feared.  And it’s a really good thing too.  After pitching two different manuscripts to Christine Witthohn, she wants to see the fulls on both.  This is a first for me.  Fulls? You mean not just the first 30 or 50 pages.  Gulp.  I’m on cloud nine and dying at the same time. LOL  Time for me to get busy.  Polish, polish, polish and then out they go with my fingers crossed tight!

It was great to hear what Randy Ingermanson had to say at the Lone Star Writer’s Conference on Advanced Fiction Writing and Marketing Techniques.  And it couldn’t have come at a better time.  Just what the doctor ordered! LOL

Check out his website: Advanced Fiction Writing and sign up for his free newsletter.  You won’t be sorry you did! 🙂

Trying not to panic.  Any advice on how long I have to polish my babies one last time before sending them out?  Is there a standard rule?  A few weeks? One month.  Three maybe?

7 Responses

  1. Congrats on the requests! Nice.

    My advice is don’t polish too much. I think sometimes we apply so much learned craft to our manuscript that we write the voice right out of our story. And that’s what editors buy – voice. Plot can be fixed, grammar can be fixed, but voice can’t. So make sure you keep you manuscript “you.”

  2. Thanks, Liz! Great advice! And it takes some of the pressure off too. 🙂

  3. One page at a time, Melissa… one page at a time…:)

    I agree 120% with Liz; we’ve talked about how bad *I* am regarding polishing, polishing, re-working, then polishing some more. Nothing gets submitted because I’m so obsessed with revisions. I’m making a conscious effort to STOP that in the coming months, but you’re not allowed to do that..:) Too much revision will lose your voice (which is very good), and that’s the last thing you want.

    In terms of timing, taking everything into account (family stuff, Life In General, etc.) I see no issue at all if you send it by the end of November. If you genuinely believe it’s ready earlier, that’s fine, but set a deadline of end of November and you’ll be better than fine….

  4. As always, Will. You are the voice of reason! LOL No, really. It’s been gnawing at me ever since I got home. I don’t want to rush through but I don’t want to take too long either. One page at a time. Set a deadline. Got it. I can do that! 🙂

  5. I revise revise revise. But I’m really doing is procrastinating, procrastinating, procrastinating.

    DON”T DO WHAT I DO!!

    And don’t listen to too many CP’s.

  6. You know, Cyndi. I think that’s exactly what I’ve been doing. LOL There will always be something to change or delete or make stronger. But we must send it out. It’s just so dang hard to let it go. 🙂 Thanks for the advice!

  7. yes! what’s been said! It’s a leap of faith you just gotta take. Submission is half the battle at this point so hit SEND!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

