• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

The Times They Are a Changin’

So, I was born in the 70s, grew up in the 80s, and went to college and started my career in the 90s. I happen to think it was a great time to grow up. Think about the changes that took place in the span of 20-30 years. In high school I could never imagine something like an iphone existing. Watching videos on it? Sending email? Using it to find your location? Heck, last night, hubby used a flashlight app on the thing. Mind boggling when you think about it.  Just take a moment to comtemplate all the changes that have been made in the time since you were 10 yrs old.

Wow, huh?

This past weekend my husband and I attended out 20 year high school reunion which was held in conjunction with my former high school’s homecoming. I grew up in Minden, Louisiana and thus attended dear old MHS, home of the Crimson Tide. I had a fabulous childhood and my high school years were the best. I graduated in a class of 170 students and made some of my most enduring and endearing friendships there. I was a cheerleader (if you know me, you can see this. I’m bossy and loud), served on the student council, and actually made the top ten. Yeah, I’ve always been ambitious. Hubbie was the same, except he played football. Don’t think he would have looked good in that short skirt. So our high school days in the 80s were pretty much platinum. We were young, in love and I wore a size 6.

Fast forward to this weekend and minus the wrinkles and extra pounds (on me, not him. Dang it) I slipped right back into my role. No I didn’t lead any cheers. But I did get lots of deja vu feelings and found myself talking to my friends the way I always have. They get me, you know? My best friend Dianna came in from Oklahoma. Haven’t seen her in five years, but it’s like seeing a sister or something. We can talk about anything…and did. All my other friends, minus one or two who didn’t show, were there too.  There was Tina, who I’ve know since she played the Pilgrim to my Indian in the kindergarten Thanksgiving play. There was Greg, who ate paste. My other bff, Angela, who was valedictorian and thus always my lab partner. Heather, who rode bikes with me and suffered through the whole velour craze of the early 80s. My husband’s best friend Nat flew in from Switzerland and we heard lots of football war stories from his friend Shane. Okay, you get it. We had a blast.

We rode in a parade, went out on the field during the football game, hung out and jammed to MC Hammer, Vanilla Ice, Michael Jackson and Madonna. We played games with our kids at a family day picnic, marveling at how everyone’s kids had grown and enjoying seeing them play with one another. And then finally we ate and danced at the “official” reunion. Can I just say “priceless” and you’ll know what I mean?

So, share with me some of your favorite memories of your high school friends. What crazy things did you do?

6 Responses

  1. my husband LOVES that flashlight phone app.

    My ten year is coming up soon! we’re starting to plan for it now and I’m anxious to see what everyone is doing and how they’ve changed.

  2. Let’s just say that I’m not sure the statue of limitations has expired on some of the things I did in high school (not to mention my college years! LOL

    My 20th HS reunion was the best ever.

    At my 10th, everyone still cared about how so-and-so looked, or how much money they’d earned, etc. By the 20th, we were thrill to see who was still alive. We didn’t care who had some extra pounds, or loss of hair, etc.

  3. Wow, Keri. I forget how much younger you are than me. 🙂 My ten was okay. I enjoyed it, but not as much as this go around.

    And, Cyndi, I agree. Ten years was about looking good and sounding like you had a clue about where your life was heading. I remember losing 5-6 pounds and buying all new clothes. This 20 year reunion saw me with no weight loss and one new shirt. I did buy a new pair of shoes on clearance at TJ Maxx. 🙂 but I would have bought those anyway.

  4. I hate to admit this but wait for your 30. You won’t recognize anyone! LOL LOL

  5. I had trouble this time. Had to secretly check out nametags. And then there’s always the “Did that person graduate with us?” We had a couple of those “where did you come from” people.

  6. My friends from hs are still my best friends. Although some of us have moved away, we still keep in touch almost everyday. We did some really crazy things. Like hitting the intercom button to call the office while the teacher was out of the room several times. Then, the teacher runs and slides into the room and screams with a deep man voice, “SIT DOWN AND SHUT UP! I’VE NEVER BEEN SO HUMILIATED IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!” We never stopped laughing about that. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

